Bear 3/24 AMPS 300, +4 264, +5.5 194, +8.5 120

Meredith Bear’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-23-bear-amps-275-4-285-6-5-171.275628/#post-3058156

Hi everyone,

Bear seems to be trending a bit higher after the switch to 1U. I guess following the SLGS method that is still appropriate, still learning the rules of that. I'm trying to prep myself with as much info as possible to be able to chat to my vet about wanting to stick to one method or the other.

Bear is currently eating Tiki Cat but it's getting to be pretty expensive (about $200 a month!). I've been reviewing the food charts and found some options that might be cheaper but I'm hesitant to do any Fancy Feast, or Friskies, etc because I'm used to feeding the higher quality foods and I don't want any by-products. Wondering if anyone has any suggestions for a more natural lower-carb food that is cheaper than Tiki cat?

Also - is it okay to mix food? Like, would it be possible to give him Tiki Cat some days and another LC food another or would that totally mess him up?

TYIA!
 
Hi Meredith and adorable Bear!
I've been lurking and following your posts. Amazing how Bear came to be with you ❤️.

In the beginning of Cleo's FD, my VET (who I adore btw) said to feed twice a day, food should be ONLY prescription food and because of my kitty's temperament, not to test and to come in to office for checks. At the first two week check up, I explained how ravenous she was all the time and he said to give her snacks throughout the day "just like a human diabetic" and he upped her dose from 1 unit to 2.
Long story short, I found this forum and learned how to home test and learned the value of small dose adjustments and the success of TR at achieving regulation.
At her 6month checkup, I went with the published papers and research found on FDMB and her SS. He dismissed me at first but the next day he called with her test results and he said "keep doing whatever you're doing and thank you for the publications."
He calls and checks in with us in-between appointments and has admitted that he's passed along what HE learned to the next cat patient with an FD diagnosis. Hope my story helps :bighug:.

With respect to food, I mix and match foods. Now we're feeding Weruva or Soulistic. I don't know if it's cheaper than Tiki.
Cleo is a glutton :rolleyes: and would eat me with little to no stomach upset. If Bear has food sensitivities or a sensitive stomach, then I would introduce new food slowly and in small increments.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Wondering if anyone has any suggestions for a more natural lower-carb food that is cheaper than Tiki cat?
With respect to food, I mix and match foods. Now we're feeding Weruva or Soulistic. I don't know if it's cheaper than Tik
Hi Meredith, not sure if I have anything to add to what Angela posted above, as I am in Canada, so products do differ, as does pricing. I understand your dilemma about switching to a different brand. I would agree that mixing brands would be perfectly fine, because you are looking at ingredients and low carb content. , and we have all learned that price really does not truly reflect quality, right? I do stick with the FF pates mostly, sometimes mix in Weruva and a few other brands.
A PS from your previous post: I bet your vet is truly looking out for you.... and has Bear's best interests at heart,,, so as you gather info here and explain to your vet he is ravenous, I'm most hopeful she would not be offended by your decision to feed your hungry little guy, right? I found with Kitkat that those little snacks truly help regulate fluctuations in BG. I do wish you the best for your relationship with your vet. :bighug:
 
With SLGS you want to hold a dose for 7 days, unless they go under 90, at which point you reduce immediately for next cycle. Doses are evaluated based on data points you collect, and in some instances for caregivers who don’t have much data over that week to feel comfortable knowing how low the dose is taking the kitty, you’d run a curve to see how the insulin is working. You are typically looking to see whether nadirs are in the 90-150 range. If they are, dose should be held, if nadirs are higher than 150, then you increase by 0.25u.

You are still getting some bouncing from Bear hitting low 100s. It will be interesting to see if his numbers continue to trend down today to PMPS or whether another bounce is in store.
 
Hi Meredith and adorable Bear!
I've been lurking and following your posts. Amazing how Bear came to be with you ❤️.

