Thanks to everyone for your support, concern, and time! Clark's SS will show updates shortly.
bookw0rm said:
I tend to lurk and not post much, but since I am posting I'd like to say that you're doing a great job with your kitties.
Thanks! I'm a "lurker" too. It was a huge step for me when I posted to this board...you guys are my first; message board, that is. I'm so glad I found you all...and so glad I posted!
lori and tom (GA) said:
I know you are new...but...sometimes people have these reasons they think make sense for what they do. So I just thought I would inquire as to why you did that.
I guess I should’ve been concerned about shooting the 100, but at the time, I was just thrilled to shoot less; also, confused about whether the meter was working. He should have been dead months ago; this has been going on a long time. However, I should have checked the "don't shoot" number, instead of relying on my so-called memory. Maybe I read the 100 on a different board/thread, with more experienced users? Anyway, it's not important why I had 100 stored in my memory...I just should have checked.
lori and tom (GA) said:
From here on I will simply slap you silly, lambast you, and then sweetly tell you the correct thing to do
If you omit the first two techniques, I won't have to kick the dog...and my hands will be more steady while placing sharp objects near kitty’s head.
lori and tom (GA) said:
You can consider yourself the testing solution..ok?
I didn't get this at first. When Carl said, "you can test yourself", I thought he meant with a homemade test solution. I'm probably just "dense", but my father used to say I was too analytical. I explained to him I didn't understand the usage of "too" in this sentence.
ohbell said:
Take a look at my spreadsheet and it will show just how powerful this stuff is!
Yes, the first line entry in your SS is scary. I'm so glad it worked out. Looking at 5/14/11...AMPS = 412 / shot = 0.50 / +4 = 54...is the 412 likely a bad reading, or is the pancreas this fickle when in, or heading towards remission?
carlinsc said:
You crossed that "line in the sand" unknowingly, and Clark is still around to tell his barnmates about it!
I did cross the line in the sand, but I probably should have mentioned that I fed him extra food, and had Karo waiting, but it didn’t go that far. On a lighter note, Clark has little interest in his barnmates, however, he did tell his two droolers. The Rottweiler was very happy to taste Clark’s “brain”, via his "ear-holes", for yet another day. The Pomeranian didn't care much either way.
carlinsc said:
"no shots under 150 and then only after you try to post here and ask for someome to look at his data to verify it would be okay, ok?
Okey dokey. I started a word doc last week of pertinent info...but by page 3, I deemed it useless as an "at a glance" tool. To a newbie, all info is pertinent. Maybe a fridge magnet with important numbers/levels...with advice like, don't shoot, post to board, call vet (or maybe, no advice if liability is an issue) would be a cool thing for the newbie kit, or complimentary with donation? I don't know, it’s just a thought. I now have a post-it on my kitchen cabinet, “don’t shoot under 150”. It will remain there until it’s burned into my last two remaining brain cells. Is there another note I need that’s as important as this one?
cellosmom said:
I don't shoot on a schedule anymore, only when Cello needs it and VERY conserved doses, you might have to consider this approach. Check out my spreadsheet for an idea of how it's going.
Yes, that very well might be the approach; I guess this depends on kitty. I'm sure I'll have questions if this is the road we must travel. I tried to view your SS...but does anyone else have this problem...the top two-thirds of the SS screen is taken up by title and tool bars. The actual spreadsheets show only a few rows at a time; sometimes only one row, if the row height is deep. It's very hard to view the "big picture". I don't know how you guys do it. Maybe it's just my screen settings.
cellosmom said:
The fructosamine test should never be used to determine dose. "perfect" only means his average BG was perfect and it could appear that way if he had really high numbers mixed with really low numbers. The average between the numbers 50 and 250 is 150.
Wow, that explains it. How simple was that? I knew the fruct was a snapshot, as my vet put it, but I was discouraged, at all times, from requesting detailed explanations. Thank you...I seriously needed that.
Vicky & Gandalf (GA) said:
I sincerely hope after this learning experience that you can encourage the vet about home-testing.
Sorry to say, I cannot. I am no longer with her.
Vicky & Gandalf (GA) said:
Clark probably could have come off insulin a long time ago.
My sentiments (almost) exactly....change "probably could", to "would", and we are in complete agreement. I am very disappointed that this went on like this; even more disappointed that I didn't research FD, to this extent, until Marilyn's dx (poor Clarky Poo Boogaloo)...but I couldn't be happier with Clark's outcome...even if it's only temporary.
Thanks all, I have tears in my eyes. I can't let these barn cats think I'm weak...all hell will break loose. It's never good when the inmates try to run the asylum.
Deb