I agree! No beating yourself up!Cats do what cats do. Is he feeling well and eating well?
Yes, just took BG 278I agree! No beating yourself up!Cats do what cats do. Is he feeling well and eating well?
I like that response to the 1 u!Yes, just took BG 278
Any dry food thievery? If not don't worry. Let this play out today. The goal is to get a good set of baseline data. How is Bella feeling?+6 BG 318
No, has not had any, I hid it where he can’t get to it and he seems fine, sleeping right nowAny dry food thievery? If not don't worry. Let this play out today. The goal is to get a good set of baseline data. How is Bella feeling?
Another possibility is that fairly quick drop from 453 to 278 at +3 has set off another bounce. I'm glad he's feeling OK.No, has not had any, I hid it where he can’t get to it and he seems fine, sleeping right now
Question for you, like when u asked how he is feeling, is he suppose to feel bad if it’s real high not normal I should say, I know what to look for if it’s low but is there something I should watch for if it’s not in the normal range and can cats go blind from diabetes, I noticed some people have blind catsAnother possibility is that fairly quick drop from 453 to 278 at +3 has set off another bounce. I'm glad he's feeling OK.
Sometimes they might be lethargic when numbers are higher but not always. I was interested in how he's feeling overall. We often say on FDMB that you kitty is more than just his BG numbers.Question for you, like when u asked how he is feeling, is he suppose to feel bad if it’s real high not normal I should say, I know what to look for if it’s low but is there something I should watch for if it’s not in the normal range and can cats go blind from diabetes, I noticed some people have blind cats
Yes, 1 u again tonight.+11 BG 333, didn’t raise much since last test at +6, so 1u this evening too?
No black or lime green todayYes, 1 u again tonight.It'll be 1 u again tomorrow AM and PM and that should be enough baseline data to know what to do next. If he decides to surprise you with another lime green that plan can be changed. After your pre shot final test for this cycle get one before bed tonight if you can.
He’s eating themfreeze dried raw chicken, I usually crumble it on top of his food or give him 1 as a treat, usually after I test him so he doesn’t think it so bad every time, I’m gonna try friskies, I think he is tired of the ff and he is really picky about the flavors, the other am I had to open 4 before I found 1, I am trying and I am printing out a sitter sheet that’s on here and put on frig for hubby, he’s been a trooper in trying to helpI saw your note about the food. Which Stella and Chewy’s are you feeding? I’ve read that they’re higher in carbs. Would he eat Friskies or Fancy Feast pates if you fed only that? Unfortunately keeping strict control on food is a necessary part of all this. Do what you can - I know it’s hard with other cats. He’s shown you, though, that he’s sensitive to carbs in food.
I did contact Stella and chewy and they said 1 to 2 % carbsI saw your note about the food. Which Stella and Chewy’s are you feeding? I’ve read that they’re higher in carbs. Would he eat Friskies or Fancy Feast pates if you fed only that? Unfortunately keeping strict control on food is a necessary part of all this. Do what you can - I know it’s hard with other cats. He’s shown you, though, that he’s sensitive to carbs in food.
Some people frown at the idea of feeding Friskies because they think it's junk because it lists "animal byproducts". Dr. Lisa Pierson, the vet whose food list we refer to here doesn't rule out feeding animal by products. Many people feed it , though, and if you look at the ingredients list it's not that bad. I feed it to Teasel mixed in with prescription DM wet food (6%) from my vet.He’s eating themfreeze dried raw chicken, I usually crumble it on top of his food or give him 1 as a treat, usually after I test him so he doesn’t think it so bad every time, I’m gonna try friskies, I think he is tired of the ff and he is really picky about the flavors, the other am I had to open 4 before I found 1, I am trying and I am printing out a sitter sheet that’s on here and put on frig for hubby, he’s been a trooper in trying to help
Yes, it's much harder when you have a picky eater on your hands. And congrats to your husband for helping.He’s eating themfreeze dried raw chicken, I usually crumble it on top of his food or give him 1 as a treat, usually after I test him so he doesn’t think it so bad every time, I’m gonna try friskies, I think he is tired of the ff and he is really picky about the flavors, the other am I had to open 4 before I found 1, I am trying and I am printing out a sitter sheet that’s on here and put on frig for hubby, he’s been a trooper in trying to help
I didn’t take that wayYes, it's much harder when you have a picky eater on your hands. And congrats to your husband for helping.
I'm sorry if you felt I was scolding you about foods. I sure don't mean to - just noticing the impact of food on Bella's BG levels and giving my opinion.
Yes but I can’t test till 2 which will be +8, i hate that I can’t be there with him during the day, hubby can’t take at 2Here's the plan looking ahead a little:
Does this work for you?
- try for at test between +3 and +5 today if possible
- give 1 u again tonight
- get a before bed test tonight
- numbers permitting he'll be ready for a little increase to 1.25 u tomorrow AM so get ready to eyeball that.
![]()
No problem - get that +8.Yes but I can’t test till 2 which will be +8, i hate that I can’t be there with him during the day, hubby can’t take at 2
+8 473No problem - get that +8.
We now know that a small increase is the right way to go. Follow the plan in my post #24 above.+8 473
A human meter will generally read lower than a pet meter. It's easier to stick to one type of meter. If you find the pet meter strips are getting too expensive you can switch over to a human meter. Manny people like to use one of the Walmart ReliOn house brand models. The Micro and the Confirm are two popular models because they take only a tiny blood drop to give reading. I think the strips for those cost around $30+ per 100.BG 595 +11, I tried taking his BG with an advocate human meter and I just got error messages, it belongs to my boss
Yes, plan is good, hubby will test when he gets home, I have to work 12hrs todayPlan going ahead - unless he surprises us:
If his numbers stay high you’ll increase to 1.5 u on Thursday. OK plan for you? Is he feeling well, eating well, etc.?
- 1.25 u tonight and AM/PM tomorrow
- test somewhere between AM and PM today if you can plus one evening test
- same testing plan tomorrow.
Nice drop. It's quite a bit lower than pre shot so I suggest you get a +4 if you can. If he's completely off all higher carb food his numbers can drop significantly.+2 278, finally in the yellow yeah, I switched food to ziwi airdried raw mackeral and lamb, he loves it, also primal frozen raw
Oh boy don’t they, well he loved the ziwi cat food, heck he should it’s 18.00 for 14oz, heck I’m willing to try anything if it helps him, have to get a part time job too lol, NO ONE would eat the frozen raw, so back to the store it goes, hubby is home today and tomorrow so I’m having him do a +4One more dose of 1.25 u this evening then up to 1.5 u tomorrow AM - unless there are surprises. I always have to say that because cats like to keep us on our toes!![]()
I give Stella and chewy freeze dried raw chicken, they are larger nuggets and I break them intoYea for Bella doing better! I ordered the ya treats - Baby has nothing she likes for a low carb treat! I now have 5 opened treat bags & $ down the drain! I don’t think they’d take them back after opening?!? Any suggestions? She wants her chicken temptations- shes still sitting by the drawer, looking up & crying! She knows where they’re at! E-gads! Lol
Where I get mine they will take back as long as 75% of it is still there, you could always tryYea for Bella doing better! I ordered the ya treats - Baby has nothing she likes for a low carb treat! I now have 5 opened treat bags & $ down the drain! I don’t think they’d take them back after opening?!? Any suggestions? She wants her chicken temptations- shes still sitting by the drawer, looking up & crying! She knows where they’re at! E-gads! Lol
Nuggets@Bellasmom - is that the chick chick nuggets or patties? I know you’re busy so no need to answer now. Looking online...
One more dose of 1.25 u this evening then up to 1.5 u tomorrow AM - unless there are surprises. I always have to say that because cats like to keep us on our toes!![]()
Very nice!+4 164![]()
There's a little room to come down in the middle of the cycle so I think that an increase to 1.5 u tomorrow still makes sense. He's settling nicely which was the goal in decreasing then slowly raising his dose. How does he feel?he feels real good, he loves his new no carb foodVery nice!There's a little room to come down in the middle of the cycle so I think that an increase to 1.5 u tomorrow still makes sense. He's settling nicely which was the goal in decreasing then slowly raising his dose. How does he feel?
+2 282Very nice!There's a little room to come down in the middle of the cycle so I think that an increase to 1.5 u tomorrow still makes sense. He's settling nicely which was the goal in decreasing then slowly raising his dose. How does he feel?
I'm really glad that his other signs are good. It's easy to get too focused on numbers and forget to look at the kitty. Finding something he likes to eat is a huge bonus!he feels real good, he loves his new no carb food