Bella’s FD journey part 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bellasmom

Member Since 2018
Bella got into the dry food last night spiking his BG, my fault, feeling bad and sad, still trying to find the right dosage, crossing my fingers, thanks for all who has helped me
 
Good morning--

Just wanted to say hi, been following along your other thread but not commenting (Kris was doing an excellent job guiding Bella's dosage). Don't beat yourself up because of a food slip, it's just a temporary thing. And he could still be doing some bouncing from that lime green yesterday, which will elevate numbers and make any food spike look worse than it actually is.

It takes a while to find the right dosage, and Novalin isn't the easiest insulin to work with. You're doing great!
 
Yes you’re a fantastic cat momma! I don’t blame you or Bella! What? No carbs? This diet sucks! I’d sneak bites whenever I could! Baby wants her temptations chicken & momma says no! She’s been sitting under the drawer where I keep her treats & crying... mewing... oh my, a drama queen! Only that yucky freeze dried stuff is coming out of there now! Meeeeow
 
Last edited:
Another possibility is that fairly quick drop from 453 to 278 at +3 has set off another bounce. I'm glad he's feeling OK.
Question for you, like when u asked how he is feeling, is he suppose to feel bad if it’s real high not normal I should say, I know what to look for if it’s low but is there something I should watch for if it’s not in the normal range and can cats go blind from diabetes, I noticed some people have blind cats
 
Question for you, like when u asked how he is feeling, is he suppose to feel bad if it’s real high not normal I should say, I know what to look for if it’s low but is there something I should watch for if it’s not in the normal range and can cats go blind from diabetes, I noticed some people have blind cats
Sometimes they might be lethargic when numbers are higher but not always. I was interested in how he's feeling overall. We often say on FDMB that you kitty is more than just his BG numbers.

Some of the people here with blind cats had it happen for other reasons like high blood pressure.
 
+11 BG 333, didn’t raise much since last test at +6, so 1u this evening too?
Yes, 1 u again tonight. :) It'll be 1 u again tomorrow AM and PM and that should be enough baseline data to know what to do next. If he decides to surprise you with another lime green that plan can be changed. After your pre shot final test for this cycle get one before bed tonight if you can.
 
Yes, 1 u again tonight. :) It'll be 1 u again tomorrow AM and PM and that should be enough baseline data to know what to do next. If he decides to surprise you with another lime green that plan can be changed. After your pre shot final test for this cycle get one before bed tonight if you can.
No black or lime green today
 
I saw your note about the food. Which Stella and Chewy’s are you feeding? I’ve read that they’re higher in carbs. Would he eat Friskies or Fancy Feast pates if you fed only that? Unfortunately keeping strict control on food is a necessary part of all this. Do what you can - I know it’s hard with other cats. He’s shown you, though, that he’s sensitive to carbs in food.
 
I saw your note about the food. Which Stella and Chewy’s are you feeding? I’ve read that they’re higher in carbs. Would he eat Friskies or Fancy Feast pates if you fed only that? Unfortunately keeping strict control on food is a necessary part of all this. Do what you can - I know it’s hard with other cats. He’s shown you, though, that he’s sensitive to carbs in food.
He’s eating themfreeze dried raw chicken, I usually crumble it on top of his food or give him 1 as a treat, usually after I test him so he doesn’t think it so bad every time, I’m gonna try friskies, I think he is tired of the ff and he is really picky about the flavors, the other am I had to open 4 before I found 1, I am trying and I am printing out a sitter sheet that’s on here and put on frig for hubby, he’s been a trooper in trying to help
 
I saw your note about the food. Which Stella and Chewy’s are you feeding? I’ve read that they’re higher in carbs. Would he eat Friskies or Fancy Feast pates if you fed only that? Unfortunately keeping strict control on food is a necessary part of all this. Do what you can - I know it’s hard with other cats. He’s shown you, though, that he’s sensitive to carbs in food.
I did contact Stella and chewy and they said 1 to 2 % carbs
 
He’s eating themfreeze dried raw chicken, I usually crumble it on top of his food or give him 1 as a treat, usually after I test him so he doesn’t think it so bad every time, I’m gonna try friskies, I think he is tired of the ff and he is really picky about the flavors, the other am I had to open 4 before I found 1, I am trying and I am printing out a sitter sheet that’s on here and put on frig for hubby, he’s been a trooper in trying to help
Some people frown at the idea of feeding Friskies because they think it's junk because it lists "animal byproducts". Dr. Lisa Pierson, the vet whose food list we refer to here doesn't rule out feeding animal by products. Many people feed it , though, and if you look at the ingredients list it's not that bad. I feed it to Teasel mixed in with prescription DM wet food (6%) from my vet.

If you haven't seen it, here's the link to Dr. Pierson's food list - very useful when you cat food shopping:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
He’s eating themfreeze dried raw chicken, I usually crumble it on top of his food or give him 1 as a treat, usually after I test him so he doesn’t think it so bad every time, I’m gonna try friskies, I think he is tired of the ff and he is really picky about the flavors, the other am I had to open 4 before I found 1, I am trying and I am printing out a sitter sheet that’s on here and put on frig for hubby, he’s been a trooper in trying to help
Yes, it's much harder when you have a picky eater on your hands. And congrats to your husband for helping. :)

I'm sorry if you felt I was scolding you about foods. I sure don't mean to - just noticing the impact of food on Bella's BG levels and giving my opinion.
 
