BG Level

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jane

Member Since 2011
Should I wait until the BG level is above 100 before giving insulin shot?
I am afraid Siam will get too low if given when his BG is 70 or below.
Your advice would be helpful!
 
I'd wait until it was above 200. 100 is in the normal range even for a non-diabetic cat.

What insulin at what dose?
 
I am giving 1 unit of Vetsulin.
This whole thing started because I noticed Siam limping and sore. The vet thought a shot of cortisone would do the trick. Well it did something and it was not the cure, it started diabetes.
Thank You Very Much for your reply.
This stuff scares me.
 
Jane,

We generally tell new diabetes not to shoot under 200 but to wait 20 minutes and retest. If it is over 200, you can give insulin but perhaps a lower dose.

100 is a great number 12 hours after giving insulin. How long has your kitty been on insulin and what kinds of numbers are you seeing?
 
This all started the day before Christmas, 2010.
Siam started out in the high 200's and has went down to the low 100's. Most of the time his BG registers 120 down to 52.
I use a "True" BG meter from Walgreens. I test morning and evening. I gave him an insulin shot when he was in a 50's range and next thing I knew I had to do the sugar trick to bring it back up to where he would respond to me and food. That scared me in a huge way and now I am afraid to give him any shot unless his BG is above 100.
Yes this is very trying but worth the effort to my family member and friend of 16 years!
 
We generally say that cats are in remission when they are between 40-120 without insulin. If your kitty is 100 or under, you want to be careful with your dosing.

What do you feed? Food can be a big help in this process. Dividing the amount you feed into small meals every few hours can support the pancreas healing. Also, feeding even lower carb foods can be helpful. If you are feeding 8%carbs, try 1-2% to see if the numbers come down.
 
I've also been told to not shoot if the number is below 200. My cat Mali has been off insulin for almost 3 weeks now (he was on Lantus) and my vet has advised me to keep him off of insulin unless his numbers are continuously above 200. Lately he has been in the 90-130 range and is doing great. I just test him every day and make sure he stays on his low-carb diet. I also test his urine about once a week with dia-ketostix just to be extra cautious.
 
Thank you all for your support and information!
I conducted a search for a low carb wet food and found, along with my vet, that "Friskies" brand works just as well as the food they had.
Siam will only eat the "Ocean Whitefish & Tuna Dinner, Classic Pate." I give him a 1/2 of a tablespoon each morning and night and he will eat it over a time period of 30 min. when fed. I do put down a 1/2 c of 'Parina" dry food for the day. I have 2 other cat's and now feed them them the same way.
Thank you again for your input. I feel much better and Siam will to!
 
Hi Jane! Welcome.
Congratulations on home testing! That is the best thing you can do to keep your kitty safe. If you would like our help with dosing, tell us what numbers you are getting. And ask us anything, we like to be helpful.
 
Jane, did your vet do any diagnostic tests to determine why he was sore in the first place or did he just throw steroids at it????

Second, did your vet not talk with you about when to stop giving insulin?

I'm rather worried about the care or lack of that you've been getting.

Jen
 
When the vet decided to give Siam the steroid shot, my gentleman friend took him in and called with the test results of arthritis. I trusted the diagnosis not knowing what could happen. Now that I had a chance to read up on steroids, you know the hind site is 20-20!

I will be taking Siam into the vet next week for a check-up. I do not recall anything about not giving him a shot if his BG was under 200 as the shock of the diagnosis, vet stay, and Siam not eating for a couple of days plugged my ears! I know being around friends who are diabetic and their knowledge made me question Siam's treatment.
Whew! I am so relieved I am not in this situation alone and it is not uncommon.
I will be researching as much as possible and test Siam faithfully daily!
Just tested Siam and he is at 98!
Thank You all for the support!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top