Jenn & Baxter
Member Since 2011
3 weeks ago I had Baxter at the vet. The vet said Baxter was in the early stages of kidney failure. At that time he was treated for a UTI. He acted like his old self within days of the antibiotic. Although, he was still drinking lots of water. The vet requested to see him back in 3 weeks (yesterday) to run some more test. We are waiting on results from the urinalysis culture to come back.
I am hoping someone with personal experience can tell me just how bad this is.
Here are the results from 3wks ago & current:
3 weeks ago:
BUN-125
Creatinine-5.3
Phosphorus-6.5
Red Blood Cells-5.34
Current:
BUN-191
Creatinine-9.5
Phosphorus-10.0
Red Blood Cells-20% (vets wording...the bone morrow is not responding. Immature RBC is 8%)
T-4-below normal
BG-116
I have the results in hand from 3 wks ago. The current results I will have in hand on Monday.
I have read & read the CRF website....actually, I always have the site open, I never closed it out.
Baxter is still eating, but not as much. He has lost about 1/2lb in 3wks. He doesn't vomit. He acts more sleepy then the past.
His BG numbers are lower & I have reduced doses & skipped doses because his BG have been a lot lower.
I started Lactated fluids 100cc per day. No other meds at this point.
I purchased some Pepcid AC. I am unsure when I need to give it to him & how much? The vet didn't not mention me giving anything to him.
Any tips or suggestions is greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Jenn & Baxter cat_pet_icon
I am hoping someone with personal experience can tell me just how bad this is.
Here are the results from 3wks ago & current:
3 weeks ago:
BUN-125
Creatinine-5.3
Phosphorus-6.5
Red Blood Cells-5.34
Current:
BUN-191
Creatinine-9.5
Phosphorus-10.0
Red Blood Cells-20% (vets wording...the bone morrow is not responding. Immature RBC is 8%)
T-4-below normal
BG-116
I have the results in hand from 3 wks ago. The current results I will have in hand on Monday.
I have read & read the CRF website....actually, I always have the site open, I never closed it out.
Baxter is still eating, but not as much. He has lost about 1/2lb in 3wks. He doesn't vomit. He acts more sleepy then the past.
His BG numbers are lower & I have reduced doses & skipped doses because his BG have been a lot lower.
I started Lactated fluids 100cc per day. No other meds at this point.
I purchased some Pepcid AC. I am unsure when I need to give it to him & how much? The vet didn't not mention me giving anything to him.
Any tips or suggestions is greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Jenn & Baxter cat_pet_icon