Here's the plan looking ahead a little:
  • try for at test between +3 and +5 today if possible
  • give 1 u again tonight
  • get a before bed test tonight
  • numbers permitting he'll be ready for a little increase to 1.25 u tomorrow AM so get ready to eyeball that.
Does this work for you? :)
 
Here's the plan looking ahead a little:
  • try for at test between +3 and +5 today if possible
  • give 1 u again tonight
  • get a before bed test tonight
  • numbers permitting he'll be ready for a little increase to 1.25 u tomorrow AM so get ready to eyeball that.
Does this work for you? :)
Yes but I can’t test till 2 which will be +8, i hate that I can’t be there with him during the day, hubby can’t take at 2
 
BG 595 +11, I tried taking his BG with an advocate human meter and I just got error messages, it belongs to my boss
 
BG 595 +11, I tried taking his BG with an advocate human meter and I just got error messages, it belongs to my boss
A human meter will generally read lower than a pet meter. It's easier to stick to one type of meter. If you find the pet meter strips are getting too expensive you can switch over to a human meter. Manny people like to use one of the Walmart ReliOn house brand models. The Micro and the Confirm are two popular models because they take only a tiny blood drop to give reading. I think the strips for those cost around $30+ per 100.

If you do decide to switch we can help you with the BG ranges for a human meter.
 
Plan going ahead - unless he surprises us:
  • 1.25 u tonight and AM/PM tomorrow
  • test somewhere between AM and PM today if you can plus one evening test
  • same testing plan tomorrow.
If his numbers stay high you’ll increase to 1.5 u on Thursday. OK plan for you? Is he feeling well, eating well, etc.?
 
Plan going ahead - unless he surprises us:
  • 1.25 u tonight and AM/PM tomorrow
  • test somewhere between AM and PM today if you can plus one evening test
  • same testing plan tomorrow.
If his numbers stay high you’ll increase to 1.5 u on Thursday. OK plan for you? Is he feeling well, eating well, etc.?
Yes, plan is good, hubby will test when he gets home, I have to work 12hrs today
 
+2 278, finally in the yellow yeah, I switched food to ziwi airdried raw mackeral and lamb, he loves it, also primal frozen raw
 
Last edited:
+2 278, finally in the yellow yeah, I switched food to ziwi airdried raw mackeral and lamb, he loves it, also primal frozen raw
Nice drop. It's quite a bit lower than pre shot so I suggest you get a +4 if you can. If he's completely off all higher carb food his numbers can drop significantly.
 
One more dose of 1.25 u this evening then up to 1.5 u tomorrow AM - unless there are surprises. I always have to say that because cats like to keep us on our toes! ;)
 
One more dose of 1.25 u this evening then up to 1.5 u tomorrow AM - unless there are surprises. I always have to say that because cats like to keep us on our toes! ;)
Oh boy don’t they, well he loved the ziwi cat food, heck he should it’s 18.00 for 14oz, heck I’m willing to try anything if it helps him, have to get a part time job too lol, NO ONE would eat the frozen raw, so back to the store it goes, hubby is home today and tomorrow so I’m having him do a +4
 
Yea for Bella doing better! I ordered the ya treats - Baby has nothing she likes for a low carb treat! I now have 5 opened treat bags & $ down the drain! I don’t think they’d take them back after opening?!? Any suggestions? She wants her chicken temptations- shes still sitting by the drawer, looking up & crying! She knows where they’re at! E-gads! Lol
 
Yea for Bella doing better! I ordered the ya treats - Baby has nothing she likes for a low carb treat! I now have 5 opened treat bags & $ down the drain! I don’t think they’d take them back after opening?!? Any suggestions? She wants her chicken temptations- shes still sitting by the drawer, looking up & crying! She knows where they’re at! E-gads! Lol
I give Stella and chewy freeze dried raw chicken, they are larger nuggets and I break them into
 
Yea for Bella doing better! I ordered the ya treats - Baby has nothing she likes for a low carb treat! I now have 5 opened treat bags & $ down the drain! I don’t think they’d take them back after opening?!? Any suggestions? She wants her chicken temptations- shes still sitting by the drawer, looking up & crying! She knows where they’re at! E-gads! Lol
Where I get mine they will take back as long as 75% of it is still there, you could always try
 
Very nice! :smuggrin: There's a little room to come down in the middle of the cycle so I think that an increase to 1.5 u tomorrow still makes sense. He's settling nicely which was the goal in decreasing then slowly raising his dose. How does he feel?
 
Very nice! :smuggrin: There's a little room to come down in the middle of the cycle so I think that an increase to 1.5 u tomorrow still makes sense. He's settling nicely which was the goal in decreasing then slowly raising his dose. How does he feel?
he feels real good, he loves his new no carb food
 
Very nice! :smuggrin: There's a little room to come down in the middle of the cycle so I think that an increase to 1.5 u tomorrow still makes sense. He's settling nicely which was the goal in decreasing then slowly raising his dose. How does he feel?
+2 282
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top