? BG 73, time to shoot, recent DKA, help?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Cassandra...I was really hoping you'd get some rest and that's part of the reason I suggested you start a little lower at 3U but I agree with Sienne …...let's take her up and see if we can get her numbers down a little more.

I think you could go to 4U tonight......the depot still has to fill and it may still be several days before you see much change, but you really need to try to get some rest.

Tired people make stupid mistakes.....trust me!

If you shoot 4U tonight and get a +2, let's see where we are then.

It would really help if you get some ketone strips that just measure ketones. With all those other tests on the strips you're using, it's hard to make sure you're getting a good test for just the ketones and that's what's most important right now....not the other stuff.
 
I was supposed to pick some ketostix up today from a friend but I've ended up not leaving the house between naps and nausea and tests, plus the weather.

I'm okay. I am getting every bit of sleep I can.

My last ketone test looked the same as all the others. Last night? I'll see if I have enough cash to just run to Walmart in a bit.

Her +9 is 420 and she is SO HUNGRY. Between snacks she apparently tried to climb up on the second shelf after food and knocked some supplies over.

She has had I think maybe 2-3 cans ff 3oz 2%, some 0% chicken, and half a can 4% friskies today. With water.
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) , what are the risks of shooting 4u tonight? I want to see her down in the 300s regularly before I'm going to be able to rest more significantly.

And what do I do regarding her appetite?

I'll try a ketone test next time I catch a pee. Almost got one a min ago. Almost.
 
You might want to consider getting a ketone meter. It tests blood. The strips are pricey but you can use it once a day and try to catch urinary ketones at other times. The blood ketones give you an immediate answer vs urinary ketones which reflect information that's hours old.

I suspect Alice will be fine if you increase the dose. I just wish I could give you a guarantee but I can't. Like Chris said, get a +2 or a +3 and let's see what the numbers say.

As for appetite, Alice is going to be ravenous until her numbers settle down. Glucose is the end product of metabolism. If the glucose is floating around in the blood, it's not getting into the cells and Alice is literally starving. As numbers come down, more glucose is getting into the cells and Alice's appetite will taper down. Until that starts to happen, up her amount of food. As long as she doesn't become too "fluffy," it should be fine.
 
She's so underweight it truly makes her look like one of those save the children ads. (I feel like that sounds terrible to say but last week I saw a picture I had taken and just.... Sigh!) She was always petite but long and slim. Her brother had the exact same build but a male, larger version. So "fluffy" isn't a risk.

As far as the meter goes, I'm already receiving DCIN help.

My friend is bringing regular ketostix in about an hour. 40 min to test and shoot time.

Is there a risk of 4u being too high, and if so, when is that nadir most likely?
 
She's so underweight it truly makes her look like one of those save the children ads

Look at China's Profile in my signature.....she went from a skeleton to "fluffy" in 5-6 months!

Is there a risk of 4u being too high, and if so, when is that nadir most likely?

I doubt it....if she was able to take 4U of Novolin without crashing, I doubt if 4U of Lantus will cause her to go really low.

The nadir on Lantus is usually 5-7 hours after the shot, but ECID so there's really no way to know for sure until you have more data on Alice.
 
ECID?

So if I do a +2 then nap then get up I might be able to give her ears a break AND get a sleep cycle? Then test at +7.....?

Alice has never never been overweight. In fact I've never had an overweight cat until I neutered my youngest. He has other issues though and is kind of neurotic. So I just cannot imagine it with Alice!
When they start gaining, how difficult is it to gain muscle vs fat tissue? Because she's not just skinny, she is wasted. I don't know that science. I'd like to go learn it.
 
Oh... And ECID I know. I don't have enough Alice-specific data yet, therefore it is reasonable and expected that I should rely on general data of other cats. I don't want you to think I'm taking it like a sure thing. It's an informational guideline at this point.

She's finally calm again now that her belly is full.

Did I read somewhere today that Lantus may sting going in? It sure would help me be sure she got it and I didn't miss, but poor baby yelps each time. :(

.....For the greater good.
 
Oh... And ECID I know. I don't have enough Alice-specific data yet, therefore it is reasonable and expected that I should rely on general data of other cats. I don't want you to think I'm taking it like a sure thing. It's an informational guideline at this point.

She's finally calm again now that her belly is full.

Did I read somewhere today that Lantus may sting going in? It sure would help me be sure she got it and I didn't miss, but poor baby yelps each time. :(

.....For the greater good.
Yes it can sting and it depends on the cat as to how much insulin causes it to sting. At 1.25u, my Gracie flinched but I’ve seen other cats on 8u and the Caregiver said they didn’t move a muscle. If you didn’t get it all in, you’ll smell a smell like bandaids. You can’t miss it. Pick her up and smell her and see if her fur is wet.

BTW, if you ever think you’ve given a fur shot or a partial fur shot, do not reshoot insulin. Wait until the next scheduled time to give it in case you got in more than you thought you did.

I”m glad you increased the dose to 4u. After a couple cycles, we will see where she is and then decide which way the dose needs to go (unless, of course, she earns a reduction). Great job!! And I hope we see you in Lantus/Basalgar/Levemir Land!
 
Ketone strips dropped off. It's the same, it always looks grayish lilac to me.
The one just of the strip is exactly at 15 seconds. Maybe 16.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    34.1 KB · Views: 84
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    23.3 KB · Views: 83
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top