Bear 3/25 AMPS 148, +5 86, +7.5 81, +10 122, PMPS 323

Meredith Bear’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bear-amps-300-4-264-5-5-194-8-5-120.275656/#post-3058383

Hi friends,

Checking in. I've decided to tell my vet on Tuesday (when she's back in the office) that I wish to follow TR protocols with Bear. I thought switching to SLGS might be the way to go, but after thinking about it I really want to follow TR. I am going to hold his dose until Tuesday/when I have the conversation with her. I'm trying to calculate when I would increase anyways... I think I would hold the 1U for 8-10 cycles anyways since he is "new" to numbers under 200, is that right?

After hearing input from you all it seems like my situation is very common. Vet doesn't know too much about Diabetes management and wants to try it their way. I've compiled research on TR on a tab on my SS and am planning on giving that to her. I'm tired of having to feel confused/guilty about not following TR or SLGS. If anyone has any advice on what they said to get their vet to listen to them I'm all ears :)

I also decided to switch Bear over to Nulo food. There are no by-products and it's much cheaper than Tiki!

P.S. - Chewy has an awesome sale right now - spend $100 get a $30 gift card!
 
Hi Meredith Happy to hear of your decision to switch to TR :cat:.
Have you checked out the section https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/health-links-faqs-about-feline-diabetes.14/

The first sticky is the index https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/index-health-links-faqs.194624/ and there's a section "Published Articles / Documents."

There's also another link further down
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...or-managing-diabetes-with-2022-update.235952/

And my favorite is the link which I read at least 3 times a week, is here in the LLB forum https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Hi Meredith Happy to hear of your decision to switch to TR :cat:.
Have you checked out the section https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/health-links-faqs-about-feline-diabetes.14/

The first sticky is the index https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/index-health-links-faqs.194624/ and there's a section "Published Articles / Documents."

There's also another link further down
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...or-managing-diabetes-with-2022-update.235952/

And my favorite is the link which I read at least 3 times a week, is here in the LLB forum https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Thank you Angela! Some of these I have read (like the TR guidelines) but I haven’t seen the one about managing diabetes guidelines. This is all very helpful, thank you for sharing!
 
Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bear-amps-300-4-264-5-5-194-8-5-120.275656/#post-3058383

Hi friends,

Checking in. I've decided to tell my vet on Tuesday (when she's back in the office) that I wish to follow TR protocols with Bear. I thought switching to SLGS might be the way to go, but after thinking about it I really want to follow TR. I am going to hold his dose until Tuesday/when I have the conversation with her. I'm trying to calculate when I would increase anyways... I think I would hold the 1U for 8-10 cycles anyways since he is "new" to numbers under 200, is that right?

After hearing input from you all it seems like my situation is very common. Vet doesn't know too much about Diabetes management and wants to try it their way. I've compiled research on TR on a tab on my SS and am planning on giving that to her. I'm tired of having to feel confused/guilty about not following TR or SLGS. If anyone has any advice on what they said to get their vet to listen to them I'm all ears :)

I also decided to switch Bear over to Nulo food. There are no by-products and it's much cheaper than Tiki!

P.S. - Chewy has an awesome sale right now - spend $100 get a $30 gift card!
Tagging
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
Hi Meredith,
If you are following SLGS with the BGs today and last night on the SS you would need to decrease the dose as Bear dropped under 90.
If you want to follow TR I would change the SS and Signature to reflect that.
You are testing enough to do TR and you will get faster results with TR.
I would swap to TR and hold the dose for 10 cycles with those lovely green BG appearing before thinking of increasing.
Bear is doing well. A bit of bouncing but that's normal in newly diagnosed cats. And he is getting some lovely nadirs.

When you go to the vet, just remember Bear is your cat and you are paying the vet for her opinion. Then it is up to you to decide what you want to do and what is best for Bear. Don't feel guilty...you are educating yourself about FD (which many vets are not) and are making good decisions. Be strong and remember you are bears advocate. :):D
 
You and your vet are part of team Bear. But you hold the syringe. Even though I didn't always agree with my vet on diabetes treatment, I really respected her knowledge on many other cat health topics. Plus she volunteered free time for the local shelter, so generally a good person. Vets often don't have many diabetic feline patients, and the number who's caregivers home test is even less. I was my vet's first. Because of that, they tend to be more cautious, and rightly so, with dosing.