In the beginning of Cleo's FD, my VET (who I adore btw) said to feed twice a day, food should be ONLY prescription food and because of my kitty's temperament, not to test and to come in to office for checks. At the first two week check up, I explained how ravenous she was all the time and he said to give her snacks throughout the day "just like a human diabetic" and he upped her dose from 1 unit to 2.
Long story short, I found this forum and learned how to home test and learned the value of small dose adjustments and the success of TR at achieving regulation.
At her 6month checkup, I went with the published papers and research found on FDMB and her SS. He dismissed me at first but the next day he called with her test results and he said "keep doing whatever you're doing and thank you for the publications."
He calls and checks in with us in-between appointments and has admitted that he's passed along what HE learned to the next cat patient with an FD diagnosis. Hope my story helps :bighug:.

With respect to food, I mix and match foods. Now we're feeding Weruva or Soulistic. I don't know if it's cheaper than Tiki.
Cleo is a glutton :rolleyes: and would eat me with little to no stomach upset. If Bear has food sensitivities or a sensitive stomach, then I would introduce new food slowly and in small increments.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Angela,

Wow, that's amazing about your vet. I'm so glad you and Cleo were able to provide extra education! That's so awesome and I'm sure helped so many diabetic kitties around the world. That makes me feel a bit better about saying something like "Hey, I want to try TR for Bear. Here is all the research and tons of people who it's worked for." It can't be worse than what we're currently doing of just trying out some random things, although it all is sort of a guessing game, especially since ECID :)

Hahaha, Bear would also eat me and feel no remorse. He'd probably come back looking for seconds. I feel so bad not being able to give him snacks, especially since he's gotten quite hangry and will go after the dogs (and us) if we come too close to him, or pet him, or look at him wrong... I think Weruva and Soulistic are close to Tiki price, but they might be a little cheaper. Thanks for your input :)
 
Hi Meredith, not sure if I have anything to add to what Angela posted above, as I am in Canada, so products do differ, as does pricing. I understand your dilemma about switching to a different brand. I would agree that mixing brands would be perfectly fine, because you are looking at ingredients and low carb content. , and we have all learned that price really does not truly reflect quality, right? I do stick with the FF pates mostly, sometimes mix in Weruva and a few other brands.
A PS from your previous post: I bet your vet is truly looking out for you.... and has Bear's best interests at heart,,, so as you gather info here and explain to your vet he is ravenous, I'm most hopeful she would not be offended by your decision to feed your hungry little guy, right? I found with Kitkat that those little snacks truly help regulate fluctuations in BG. I do wish you the best for your relationship with your vet. :bighug:
Thanks Melinda! I definitely agree with what you said. She seems to think that the food is causing his BG to rise during the day, but everything I've read says that isn't true.
 
With SLGS you want to hold a dose for 7 days, unless they go under 90, at which point you reduce immediately for next cycle. Doses are evaluated based on data points you collect, and in some instances for caregivers who don’t have much data over that week to feel comfortable knowing how low the dose is taking the kitty, you’d run a curve to see how the insulin is working. You are typically looking to see whether nadirs are in the 90-150 range. If they are, dose should be held, if nadirs are higher than 150, then you increase by 0.25u.

You are still getting some bouncing from Bear hitting low 100s. It will be interesting to see if his numbers continue to trend down today to PMPS or whether another bounce is in store.
Hi Christine,

Thanks for this info! I'm still hesitant to change to SLGS because I really want to follow TR protocol, but as I mentioned in a previous post I don't feel like my vet's advice is conducive to that. I really would like to tell her that I'd like to try TR, but I suppose SLGS protocols will suffice for the time being since they are more similar.
 
Hi Meredith
I know Bear does not have kidney disease but you can try these out ,feeding a low phosphorus diet is good anyway
I don't know if Bear likes pates or how much they cost but here is a list one of our members put together
I know that Petco sells single cans for sure , maybe PetSmart so you can try them out and see if he likes them

As for wet food for cat that are diabetic and who have kidney disease you can try these
You can check these out from Weruva BFF like

One of our members put it together
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 136%
BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 149%
BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 154%
BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 165%
BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 171%
 
Last edited:
Hi Meredith
I know Bear does not have kidney disease but you can try these out ,feeding a low phosphorus diet is good anyway
I don't know if Bear likes pates or how much they cost but here is a list one of our members put together

As for wet food for cat that are diabetic and who have kidney disease you can try these
You can check these out from Weruva BFF like

