Below 200 (190) after holding for 30

NoahFL

Member Since 2020
Oh Max.... you really like to stress me out. So he was 165 (pet meter) this morning, then 30 mins later was up to 190. I decided to feed then shoot full dosage. Did I do the right thing?

I hate second guessing myself, but I also don’t want any setbacks. I will be home most of today so can check him at +2 then at +6.

@Panic @JanetNJ @Deb & Wink

Thank you!
 
Oh Max.... you really like to stress me out. So he was 165 (pet meter) this morning, then 30 mins later was up to 190. I decided to feed then shoot full dosage. Did I do the right thing?

I hate second guessing myself, but I also don’t want any setbacks. I will be home most of today so can check him at +2 then at +6.

@Panic @JanetNJ @Deb & Wink

Thank you!
Guess we will find out. As long as you can stear today.
 
Hey, he had that suspected fur shot only 4 cycles ago. Takes time to recover from that.

Do you need to borrow another pair of patience pants?;)
 
Yes, I do think Max is ready for that dose increase to 2.75U. Probably better to do that when you are home to monitor, and will be awake for a while. If you want to increase for the PM cycle, that is fine. But if he drops too low, you need to stay up and monitor and bring his BG levels up with food.

Yellow patience pants for you, to match Max's yellow nadirs today. Might be a bit baggy, but baggy feels cooler to me when it's hot out.
Yellow patience pants.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Yellow patience pants.jpg
    Yellow patience pants.jpg
    5.3 KB · Views: 346
Yes, I do think Max is ready for that dose increase to 2.75U. Probably better to do that when you are home to monitor, and will be awake for a while. If you want to increase for the PM cycle, that is fine. But if he drops too low, you need to stay up and monitor and bring his BG levels up with food.

Yellow patience pants for you, to match Max's yellow nadirs today. Might be a bit baggy, but baggy feels cooler to me when it's hot out.
View attachment 54474

haha! Thank you for the patience pants! I prefer baggy as well. I will wait until tomorrow morning to increase. I will be teleworking so can monitor him. I’ve been patiently waiting to get a urine sample, but he’s been a bit bashful.

Thank you! He’s had a great day. He loves his baked chicken treats too!
 
@Deb & Wink Just checked Max and he’s 154. What do I do?? Stall 30 and re-test? What about the dose increase? Happy to see a lower reading, but he really likes to confuse me.
 
@Deb & Wink Just checked Max and he’s 154. What do I do?? Stall 30 and re-test? What about the dose increase? Happy to see a lower reading, but he really likes to confuse me.
Yes, stall without feeding and retest him in about 20-30 minutes from your first reading.

p.s. I think Max just told you he cleared the bounce, so no increase.
 
You think you know what is going on, and then your cat hands you a curve ball, or perhaps 4 running chain saws, and expects you to know what to do.
 
p.s. I think Max just told you he cleared the bounce, so no increase.
Gah! He’s 486 this morning. I increased to 2.75, Will recheck in 2 hours.

Hi Rebecca,

Remember it's the lows that determine the dose changes, not the pre-shots.

If he's in the middle of a bounce cycle(s) the nadir is inflated because of the bounce. You need to wait until the bounce clears to see where the current insulin dose really takes him.

He's high this morning because he didn't get insulin last night and probably bouncing off those late cycle greens yesterday.

Last time you skipped (AM - June 24) he shot up to 487 at PMPS, you increased to 2.75 and that's the cycle you got your first early green.

Have you gotten your +2 yet?
 
Hi Rebecca,

Remember it's the lows that determine the dose changes, not the pre-shots.

If he's in the middle of a bounce cycle(s) the nadir is inflated because of the bounce. You need to wait until the bounce clears to see where the current insulin dose really takes him.

He's high this morning because he didn't get insulin last night and probably bouncing off those late cycle greens yesterday.

Last time you skipped (AM - June 24) he shot up to 487 at PMPS, you increased to 2.75 and that's the cycle you got your first early green.

Have you gotten your +2 yet?
Hello! He’s at 250 (+2). I just reread the thread and Deb did say no increase. Will watch him closely today just in case.
 
A bit more food. What kind of HC do you have? Gravy? I'm thinking mix some gravy in with the low carb to get MC.
I'm looking back at what you did last time and how it worked.
 