Bear is no longer new to blue or green numbers. He saw them back in December last year. Cycles with green nadirs we hold for 10 cycles, if following TR.
 
Hi Meredith,
If you are following SLGS with the BGs today and last night on the SS you would need to decrease the dose as Bear dropped under 90.
If you want to follow TR I would change the SS and Signature to reflect that.
You are testing enough to do TR and you will get faster results with TR.
I would swap to TR and hold the dose for 10 cycles with those lovely green BG appearing before thinking of increasing.
Bear is doing well. A bit of bouncing but that's normal in newly diagnosed cats. And he is getting some lovely nadirs.

When you go to the vet, just remember Bear is your cat and you are paying the vet for her opinion. Then it is up to you to decide what you want to do and what is best for Bear. Don't feel guilty...you are educating yourself about FD (which many vets are not) and are making good decisions. Be strong and remember you are bears advocate. :):D
Hi Bron,

Thank you! His greens were so nice! :) Hopefully we can get back to that. Looks like tomorrow we will be back to 1.25U then?

Seems like today was probably a bit of a bounce day. Dang reds.
 
You and your vet are part of team Bear. But you hold the syringe. Even though I didn't always agree with my vet on diabetes treatment, I really respected her knowledge on many other cat health topics. Plus she volunteered free time for the local shelter, so generally a good person. Vets often don't have many diabetic feline patients, and the number who's caregivers home test is even less. I was my vet's first. Because of that, they tend to be more cautious, and rightly so, with dosing.

Bear is no longer new to blue or green numbers. He saw them back in December last year. Cycles with green nadirs we hold for 10 cycles, if following TR.
Thanks for sharing your experience. Question for you - what defines "newly diagnosed" per TR regulations?

P.S. - I watched your tribute video to Neko last night and read her story after I tested and couldn't sleep. I was crying. What a beautiful tribute to her - she was so lucky to have you - and you're lucky to have her as your angel now :bighug:
 
Hi Bron,

Thank you! His greens were so nice! :) Hopefully we can get back to that. Looks like tomorrow we will be back to 1.25U then?

Seems like today was probably a bit of a bounce day. Dang reds.
Yes he's been bouncing today but looks as if he could be coming off the bounce this evening so keep an eye on the BGs tonight. You are only 5 cycles in since getting green nadirs on this dose so I would hold the dose a bit longer.
 
Thanks for sharing your experience. Question for you - what defines "newly diagnosed" per TR regulations?
Bear was diagnosed 11/28/2022 so he is still newley diagnosed
After a year of his diagnosis he is considered long term diabetic
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
@Meredith Bear’s Mom
 
Yes he's been bouncing today but looks as if he could be coming off the bounce this evening so keep an eye on the BGs tonight. You are only 5 cycles in since getting green nadirs on this dose so I would hold the dose a bit longer.
Thanks! I did hold the dose for this morning since he hit 60 last night. How long should I continue to hold the dose? Technically he didn't fall under 50....
 
@Meredith Bear’s Mom
Hi Meredith, going by what @Wendy&Neko said in post #8
Bear is no longer new to blue or green numbers. He saw them back in December last year. Cycles with green nadirs we hold for 10 cycles, if following TR.
I'm sure she will confirm this :bighug::cat:
Also read what @Bron and Sheba (GA) said in her post #11
which was
Yes he's been bouncing today but looks as if he could be coming off the bounce this evening so keep an eye on the BGs tonight. You are only 5 cycles in since getting green nadirs on this dose so I would hold the dose a bit longer.
 
@Meredith Bear’s Mom
Hi Meredith, going by what @Wendy&Neko said in post #8
Bear is no longer new to blue or green numbers. He saw them back in December last year. Cycles with green nadirs we hold for 10 cycles, if following TR.
I'm sure she will confirm this :bighug::cat:
Yes, saw this, thank you! Per Bron & Sheba's post above "You are only 5 cycles in since getting green nadirs on this dose so I would hold the dose a bit longer."
 
Back
Top