Kimmied
Member Since 2014
Hi,
Could anyone please look at Hanks SS? I upped his dosage yesterday (Tues. 11/4) for PM shot from1.25 to1.5. I didn't do anything different; tested, fed and then shot at 6:30pm, like usual. He was really hungry at dinnertime yesterday cause he ate all but a few pieces. I usually offer what's left at +2 or +3. But I offered a little more kibble at +2 and +3 and Hank didn't eat any. I guess he was full. His +3 BG number was about what it normally is so I went to bed.
This morning I checked BG for AMPS and it was 269. I rechecked and it was 275. Wow! That's the first in awhile that it's been out of the 400's. Well, I got called into work cause someone was sick so I was unsure of what dose to give him this morning since I wouldn't be home to monitor until later this morning. So I gave him 1u. The first I've had to check is at +5 and it was 147!
My questions are;
1) Was I right in lowering the dose for AM shot this morning?
2) If this happens again, which I'm sure it will, what's the procedure?
I know to skip if it's 200 or lower but 275 is a lot lower than it's been for a pre-shot.
No, he's still not touching the wet food. I'm still trying.
Kimmie
Could anyone please look at Hanks SS? I upped his dosage yesterday (Tues. 11/4) for PM shot from1.25 to1.5. I didn't do anything different; tested, fed and then shot at 6:30pm, like usual. He was really hungry at dinnertime yesterday cause he ate all but a few pieces. I usually offer what's left at +2 or +3. But I offered a little more kibble at +2 and +3 and Hank didn't eat any. I guess he was full. His +3 BG number was about what it normally is so I went to bed.
This morning I checked BG for AMPS and it was 269. I rechecked and it was 275. Wow! That's the first in awhile that it's been out of the 400's. Well, I got called into work cause someone was sick so I was unsure of what dose to give him this morning since I wouldn't be home to monitor until later this morning. So I gave him 1u. The first I've had to check is at +5 and it was 147!
My questions are;
1) Was I right in lowering the dose for AM shot this morning?
2) If this happens again, which I'm sure it will, what's the procedure?
I know to skip if it's 200 or lower but 275 is a lot lower than it's been for a pre-shot.
No, he's still not touching the wet food. I'm still trying.
Kimmie