BG in the 300's

Status
Not open for further replies.
heyhey @Irish Pat haven't seen you or brady around lately and no spreadsheet updates last few cycles.
hope you are doing ok
^jw


Im here, thanks for checking in on me....I updated Brady's SS last evening....Going good I guess...Vet apt on the 15th went ok...Vet recommended a fructosamine level check, it came back at 575, she said that's high but we are working on it...His pancreatitis numbers came back as well, 4.4, she still wants him on cerenia to hopefully get that lowered to below 3.5 which is the normal range....I looked it up and that 4.4 is in a gray zone area indicating not positive or negative....so I don't know....Im just glad its not real high. He is holding his weight at about 16 1/2 lbs which im very happy about. His bowels have been good. He is only on the cerenia and fortiflora probiotics as far as medications, other than the insulin....

Did have a bad day the other day, dropped the prozinc on a tile floor...and yes it busted so had to run quick to the vets to get another bottle...not what I needed at this stage of the game.....cant have that happen again.

I am making a change, both cats are only going to be getting fed twice, once in the morning and once at night right, both times before Brady's shot times. I think it will take a little time until they adjust to this but I tired that yesterday and his numbers were really good, not exceptional but good....We are doing are best to get the hang of this and I hope this will help him. I have to get over the fear of giving him a shot with low numbers he started out at 137 PMPS and jumped up to 437 at +4, I only gave him 1U instead of the 2U. Im just so scared about that and the hypo situation.

Again, thanks for checking in on me and Brady, hope everyone is doing great!!
 
Im here, thanks for checking in on me....I updated Brady's SS last evening....Going good I guess...Vet apt on the 15th went ok...Vet recommended a fructosamine level check, it came back at 575, she said that's high but we are working on it...His pancreatitis numbers came back as well, 4.4, she still wants him on cerenia to hopefully get that lowered to below 3.5 which is the normal range....I looked it up and that 4.4 is in a gray zone area indicating not positive or negative....so I don't know....Im just glad its not real high. He is holding his weight at about 16 1/2 lbs which im very happy about. His bowels have been good. He is only on the cerenia and fortiflora probiotics as far as medications, other than the insulin....

Did have a bad day the other day, dropped the prozinc on a tile floor...and yes it busted so had to run quick to the vets to get another bottle...not what I needed at this stage of the game.....cant have that happen again.

I am making a change, both cats are only going to be getting fed twice, once in the morning and once at night right, both times before Brady's shot times. I think it will take a little time until they adjust to this but I tired that yesterday and his numbers were really good, not exceptional but good....We are doing are best to get the hang of this and I hope this will help him. I have to get over the fear of giving him a shot with low numbers he started out at 137 PMPS and jumped up to 437 at +4, I only gave him 1U instead of the 2U. Im just so scared about that and the hypo situation.

Again, thanks for checking in on me and Brady, hope everyone is doing great!!


Any comments on any of this would be appreciated, lol
 
Did have a bad day the other day, dropped the prozinc on a tile floor...and yes it busted so had to run quick to the vets to get another bottle...not what I needed at this stage of the game.....cant have that happen again.
Pat, I cat sit for people. I dropped an almost full vial of Lantus insulin on the tile floor in their kitchen. It shattered and I did not have any spare insulin for their cat. They said "no worries" and I still pet sit for them all the time, for the last 7 years. (Not during this covid crisis. Not comfortable doing cat sitting for people yet.) I felt so guilty, and waved my usual cat sitting fee, but they paid me anyway!

Try putting some bubble wrap around your vial. Or a piece of that foam pipe insulation, cut down to fit. Or even lots of layers of plastic wrap.

I have to get over the fear of giving him a shot with low numbers he started out at 137 PMPS and jumped up to 437 at +4, I only gave him 1U instead of the 2U. Im just so scared about that and the hypo situation.
Yes, shooting those low numbers can be scary. But you know how to home test, you have your hypo kit al lready to go, you have the support of members here to help you out during a low numbers situation. You have your vet on call so you can call and ask them what to do.

You've got your support network. :)

As long as you are able to monitor, you can keep Brady safe. As long as you know when to use the low carb food, the medium carb food and when to reach for the high carb food and maybe some corn syrup and honey, you're good to go.

Part of the reason Brady is running high, is that skipped shot prior to the vet appointment on 4/15. Not sure why you skipped the shot. Did the vet suggest that?

p.s. Was composing my reply, when you did your reply, asking for comments. See above. :)
 
Last edited:
i saw that too in the ss and was curious about the reasoning. i see the shot at +5 that day and a normal PM shot schedule following.
Pat, I cat sit for people. I dropped an almost full vial of Lantus insulin on the tile floor in their kitchen. It shattered and I did not have any spare insulin for their cat. They said "no worries" and I still pet sit for them all the time, for the last 7 years. (Not during this covid crisis. Not comfortable doing cat sitting for people yet.) I felt so guilty, and waved my usual cat sitting fee, but they paid me anyway!

Try putting some bubble wrap around your vial. Or a piece of that foam pipe insulation, cut down to fit. Or even lots of layers of plastic wrap.


Yes, shooting those low numbers can be scary. But you know how to home test, you have your hypo kit al lready to go, you have the support of members here to help you out during a low numbers situation. You have your vet on call so you can call and ask them what to do.

You've got your support network. :)

As long as you are able to monitor, you can keep Brady safe. As long as you know when to use the low carb food, the medium carb food and when to reach for the high carb food and maybe some corn syrup and honey, you're good to go.

Part of the reason Brady is running high, is that skipped shot prior to the vet appointment on 4/15. Not sure why you skipped the shot. Did the vet suggest that?

p.s. Was composing my reply, when you did your reply, asking for comments. See above. :)



Yes the vet told me to hold off on the shot and no food due to the blood work being completed, only thing that thru me off, which I didn't do, was they said to give him a shot when we got home and then his regular PM shot at his normal time in the evening....There was no way I could do that, that would have been only like 7 hours apart or so I held off on giving him a full dose and only gave him .5U.....
 
You know the funny thing about this Pancreatitis diagnosis is his numbers were never really high, the high end of that test is 3.5, the highest he was, was like 5.2, then the next test was 4.5, and now he is at 4.4.....The vet said they see cats as high as 20 or better, so that has me a little baffled as well....
 
I think I would have suggested that you give a half dose of insulin in the morning, before the vet appointment.
Then you could have given Brady the full insulin dose in the PM cycle.

I can understand why the vet may have requested no food if there was anesthesia involved for the appointment.
Fructosamine does not require fasting.
For the pancreatitis tests, fasting is preferred but it's not essential.
Not sure what other bloodwork was done, that required fasting.
Even a simple CBC is better done fasting for 6 hours before.

p.s. Pat, this thread is getting long. Would you please start a new one and link this old one in at the top.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top