? Bailie amps 28

Good job with handling the low numbers! In case no one is around immediately, this post may be one to keep handy/bookmark. It's one of the sticky notes at the top of the board.

A couple of thoughts. It looks like Bailie was diagnosed in October 2023. Once a cat is past the one year mark since diagnosis, the criteria for a one reduction if you're following TR changes. You don't reduce the dose unless the numbers drop below 40. Clearly, Bailie was on a mission this morning and a dose reduction is in order. I just want to make sure you were aware that you reduce at 40 (not 50).

One bit of information that was passed along by some of the most experienced previous moderators was the statement, "feed the 40s." You don't necessarily need to shovel tablespoons of high carb food but you do want to bump the numbers up to a safe range and keep monitoring and feeding to make sure that the numbers have stabilized. Even with skipping the shot, I would have likely coached you to give a bit of high or medium carb to get the numbers above 40 and to keep them there. When numbers drop low and you're working to get them up, they tend to bobble around. Also, when it comes to shot time tonight, some cats become very sensitive to insulin when they have dropped low. Just be prepared to keep up your pattern of testing especially since it looks like Bailie is in the mood to be getting less insulin.
 
Back
Top