BG numbers all over the place. Confused.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elijah's mom

Member Since 2021
Hi. I'm new here and I could really use some advice.
My oldest boy, Elijah, who is 18-19yo, was dx with diabetes two years ago. We struggled a lot getting it under control as his BG was consistently in the 400-500 range despite upping the dose. In the beginning of this year we decided to increase to 6 units and he finally started doing better. He gained 2 pounds and looked much better.

But about a month ago he started to become hypoglycemic. We lowered the dose several times but it kept happening. My vet thought he was in remission and we stopped insulin but started it again after 3 days, only 0.5 units twice a day.
Since then his numbers have been sky high. Sometimes the meter would just say HI (over 750 mg\dl). We did a couple of increases, to 2 units, and it was in the lower 300s 5 hours after am dose until yesterday. Before his pm dose last night it was 340. I gave him 1.5 units as I was afraid of him going hypo. When I tested before his am dose today it was only 140! I didn't give him his am dose to avoid hypoglycemia.

Now I don't know what's going on or what to do. A few days ago his numbers were well over 600 before dose time. Now it's 140! Why are his numbers fluctuating like this?
Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
 
Welcome before any members can give you any advice you nerd to set up your signature and our spreadsheet
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine

We use the spreadsheet to track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping. We don't base the dose on the Pre Shots , we base the dose on how low he's dropping
We incresse or decrease by 0.25 units at a time
If you need help setting up your spreadsheet just ask and we have a member who will be glad to do it for you, until you set up your signature and record the numbers you have already I don't think any members will be able to give you any advice
You also need to withhold feeding 2 hours prior to testing so thevBG is not food influenced
Here is the link to the spreadsheet
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum.
If you could set up the spreadsheet and signature that Diane suggested, that would be very helpful.
Just a few questions do we can help you:
  • What type of insulin are you using?
  • What type of meter are you using?
  • Are you testing before every dose of insulin to see it is safe to give the dose?
  • Are you testing during the cycles to see how low the dose is taking Elijah?
  • What type of food are you feeding Elijah?
  • How often do you feed Elijah?
  • Are you testing the urine for ketones using Ketostix?
It is possible Elijah is bouncing up high after dropping low. I will post an explanation of bouncing below.
If you could set up the SS and add as much data as possible… a couple of weeks would be very helpful… we will be able to see what is happening.
Bron
 
Bouncing explanation:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top