Elijah's mom
Member Since 2021
Hi. I'm new here and I could really use some advice.
My oldest boy, Elijah, who is 18-19yo, was dx with diabetes two years ago. We struggled a lot getting it under control as his BG was consistently in the 400-500 range despite upping the dose. In the beginning of this year we decided to increase to 6 units and he finally started doing better. He gained 2 pounds and looked much better.
But about a month ago he started to become hypoglycemic. We lowered the dose several times but it kept happening. My vet thought he was in remission and we stopped insulin but started it again after 3 days, only 0.5 units twice a day.
Since then his numbers have been sky high. Sometimes the meter would just say HI (over 750 mg\dl). We did a couple of increases, to 2 units, and it was in the lower 300s 5 hours after am dose until yesterday. Before his pm dose last night it was 340. I gave him 1.5 units as I was afraid of him going hypo. When I tested before his am dose today it was only 140! I didn't give him his am dose to avoid hypoglycemia.
Now I don't know what's going on or what to do. A few days ago his numbers were well over 600 before dose time. Now it's 140! Why are his numbers fluctuating like this?
Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance
My oldest boy, Elijah, who is 18-19yo, was dx with diabetes two years ago. We struggled a lot getting it under control as his BG was consistently in the 400-500 range despite upping the dose. In the beginning of this year we decided to increase to 6 units and he finally started doing better. He gained 2 pounds and looked much better.
But about a month ago he started to become hypoglycemic. We lowered the dose several times but it kept happening. My vet thought he was in remission and we stopped insulin but started it again after 3 days, only 0.5 units twice a day.
Since then his numbers have been sky high. Sometimes the meter would just say HI (over 750 mg\dl). We did a couple of increases, to 2 units, and it was in the lower 300s 5 hours after am dose until yesterday. Before his pm dose last night it was 340. I gave him 1.5 units as I was afraid of him going hypo. When I tested before his am dose today it was only 140! I didn't give him his am dose to avoid hypoglycemia.
Now I don't know what's going on or what to do. A few days ago his numbers were well over 600 before dose time. Now it's 140! Why are his numbers fluctuating like this?
Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance