Agreed! Sorry, I wasn’t on the other thread. I believe @Bron and Sheba (GA) has a picture of how he marked a syringe with a pen to make the 1/4 unit easier.He dropped below 90. Both @Shelley & Jess and I said he had earned a reduction. We also addressed the issue that is it a small amount of insulin. I had previously suggested that she not follow the vet’s recommendation of starting at 1 unit and I said to cut it to .5. It was pointed out to me that the .5 was a small amount of insulin. Yes, but Ottie dropped bow 90 on that small amount of insulin. Therefore, I also said that, per SLGS, a reduction to .25 units should be given going forward. I understand that.25 units is a small amount of insulin. I am aware of this. Nevertheless, insulin is a hormone and not a drug. Cats are sensitive to small insulin changes and doses. Ottie may eventually need to go back up to .5 units, but the dosing protocol is written with safety in mind. Therefore, last night I said (and Shelley too) that the new dose was .25 units going forward and was to be held for 7 days/14 cycles unless another reduction was earned during that time.
I don’t think Bron has been around. At least I couldn’t find her (but maybe that was just me.). But I did link the sticky about drawing and fine dosing that has photos about how to draw a .25 and a .10 and a drop dose.Agreed! Sorry, I wasn’t on the other thread. I believe @Bron and Sheba (GA) had a picture of how he marked a syringe with a pen to make the 1/4 unit easier.
Yes. That’s right. Please hold the .25 dose for a week (14 cycles) unless he drops below 90 again. You are doing great and I know what it is like to see preshot numbers that are higher than you would like — and the temptation is to shoot down the higher numbers with an increased insulin dose. I think you are in a good place because Ottie’s numbers are not really high. He has a very good chance at regulation.So I will now maintain the 0.25 unit dose for at least 7 days?
In hindsight, I think it was a big mistake for me to go up to 0.5 unit.
Not really. If your cat goes under 90, regardless of how much under, it earns a 1/4 unit reduction and that becomes the new dose. You don’t go back to the previous dose.With my insulin, am I trying to hit an ideal zone of 5.6-11.1 or am I supposed to hit an ideal zone of 3.8-5.5.
Yesterday, I have 0.25 unit as his early AM shot had a reading below 5... but it didn't go much below 9.1, so I returned to the original dose of 0.5.
Was that the right thing to do?
Ottie's PMPS is 13.7... gave a 0.5 unit Prozinc, and +2hr reading is 8.1... Is that too low, too fast?
Yes, when you follow the SLGS method you keep the same dose for 7 days at least unless your cat drops below 90 again. That’s the exception. Have you had a chance to read up on SLGS?


It is a lot to take in at the beginning. I remember reading and re-reading and after a while my eyes would glaze over. Hang in there. We are here for youI did read, but it must have went in one eye, and out the other... Just when I think I got the hang of it, I realise I do not know anything again. This panicky feeling is such an emotional rollercoster.
I’m just trying to explain if I disappear!who is still helping while on vacation, we are here for you!
You’re allowed to go on vacay!! Btw, Bron has been sickI’m just trying to explain if I disappear!
Yes, but she’s on the mend.You’re allowed to go on vacay!! Btw, Bron has been sick![]()

You're very welcome
We all know how it feels to start out and how overwhelming it is with the amount of information we need to remember and apply.
Ottie is an amazing candidate for regulation (and even remission in my opinion), but him not having insanely high numbers, puts you in a difficult position regarding dosing.
I let the others advise you on that, so you're more confident in making the decision for tonight.
I have mentioned you the FreeStyle Libre CGM in one of our very first encounters. Although it can be unreliable in the higher numbers, you may want to consider it if Ottie is bothered about about the ear pricks. Due to the discrepancies, it absolutely can not substitute ear pricking at AMPS/PMPS/nadir at this point, but it'd perhaps benefit you to identify when is he going low, so you know when to test during the cicle. It would also give you an idea how his curves actually look.
I find it the most relaible between 3.0 - 9.0 mmol/L (human meter), and since Ottie is within those numbers, it could be an option for you guys.
Now I wonder what you guys think...
Ottie went below 5 twice in a row... Do you think for tonight... Is it best to not shoot tonight... Give poor little Ottie a rest and then shoot 0.25 IU in the morning?
OR reduce to 0.1 IU and still shoot tonight. I don't know how I would handle a 3rd hypo event in a row...
I tested Bobo a lot and never had an issue with his ears getting scabby or red. Are you applying pressure with a cotton ball on the area after each test ? When you do that, it avoids bruising. What gauge lancet are you using now again? You should be able to go up to a 30 since you know what you’re doing now.
I do understand that testing can be hard when we feel we may be hurting our kitty's ears. BUT, the ears are tough little things. Nature has evolved them that way. For safety's sake it's far better to test than to not test. And a bruised ear is not such a big deal in the scheme of things...With all the amount of BG testing... Ottie's ears are all sore... I don't know if it's prudent to keep poking his ears. It looks so painful. He is never going to get a chance to heal...
I also try to move up and down the ear so I’m not always testing the same spot. I know easier said then done, but I’ve also found it’s easier with my cats to get more blood when I prick lower on the edge of the ear.
let me look at the ss, but I wouldn’t skip any shots. It could be a set back on this road to remission.
I’m not sure where you’re in the cycle, but I’d give .1. Do you know how to measure that? I defer to Suzanne if she thinks otherwise.
You’ve seen this diagram right?My vet told me to aim for the triangle in the middle inside the ear. I initially aimed for that, thinking my vet knows better. BIG MISTAKE. All it did was bruise my boy.
It's way better and hurts less for the cat to do the edge of the ear. But even then, I am concerned at the moment because it's all red up and down the edge of both ears. And considering I have just started on this journey, with many more testing ahead daily... I was concerned
Can you post a pic of the syringe please? In my U100 1/2 marked the first line was .1 but I know you use U40sSo despite back to back low readings... I should still give a shot of 0.1 units? I use U40 syringes... How would you even measure that?
Even when I take him to the vet, I have to sedate him with gabapentin...
I’m not sure where you’re in the cycle, but I’d give .1. Do you know how to measure that? I defer to Suzanne if she thinks otherwise.
So she knows how to measure the .1? It’s so much easier with the U100 syringes but at least she’s got 1/2 units marked U40sIt's her shot time in 10mins.
I offered her a walk-through on microdosing when we saw that 2.5 earlier, but I haven't heard anything back regarding that matter. I also advised her to ask you guys publicly too, because more opinion the better.
It's her shot time in 10mins.
I offered her a walk-through on microdosing when we saw that 2.5 earlier, but I haven't heard anything back regarding that matter. I also advised her to ask you guys publicly too, because the more opinion the better.
I already recommended .1 units but it all depends on your ability to measure that. Again, can you post a pic of the syringe? If the .25 was at the first line, the .1 would be just slightly more than the zero line.
Same with Bonbon! Actually I'm far more likely to get blood if I prick very low down on the outer edge...but I’ve also found it’s easier with my cats to get more blood when I prick lower on the edge of the ear.
Do these only have full unit markings, Kili? Not half unit markings...? Or are the half unit markings not visible on the photo?
It looks like that very first line is .25 right? Is that how you’ve been measuring it? Is there a way you can do just a hair before hitting that line?