A bit more food. What kind of HC do you have? Gravy? I'm thinking mix some gravy in with the low carb to get MC.
I'm looking back at what you did last time and how it worked.

Based on some feedback I got from this group, I have both MC and HC:

FF gravy turkey - 15% - MC
FF gravy beef - 20% - HC

Fed MC
 
Last edited:
Copying Deb's post from your last thread so we have it handy. You're doing good. (I'll be honest US numbers throw me, I've got the calculator going full whip! :facepalm:)

So when you have a lower number, the first thing you reach for is LC (low carb) food. Next step is MC (medium carb) food. Third step is HC (high carb) food. Fourth step would be bringing out the simple sugar like honey, corn (karo) syrup, pancake syrup, ice cream, or whatever you have on hand that is very high in sugar and putting some in the mouth. You don't "break out the candy (dry food) and sweets (simple sugars)" until the cat is in really low numbers, under 68 on an Alphatrak. Or you have to go somewhere or do something important, like get some sleep for the night. :)

Next time, before you reach for the karo, you want to use your lower carb options first, to see if you can bring the BG levels up. LC, MC, HC.
If you can't be home, have to step out, or something similar like you are working from home and have a meeting, then you could go to step 2, the MC food.

If the BG levels don't respond, you bump up the level of carbs to help bring them up more. Always try the LC food first, a teaspoon or so and see what it does before you reach for the next higher carb level food.
 
Copying Deb's post from your last thread so we have it handy. You're doing good. (I'll be honest US numbers throw me, I've got the calculator going full whip! :facepalm:)

So when you have a lower number, the first thing you reach for is LC (low carb) food. Next step is MC (medium carb) food. Third step is HC (high carb) food. Fourth step would be bringing out the simple sugar like honey, corn (karo) syrup, pancake syrup, ice cream, or whatever you have on hand that is very high in sugar and putting some in the mouth. You don't "break out the candy (dry food) and sweets (simple sugars)" until the cat is in really low numbers, under 68 on an Alphatrak. Or you have to go somewhere or do something important, like get some sleep for the night. :)

Next time, before you reach for the karo, you want to use your lower carb options first, to see if you can bring the BG levels up. LC, MC, HC.
If you can't be home, have to step out, or something similar like you are working from home and have a meeting, then you could go to step 2, the MC food.

If the BG levels don't respond, you bump up the level of carbs to help bring them up more. Always try the LC food first, a teaspoon or so and see what it does before you reach for the next higher carb level food.

Thank you @Shelley & Jess for hanging with me during this little party. I appreciate you.
 
Thanks!! That's a good bump. You probably know what I'm gonna say.....keep testing, make sure he's stays surfing or rising on his own.
We're still before the expected nadir (+6). He might need another snack to bump him up again.
 
Thanks!! That's a good bump. You probably know what I'm gonna say.....keep testing, make sure he's stays surfing or rising on his own.
We're still before the expected nadir (+6). He might need another snack to bump him up again.

Thanks again. Will keep testing. I have much more confidence this time around. The previous possible hypo had me in tears and my nerves were shot.
 
Confidence. :cat: What a difference a bit of confidence makes, when you are afraid for your kitty Max and those low numbers.:)

p.s. Only able to drop in for a few minutes, but watching @Shelley & Jess guide you. You're doing great! Both of you!
"Too many cooks spoil the broth" and too many people commenting while those lows are going on gets confusing. So staying out of the fray.

p.p.s. Max "earned" a dose reduction back to 2.5U by the way.

p.p.s.s. Expect a bounce tonight, at PMPS, with Max dropping to those low greens and blues.:D
 
Confidence. :cat: What a difference a bit of confidence makes, when you are afraid for your kitty Max and those low numbers.:)

p.s. Only able to drop in for a few minutes, but watching @Shelley & Jess guide you. You're doing great! Both of you!
"Too many cooks spoil the broth" and too many people commenting while those lows are going on gets confusing. So staying out of the fray.

p.p.s. Max "earned" a dose reduction back to 2.5U by the way.

p.p.s.s. Expect a bounce tonight, at PMPS, with Max dropping to those low greens and blues.:D

Thank you SO much for chiming in.
 
We got some blues this morning. Where is the bounce?? (Not complaining though). After 30 mins of stalling he went from 158 to 181. Fed, shot full dose. Going to take some advice and give a little food around +2. *feeling hopeful*
 
Back
Top