Baxter-FD-DX CRF-Test Results & ?'s

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
3 weeks ago I had Baxter at the vet. The vet said Baxter was in the early stages of kidney failure. At that time he was treated for a UTI. He acted like his old self within days of the antibiotic. Although, he was still drinking lots of water. The vet requested to see him back in 3 weeks (yesterday) to run some more test. We are waiting on results from the urinalysis culture to come back.

I am hoping someone with personal experience can tell me just how bad this is.
Here are the results from 3wks ago & current:
3 weeks ago:
BUN-125
Creatinine-5.3
Phosphorus-6.5
Red Blood Cells-5.34

Current:
BUN-191
Creatinine-9.5
Phosphorus-10.0
Red Blood Cells-20% (vets wording...the bone morrow is not responding. Immature RBC is 8%)
T-4-below normal
BG-116

I have the results in hand from 3 wks ago. The current results I will have in hand on Monday.

I have read & read the CRF website....actually, I always have the site open, I never closed it out.

Baxter is still eating, but not as much. He has lost about 1/2lb in 3wks. He doesn't vomit. He acts more sleepy then the past.
His BG numbers are lower & I have reduced doses & skipped doses because his BG have been a lot lower.
I started Lactated fluids 100cc per day. No other meds at this point.

I purchased some Pepcid AC. I am unsure when I need to give it to him & how much? The vet didn't not mention me giving anything to him.

Any tips or suggestions is greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Jenn & Baxter cat_pet_icon
 
The Pepcid AC is 1/4 tablet about 15-30 minutes before meals, to reduce an acid stomach which may be preventing eating.

The Merck Manual Online
Renal Dysfunction in Small animals
Unfortunately, a creatinine of 9.5 appears to put you in stage 4 - but dehydration will increase that number. It may come down a bit if you get more fluids in to offset what is being urinated excessively.

The anemia will make oxygen transport to the tissues less effective.

Ask your vet about this statement: "Probiotic medications and certain dietary fibers may enhance gut catabolism of nitrogenous compounds and uremic toxins"

azotemia definition
"retention of excessive amounts of nitrogenous compounds in the blood. This toxic condition is caused by failure of the kidneys to remove urea from the blood and is characteristic of uremia. Also spelled azotaemia."
 
Jenn -

How low was the T-4? Did they start him on any thyroid med? Grayson takes 5mg Thyrosin once a day (he's ~22 pounds). It's a small tablet, I put in a dish with freeze dried chicken crumbs and he eats it up! No pilling involved. G's number for the T-4 was .6 in November, and a month later the meds brought him up to .9. The reference range is (.8 - 4.0). He'll get another check on Tuesday when the kids have their annual tune-up/vet visit.

Also, did they tell you to get some lower phospherous food? I'd give a quick eye to Dr. Lisa's food chart (updated Binky's) and find a lo-carb/lo-phos food that you can start him on.

Using the reference ranges on G's bloodwork from Antech Diagnostics, this will put the numbers he gave you in perspective:

3 weeks ago...current:
BUN-125 ... 191 (I only see this as a ratio of Bun/Creatinine: (4 - 33)
Creatinine-5.3 ... 9.5 (.6 - 2.4)
Phosphorus-6.5 ...10 (2.4 - 8.2)
Red Blood Cells-5.34...20% (5.92 - 9.93)

This is all pretty foreign to me, so I'm hoping others will add info to help guide you. (((Jennifer))) (((Baxter)))

Hugs from Grayson and me!
 
For the pepcid, the daily max is 5mg, so you want to have the regular strength - 10mg, not the extra strength which is 20mg.

Cut the 10mg square pill into quarters and give 1/4 twice a day, maybe about 30min or so before the two main meals of the day.

Since you are already scouring http://www.felinecrf.org/ you have lots of info.

Gayle
 
BJM said:
Ask your vet about this statement: "Probiotic medications and certain dietary fibers may enhance gut catabolism of nitrogenous compounds and uremic toxins"

azotemia definition
"retention of excessive amounts of nitrogenous compounds in the blood. This toxic condition is caused by failure of the kidneys to remove urea from the blood and is characteristic of uremia. Also spelled azotaemia."

BJ, can you recommend a probiotic? Are you thinking of something like Forti-flora? or something else she can get?

Jenn - I would definitely keep up the fluids. 100 mL once or maybe even twice a day would probably be good. Also, if you're not already doing so, add water to his food. I understand that water that's injested is even better for him, and processes more naturally than fluids.

