BG Monitor Arrived...SS Updated...Scary, or Not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barn Cats R Us

Member Since 2011
Hi All,

Since I'm new to this BG metering stuff, could someone take a look at Clark's SS...please? I can't believe he is still alive...am I mistaken in the way I am interpreting this? Maybe he has a faulty meter. The company has yet to ship me the control solution. What would his numbers have looked like if he continued receiving his usual 2.5 Units BID??

Thanks,

Deb
 
Wow.
What type of meter did you get? You know, you can test yourself to verify if the meter is working right too. Um, if those numbers are accurate, and you had shot 2.5 instead of 1.0? Clark would most likely have spent the night in the ER or in a coma.

Did you ever see any "hypo" signs displayed today? Is he doing okay right at the moment?

Carl
 
looks to me like he is a very lucky boy...and it looks like the insulin increase in Marilyn was also a good idea.

Aren't you glad that you are testing\???
 
Just to be clear. The numbers (greens) that you got are fine. Really fine actually. Those are "non-diabetic" normal numbers, and not "too" low. But more insulin would have made them too low. In fact, if you can verify that the meter is okay, and if you see another "100"? I'd skip the shot and we can try an experiment -

If you see a 100, go ahead and feed him. Then check his BG about an hour or 90 minutes later. It should be higher. After that, wait another 90 minutes and see if it came down any. If you see that happen, the "downward" motion would be caused by his pancreas doing the job nature intended it to do.....control blood glucose. That would be the most encouraging sign you could possibly think about wanting to see....

Carl
 
Hi Carl,

So you've (both...thanks Jen) confirmed my interpretation. Yikes!

I'm using Relion Confirm meters for both Clark, and Marilyn...due to cost factors. The Relion Confirm is only $9 in my area, and I needed two (due to Clark's FIV+ status). I didn't know I could test the meter myself without the control solution. How is this done?

I've been seeing all kinds of signs...of something...for a long time now. I assumed it was hypo, but I didn't know about ketones back then. That's why the vet did the fructosamine on 10/13/11, when I was grumbling about his "episodes". Remember, she said he's numbers were "perfect". I was afraid to decrease his dosage, like you recommended a few days back, since I hadn't researched ketones yet. I'm still trying to wrap my head around all of this info...so I held off on the decrease. You can see I decreased it a smidgen in the AM before his meter arrived this PM. You can't see that I dropped it to 2 Units, the two shoot times before that (back when you recommended decreasing to 1 unit). If this meter is working properly, how the heck is he still alive?

Jen: You bet I’m glad I started testing!

Carl: Oh goody, more experiments...whatever it takes. And the beat goes on...

Thanks,

Deb
 
I'm not sure why you shot 1 unit into pmps of 100....
So I am not surprised at those numbers afterward.
I don't think 100 is a shootable number. More like 150-200.
 
Deb, to check the meter, just poke the tip of your finger, and check the same way you check him
If you read normal, the meter is good. Post your result and we'll let you know if you need any insulin!
carl
 
Lori,

lori and tom (GA) said:
I'm not sure why you shot 1 unit into pmps of 100....

I shot the 100 because I'm brand-spanking-new to this approach. My memory isn’t great, but I thought I read somewhere…not to shoot UNDER 100? If I have this wrong, it’s good to know. Had his meter not arrived today, he would have received 2.5 units, as usual. This is why I would like to know how to test the meter without having the control solution in my possession yet. Do you know the answer to this?
 
Barn Cats R Us said:
Lori,

lori and tom (GA) said:
I'm not sure why you shot 1 unit into pmps of 100....

I shot the 100 because I'm brand-spanking-new to this approach. My memory isn’t great, but I thought I read somewhere…not to shoot UNDER 100?quote]


No, it's don't give insulin under 200.

Normal non-diabetic blood glucose levels for a cat range from about 40 to 150 or so. Giving insulin if a diabetic cat is in the "normal range" may result in hypoglycemia, which can be very serious if the blood glucose level drops very very low.
 
Wow. Clark is one lucky kitty. Yes, those numbers are scary. Good thing you lowered his dose!

Barn Cats R Us said:
.my number is 95. Am I dead yet?

Since no one answered this, I will. Congratulations. You have a normal blood sugar.

I tend to lurk and not post much, but since I am posting I'd like to say that you're doing a great job with your kitties.
 
Dearest Brand Spanking New....
I know you are new...but...sometimes people have these reasons they think make sense for what they do. So I just thought I would inquire as to why you did that.
From here on I will simply slap you silly, lambast you, and then sweetly tell you the correct thing to do :lol:
You are doing great tho' and I would like to congragulate you on that. Most newbies are not as far along as you.
You can consider yourself the testing solution..ok?
Lori
 
WOW!
So glad you are testing!!! And so is Clark boy.
My first test successfully, Bean was 27! lots of time to bring her around to safety. I promised never to shoot again with out testing... Take a look at my spreadsheet and it will show just how powerful this stuff is!
GOOOOD GOIN :cool:
 
Deb, congrats on the self test, you don't need any shot today!
Glad someone else updated you on the "newbie shouldn't shoot" line we use of "200". The bright side, which I always manage to find? You crossed that "line in the sand" unknowingly, and Clark is still around to tell his barnmates about it!
You now have data that shows what one unit shot into a 100 will do. That is great knowledge to have.
But for now, let's draw another line and say "no shots under 150 and then only after you try to post here and ask for someome to look at his data to verify it would be okay, ok?
carl
 
Looks like your kitty is on the road to regulation. I only shoot above 170, or 150 and test again an hour later and if it's rising then I shoot. I don't shoot on a schedule anymore, only when Cello needs it and VERY conserved doses, you might have to consider this approach. Check out my spreadsheet for an idea of how it's going.
 
