Beau and Jeddie March 1-7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheila & Beau GA & Jeddie GA

Very Active Member
Well, for starters, Jeddie *was* doing a bit better - until I forgot his shot last night - again - until too late. I didn't want to shoot at +14.5 because it would make this am +9.5 and I wasn't comfortable with that. I did test at that time and he was 155, which seemed a good number at about 3.5 hrs after eating.

Beau, well, he is about the same. He does come for food now, just doesn't eat much. I think he is getting between 3-4 ozs, so it should be enough to hold off HL, but not enough to stop the weight loss.

He was under the covers again this am after breakfast. He wasn't from mid day Sunday until this am, so not sure what that is about. I had to leave the bed unmade when I left for work because of it. He purred a little for me.
 
Hey Sheila,

When I change PK's shots around for one reason or another and get our schedule out of synch or start a new one I am not used to yet, I set my cell alarm to go off as a reminder that it is test/shot or food time or whatever...

My cel has an option for a recurring alarm, so I just set it to h=go off at the same time day and night until I change it or shut it off...

7am/7pm....whatever...

Beau may just be chilled with less fat on him from the weight loss and the fact we have all had the eternal winter from hell...I think hell finally froze over and it's ticked off about it, actually!

Anyhow, better that he is eating...keep plugging away at the food thing..offer the extras and different novelty foods if you don't think it will upset his tummy. keep us posted on the progress :thumbup
 
I think it's good news that Beau is coming for food now - that's an improvement. Hopefully his appetite will continue to improve to ward off any further weight loss.

Jeddie's 155 is actually good for being +3.5 after eating. I have no doubt that he will be back on track in no time.

p.s. you make your bed everyday?? :o
 
Oi, Jeddie is getting further out of control! He was 226 last night and 266 this am. I am mystified how he can keep getting further/higher on same dose, but if I skip a shot he soars. Usually, trending higher is on the same dose that worked fine before, in my mind, is an indication of rebound. But if that were the case skipping would bring him down, not up. Well, he seems happy - doesn't act sick - so I guess I have time to sort this out.

Beau is about the same. He has eaten all his chicken treats (boiled white meat) both last night and this am. And he's sleeping in his chair in the LR instead of on the bed.

I keep forgetting to answer you, Michele, about him being cold. I am sure if was/is from being hypothyroid due to over medicating the methimazole. His body temp indicated mild hypothermia - about 1-2 degrees low.
 
Ack! What is wrong with Jeddie? I am sure you will get it figured out Sheila. Tigger has been creeping up there lately too...don't know why...(my spreadsheet is hopelessly out of date...need to fix)!
 
I think I got a bounce out of Jeddie tonight. And I am looking at the last few days and seeing he is about 100 points higher in the pm than the am. He dropped to the 60s at +3 and I didn't get a +2 or +4 - may try for that tomorrow to narrow down a nadir. I am thinking that the 255 tonight was a bounce from that and maybe the higher numbers have been rebound. I reduced his dose to .1u and I'll see where that takes him. He was not happy about all the tests.

Beau is a little more "lively" and I saw him washing Leanne, and then Ariel, and then Leanne, and then... they were both rubbing up against him and he is such a non-alpha cat that he just washes whomever does that. He still didn't eat as much as I think he should - maybe 4-4.5 ozs today.

ETA: Sunday am - Jeddie 194, shot .1u and will test +2, +4. And Beau is under the covers again. Well, he looks like one of those tarts with the crust wrapped part way over the edge - with his shoulders, front paws and head outside. It's very cute, but I am wondering why he is doing this again all of a sudden. He only ate about a third of an ounce of breakfast.
 
Oh what is with Beau....doing so good one day and then the next?? That is sweet how he cleans everybody though. :) I hope today he is just trying to get some privacy and feels alright.

Did you post on Community about animal communicators? I will go check.
 
Is it just me or it impossible for Jeddie AND Beau to both be doing well on the same day? Sorry Shelia.

So Jeddie's amps was much better and i think you're right that the 255 was a perfect example of rebound. There is no doubt in my mind that you won't get him settled. Glad to hear he's acting well - definitely doesn't sound like he's sick.

Beau under the covers again in not the best thing especially given that it's not cold out. How did he do eating today?
 
How'd Jeddie do today? Sorry Beau's not feeling warm and comfy. I can tell you 50s aren't exactly a heat wave, although it may feel like it after this winter. Have you considered he may also have some arthritis creeping in? Since he's long haired, Gandalf has never wanted to crawl under or be under blankets, but he still wants to lie in his basket now.

Hope you get them both figured out.
 
Jeddie did pretty well today: PS 194, +2.5 149, +4 149 pmPS 160.

Beau did finally come out to the living room and sleep in his bed out there. And he was the first one out the door when I opened it to go out on the balcony to sweep my kitchen rug. He also ate more later int he day. He got up next to my on the couch while I watched the Oscars and slept there for over an hour. And he ate more dinner than he did breakfast.

My vet did suggest that he might be getting arthritis - poor guy. He has had so many health issues his whole life. It is a major blessing that he is OTJ after two years of all the testing and shots, but he deserves a break!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top