One of our members put it together
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 136%
BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 149%
BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 154%
BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 165%
BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 171%
Thanks Diane! Bear will eat anything :) This is on my list to check out and compare next to Tiki :)
 
I really want to follow TR protocol, but as I mentioned in a previous post I don't feel like my vet's advice is conducive to that.
I need to say my story is very similar, vet had set out initial dosing and feeding protocol (4 units a dayX2 and grazing dry prescription food, no home testing required). 1 month of blind dosing and following this regime..... I found this site, I adjusted Kitkat's treatment slowly away from this, and informed my vet what I was doing. 1 month followup she was not very impressed I had dropped his dose based on an internet site and was slowly transitioning to low carb,( I can completely understand her anxiety at this) . On month 2, I brought him in for followup with his spreadsheet, info on the SLGS and TR protocol and new feeding plan, she was very impressed. 15 days more followup she checked all his progress and happily said "Well! what do you need me for? "with a laugh. She is now also looking further into these protocols. :p
 
I need to say my story is very similar, vet had set out initial dosing and feeding protocol (4 units a dayX2 and grazing dry prescription food, no home testing required). 1 month of blind dosing and following this regime..... I found this site, I adjusted Kitkat's treatment slowly away from this, and informed my vet what I was doing. 1 month followup she was not very impressed I had dropped his dose based on an internet site and was slowly transitioning to low carb,( I can completely understand her anxiety at this) . On month 2, I brought him in for followup with his spreadsheet, info on the SLGS and TR protocol and new feeding plan, she was very impressed. 15 days more followup she checked all his progress and happily said "Well! what do you need me for? "with a laugh. She is now also looking further into these protocols. :p
That's great Melinda! And yes, does sound very similar. I'm really glad my vet is open to learning also, I just don't want her to think I don't trust her. It is kind of hard to say "well my crazy cat lady friends on the internet told me so" as a form of proof :p
 
It is kind of hard to say "well my crazy cat lady friends on the internet told me so" as a form of proof :p
yup!!!!!!!!!! lol It's very hard for them to take your word for it!!!!! We all know what crazy info you can get on a typical google search..... but the printoffs of studies, and the science that backs it, and is available here will be the thing that makes all the difference. My vet and I have a great relationship.... it just took her a minute to trust I was doing the best thing for Kitkat :cat::cat::bighug:. She's very, very impressed Kitkat is in remission now;)
 
yup!!!!!!!!!! lol It's very hard for them to take your word for it!!!!! We all know what crazy info you can get on a typical google search..... but the printoffs of studies, and the science that backs it, and is available here will be the thing that makes all the difference. My vet and I have a great relationship.... it just took her a minute to trust I was doing the best thing for Kitkat :cat::cat::bighug:. She's very, very impressed Kitkat is in remission now;)
Yay! Okay, that makes me feel a lot better. Now to gather my research. lol. o_O
 
Another suggestion about food is home made. At one time I compared the cost of making my own with EZ Complete premix and buying organic meat at the butcher near me. Home made won out on price. It didn't take long for me to make it - and I was feeding it to two cats. I found some little tubs that go in the freezer and with my handy kitchen scale measured out a daily amount of food that I put in the tub. Each night I'd take out a tub for each cat. I'd spend a bit of time every couple of weeks making up a batch. Sort of depends how much room you have in your freezer as to how much you make. Some people follow the recipe on the Catinfo website, which is cheaper, but a bit more work.
 
Another suggestion about food is home made. At one time I compared the cost of making my own with EZ Complete premix and buying organic meat at the butcher near me. Home made won out on price. It didn't take long for me to make it - and I was feeding it to two cats. I found some little tubs that go in the freezer and with my handy kitchen scale measured out a daily amount of food that I put in the tub. Each night I'd take out a tub for each cat. I'd spend a bit of time every couple of weeks making up a batch. Sort of depends how much room you have in your freezer as to how much you make. Some people follow the recipe on the Catinfo website, which is cheaper, but a bit more work.
This is a great idea. I just ordered some new food (Chewy has a spend $100 get $30 back right now) but I think I’m going to give this a shot once I’m out. We have an outdoor freezer for the dog food so should be able to fit some cat food in there too. I’ve always wondered how you ensure the correct nutrients are included but sounds like that mix takes care of it.
 
Back
Top