That's why the vet did the fructosamine on 10/13/11, when I was grumbling about his "episodes". Remember, she said he's numbers were "perfect".

The fructosamine test should never be used to determine dose. "perfect" only means his average BG was perfect and it could appear that way if he had really high numbers mixed with really low numbers. The average between the numbers 50 and 250 is 150.

I sincerely hope after this learning experience that you can encourage the vet about home-testing. It really does save lives. Clark probably could have come off insulin a long time ago.
 
Thanks to everyone for your support, concern, and time! Clark's SS will show updates shortly.

bookw0rm said:
I tend to lurk and not post much, but since I am posting I'd like to say that you're doing a great job with your kitties.
Thanks! I'm a "lurker" too. It was a huge step for me when I posted to this board...you guys are my first; message board, that is. I'm so glad I found you all...and so glad I posted!

lori and tom (GA) said:
I know you are new...but...sometimes people have these reasons they think make sense for what they do. So I just thought I would inquire as to why you did that.
I guess I should’ve been concerned about shooting the 100, but at the time, I was just thrilled to shoot less; also, confused about whether the meter was working. He should have been dead months ago; this has been going on a long time. However, I should have checked the "don't shoot" number, instead of relying on my so-called memory. Maybe I read the 100 on a different board/thread, with more experienced users? Anyway, it's not important why I had 100 stored in my memory...I just should have checked.

lori and tom (GA) said:
From here on I will simply slap you silly, lambast you, and then sweetly tell you the correct thing to do
If you omit the first two techniques, I won't have to kick the dog...and my hands will be more steady while placing sharp objects near kitty’s head. :)

lori and tom (GA) said:
You can consider yourself the testing solution..ok?
I didn't get this at first. When Carl said, "you can test yourself", I thought he meant with a homemade test solution. I'm probably just "dense", but my father used to say I was too analytical. I explained to him I didn't understand the usage of "too" in this sentence. :)

ohbell said:
Take a look at my spreadsheet and it will show just how powerful this stuff is!
Yes, the first line entry in your SS is scary. I'm so glad it worked out. Looking at 5/14/11...AMPS = 412 / shot = 0.50 / +4 = 54...is the 412 likely a bad reading, or is the pancreas this fickle when in, or heading towards remission?

carlinsc said:
You crossed that "line in the sand" unknowingly, and Clark is still around to tell his barnmates about it!
I did cross the line in the sand, but I probably should have mentioned that I fed him extra food, and had Karo waiting, but it didn’t go that far. On a lighter note, Clark has little interest in his barnmates, however, he did tell his two droolers. The Rottweiler was very happy to taste Clark’s “brain”, via his "ear-holes", for yet another day. The Pomeranian didn't care much either way.

carlinsc said:
"no shots under 150 and then only after you try to post here and ask for someome to look at his data to verify it would be okay, ok?
Okey dokey. I started a word doc last week of pertinent info...but by page 3, I deemed it useless as an "at a glance" tool. To a newbie, all info is pertinent. Maybe a fridge magnet with important numbers/levels...with advice like, don't shoot, post to board, call vet (or maybe, no advice if liability is an issue) would be a cool thing for the newbie kit, or complimentary with donation? I don't know, it’s just a thought. I now have a post-it on my kitchen cabinet, “don’t shoot under 150”. It will remain there until it’s burned into my last two remaining brain cells. Is there another note I need that’s as important as this one?

cellosmom said:
I don't shoot on a schedule anymore, only when Cello needs it and VERY conserved doses, you might have to consider this approach. Check out my spreadsheet for an idea of how it's going.
Yes, that very well might be the approach; I guess this depends on kitty. I'm sure I'll have questions if this is the road we must travel. I tried to view your SS...but does anyone else have this problem...the top two-thirds of the SS screen is taken up by title and tool bars. The actual spreadsheets show only a few rows at a time; sometimes only one row, if the row height is deep. It's very hard to view the "big picture". I don't know how you guys do it. Maybe it's just my screen settings.

cellosmom said:
The fructosamine test should never be used to determine dose. "perfect" only means his average BG was perfect and it could appear that way if he had really high numbers mixed with really low numbers. The average between the numbers 50 and 250 is 150.
Wow, that explains it. How simple was that? I knew the fruct was a snapshot, as my vet put it, but I was discouraged, at all times, from requesting detailed explanations. Thank you...I seriously needed that.

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) said:
I sincerely hope after this learning experience that you can encourage the vet about home-testing.
Sorry to say, I cannot. I am no longer with her.

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) said:
Clark probably could have come off insulin a long time ago.
My sentiments (almost) exactly....change "probably could", to "would", and we are in complete agreement. I am very disappointed that this went on like this; even more disappointed that I didn't research FD, to this extent, until Marilyn's dx (poor Clarky Poo Boogaloo)...but I couldn't be happier with Clark's outcome...even if it's only temporary.

Thanks all, I have tears in my eyes. I can't let these barn cats think I'm weak...all hell will break loose. It's never good when the inmates try to run the asylum.

Deb
 
Thanks all, I have tears in my eyes. I can't let these barn cats think I'm weak...all hell will break loose. It's never good when the inmates try to run the asylum.

But.....even when we think we run the asylum, it is only because the kitties allow us to "think so".
It's their world, we're just living in it... :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top