Lu-Ann
 
Isn't a CRF kitty supposed to eat a diet low in phosphorus, or do I have the wrong condition in mind?
 
Not too good. The RBC of 20% (HCT or PCV) below the nominal 30% normal minimum.
The phosphorus is high too and can make a cat not want to eat much. I recommend a low phosphorous food or a phosphorus binder mixed with good.
Sub Q fluids are are likely recommended.
Is this the webiste you are reading:
http://www.felinecrf.org/
 
Merrick's BG Turkey is pretty decent for phosphorous content.

http://www.catinfo.org has a special sorted food list by phosphorous content for kidney cats.

Last fall, I transitioned my cats (all are elderly with early kidney failure) to lower phosphorous foods -
They didn't like the best prescription food: Tor Neo, but Wellness turkey, BG Turkey (which I can't get any more at my local store), Pinnacle Chicken & Ocean Whitefish all work for my kitties. I add Stella & Chewy's Chicken (lowest phos flavor) to increase the yummy factor.

Blood tests about 6 weeks apart showed improvement or no change in all kidney values (in my cat with the worst kidney issues)

phoebe
 
Certainly the lab results confirm what the vet told you about Baxxter being in renal failure. You are already giving fluids which is good. You may also want to ask the vet about doing blood pressure to see if he should be on something like benazapril (ace inhibitor). I may have missed this but what was Baxter's PCV or packed cell volume---his red blood count is low which is indicative of anemia. The kidneys produce erythropoietin which is a component of the RBCs so anemia is often a sign of kidney failure---you can talk to your vet about administering epogen or procrit (it's a SQ injection), however, there is the potential for antibody formation against this. I had been prescribed epakitin as a phosphate binder. I know the diet needs to be kept low in protein---some vets recommend KD. I would give canned food as well for the increased moisture content. So sorry about Baxter. Diana
 
Thank you everyone for your advice & the links. I have already visited many of the links.
I was only reading on the felinecrf.com site. I will now be reading on the others.

Baxter has been eating Merrick Before Grain Turkey with water added since DX FD in 2011. Should I change food now? I will look on the food list to see if there is something's better with lower phosphorous.

Where do I find phosphorous binder?
I have probiotics that I take. Are these safe for him?

I will have a print out of all the results tomorrow so I can see them personal. The information I have now is what I wrote down when the vet called yesterday.
T-4 was below normal
Blood pressure was normal
PVC-?

The vet is going to talk to the interalist on monday & ask about diet. Expecting to hear the words Science Diet K/D. Which I did declineed 3 wks ago. :?

I will ask the vet about Epogen or Procrit.


Thank you, thank you everyone.
 
Here is a shortcut shopping list of only those foods from Dr. Pierson's Sep 2012 list. Made it up a few weeks ago. Hope this helps.

Shortcut shopping list <250 phosphorus. Adapted from Rhiannon & Shadow’s shortcut list
all values are from Dr. Pierson's updated list, September 2012

carbs in % . . last number is phosphorus ( FKD cats need under 250 phosphorus)

5% - Friskies Special diet Beef and Liver entree 241
5% - Friskies Special diet Turkey and Giblets dinner pate 189
5% - Friskies Special diet Beef and Chicken Entree pate 242
7% - Friskies Special Diet with Salmon 228

3% Weruva Paw Lickin' chicken 196
9% Weruva Green Eggs & chicken 230
4% Weruva On the Cat Wok 163
5% Weruva Steak Frites 118
7% Weruva MidEast Feast 202

Weruva Cats in the Kitchen canned food
3% La Isla Bonita 166
8% Funk in the Trunk 250
4% Fowl Ball 180
8% Lamb Burger-ini 236
2% Chicken Frick 'A Zee 174
8% The Double Dip 248

5% - Merrick Cowboy cookout 202
8% - Merrick Grammy's pot pie 237
3% - Merrick Surf n Turf 229
9% -Merrick Turducken 219

1% - Merrick Before Grain cat 96% beef – 163
2% - Merrick Before Grain cat 96% turkey – 178

5% - Wellness Kitten 216
4% - Wellness chicken 219
4% - Wellness turkey 201
4% - Wellness Beef and chicken 226
6% - Wellness beef & salmon 207


8% - Wellness Core chicken/turkey/chicken liver 215
5% - Wellness Core Beef , Venison & Lamb 171

3% - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Beef – 248
1% - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Duck 191

2% - Natura Evo 95% chicken and turkey 155
4% - Natura Evo 95% beef – 234

2% Hounds & Gatos chicken 241
9% Hounds & Gatos Beef 250
3% Hounds & Gatos Lamb/chicken/salmon 225
3% Hounds & Gatos Lamb & Duck Liver 244

8% -Holistic Select chicken & lamb 222

3% Soulistic Polynesian Picnic 239
4% Soulistic Celestial Feast 250
7% Soulistic Upstream Dream 234
8% Soulistic Nautical Nirvana 228

9% Max Cat Chicken Supreme 173
8% Max Cat with savory duck 197
8% Max Cat with Savory Venison 214

8% Avoderm Chicken Chunks/gravy 234
2% Avoderm Tuna % chicken w/ veggies 241

9% Halo Succulent Salmon 227

1% Eukanuba adult Entree with gourmet chicken 239
8% Eukanuba adult Entree with Lamb and Rice 230
3% Eukanuba adult Entree with Pacific Salmon 241

7% Evolve -chicken 214
6% Evolve turkey 244

0% Natural Balance O'Fischally Scampi 244

5% Pinnacle Chicken and Ocean fish 175
5% Pinnacle Chicken and Tuna 221
4% Pinnacle Ocean Fish 231

3% Authority Chicken 238
7% Authority Turkey & Giblets 222
8% Authority Beef 249


BFF (Best Feline Friends ) also made by Weruva
BFF 2% Tuna and Chicken 234
BFF 2% Tuna and Salmon soulmates 236
BFF 2% Tuna and Shrimp Sweethearts 236
BFF 2% Tuna and Bonito Be Mine 240
BFF 2% Tuna & Tilapia Twosome 240
BFF 5% Tuna & Pumpkin Valentine 243
BFF 2% Tuna & Chicken Chuckles 234

8% Dr Fosters and Smiths Chicken 204

2% ZiwiPeak Lamb 224
 
Jennifer -

Looks like what he's eating is one of the better choices. But the phos binder mentioned above may be helpful. (note: Science Diet is NOT on the list!)

Thanks for bringing the list here. A great reference to have without any effort!

:YMHUG:
 
Thank you so much for taking your time to post the food list. Looks I have been giving one of the one's on the list.

I have been thinking about something & wondered if anyone knew.....is it possible for Baxter's number to have been increased in the BUN or the Creatinine do to lower BG levels (40's & 50's) 2 nights (wednesday) before the test was done (Friday)? I also fed him Merrick Before Grain Tuna & that was the only time he has ever had that flavor. Could it have been the food & hypo that made the numbers slightly higher on the blood results?
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
...Where do I find phosphorous binder?
I have probiotics that I take. Are these safe for him?...

That's a vet question if the probiotics aren't the same ones in Azodyl. The ones in Azodyl have been tested in cats. Compare them to what is listed on your product.
 
I got the phosphate binder epakitin from the vet. I really don't think the incrrease in the BUN and creatinine are related to his low glucose. Diana
 
Thank you for the replies.

Baxter has started to not want to eat. I slow cooked some chicken necks & gave him some of the meat off of it. He ate a little, but not much. He won't drink the broth. I started this morning giving him 1/4 of a Pepcid A/C & gave him another one this evening. His back legs are very weak & he is having a hard time walking.
The vet ordered Epogen & I will pick it up tomorrow along with the Forti Flora.
The vet doesn't think Baxter will be around much longer. I haven't tried everything yet...so I am not giving up on him.

This is truly so heartbreaking.
 
Oh Jenn, my heart just breaks for you. You and Baxter are such a good team, and I know he loves you as much as you love him. I hope some of the things you are trying will get him to perk up and decide he is feeling better. I know you are doing all you can for him - you always have. cat_pet_icon
 
Also, I am not sure what to do about his BG I gave him a reduced does this morning.
AMPS- 398-.2 & +6-160
PMPS-409

He hasn't eaten much & I am unsure if I should give any insulin.
 
No carry over from ProZinc and his in the 400s, so I would give him some insulin.
Need to bring down the level or he'll wind up with DKA.
 
Reduced dose insulin in him. Eating on his own. He went to his food dish without encouragement.
Picking up espogen, Florti flora, & phorphus binder today.
Walking a little better on his own. Walking further distances.

cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top