Baco on ProZinc part 3

Status
Not open for further replies.
her PMPS is really high,432 right now:( But I'm going to play it save this time, thinking it is because of her high carb food that she got today. So i'm giving her 0.35 in a couple of minutes.
I talked to the vet, she was again really supportive of me changing the dose on my own (with the advice from you guys) because she said, the quicker you can react to her # by changing her dose, the quicker it MAY be that she will be healthy again.
She was really proud of me. She even told me that another kitty at the vet was a while longer on ProZinc, but the owner did not measure at home and she is wayyyyyy back than Baco is, that's because I'm doing my research every day and consulting with you all about it. :joyful:
I asked her about the U100 syringes that I want to use to give Baco the little dosis, but she wants to have the convert table (I think you have that?) so she can take a look at it, and talk to the representative from ProZinc in the Netherlands about it.
So can someone please send me the convert table for the U100 syringes / U40 syringes?
 
Thank you so much. I've send an email to my vet with the link :)

Well Baco's # are higher then I'm used to today. AMPS she was at 304 and at +2 and +4 she didn't really drop in #. She is at 302 right now.
Is this maybe the aftermath because off what happend yesterday? (she dropped really low in # yesterday)
She got a shot of 0.35 this morning and I would like to stick to that dose because 0.50 is a little to high I guess, her # were all over the place with the 0.50 dosis.

what do you all think?
@Sue and Oliver (GA)
@Robin&BB
@Bobbie And Bubba
@Rachel
 
Last edited:
I'd stick with that dose for a few more cycles Ruby. When you dropped to 0.5, it took a couple of cycles before Baco dropped lower. It may be that Baco needs a little time to settle in to a dose. There are cats that require that. :)

I like this decrease. I think it was a good choice!
 
yes, I hope she will lower a bit in # today. And maybe tomorrow she will be stable in # just like with the dose of 0.50.
 
I wouldn't be surprised if that happens. Baco's history indicates that it will...and just remember this is just one cycle.

Also remember that numbers are just numbers...and your cat is more than that. How is Baco feeling? How is she acting? That's something else to focus on while we wait to see if this dose brings her down over time.
 
She is feeling great (from what I see) she's really playfull again since a couple of days, and she is really alert. She sleeps in bed again with me, yes she does that, haha ;) (and didn't do that the first 2 weeks before her diagnose, and 1 week after her diagnose) She wakes me up every morning (when my alarm goes off, and she didn't do that ever in her life) to get some food and her shot, so it seems like she knows she will feel better if I give her her food and her shot... heard that a lot of cats will link the food and the shot to feeling better..
So yes she is really alive again since a week or so.. at the beginning of her diagnose she was sleeping a lot and didn't want to do anything. If she was walking she would only walk 2 or 3 steps and then lay down, well that's not the case anymore. So she is getting back to her old self what is a real blessing :cat:
 
She is really steady right now, going lower in # but not in big steps so that's a good thing. She started at AMPS with 304 and is now PMPS at 247 :)
She just got her second shot of 0.35 what will hopefully get her # even a little lower this evening.
 
Hello, well Baco's # yesterday were good, almost all yellow. But it seems to me that I can't get her at a lower amps, they're always in the purple #.. Is there a reason why she is high at amps? i would like to understand a little bit more about it.
 
Last edited:
I'm very curious if the US members have the same idea about this as we have ..... so I wait to see what they will say before answering here.
 
I'd wait a few cycles to see if there is a pattern. For example, 4/29 you had a yellow pmps and then a pink amps. The day before you had a bounce; 3 days ago your cycle looked like 4/29. Night cycles can be different that day cycles - different amounts of food/activity. Some people feed early in the pm to avoid eating near the amps; some people don't feed at all at night. There is also the possibility that there was a low later in the cycle to bounce from.

ProZinc is all about learning the patterns unique to your cat and adapting to them. Making one change at a time is a good idea so you are sure what made the difference.

One possibility, if you see this as an ongoing pattern, would be to shoot 11/13, or even 11.5/12.5. So shoot an hour/30 minutes early in the am before she climbs, and an hour/half hour later in the pm. Make sense?
 
would be to shoot 11/13, or even 11.5/12.5.
Hi Sue, what do you mean with this?
The rest is really clear to me, but I was talking to Jennie today about her dose, I feel like 0.35 is not enough for her. See her sheet, as just now at +6 she is already going up with her # again. And that # is purple, what is not what we would like to see.
What should I do with the dose? should I go up to 0.50 again? I like to hear your opinion about it.
 
Oh, wait I think I get it. So for example I give her a shot at 6:30 AM and instead of giving her her second shot at 6:30PM I stall it? so I give her a shot at 7:30PM?
 
Thank you so much. I've send an email to my vet with the link :)

Well Baco's # are higher then I'm used to today. AMPS she was at 304 and at +2 and +4 she didn't really drop in #. She is at 302 right now.
Is this maybe the aftermath because off what happend yesterday? (she dropped really low in # yesterday)
She got a shot of 0.35 this morning and I would like to stick to that dose because 0.50 is a little to high I guess, her # were all over the place with the 0.50 dosis.

what do you all think?
@Sue and Oliver (GA)
@Robin&BB
@Bobbie And Bubba
@Rachel
I am so sorry, I did not get notified for some reason, but I see you got your answer.
 
Okay, i will try that. But i'm still unsure if the dose of 0.35 is good enough for her, I'm not seeing her get below 225 the last few days, and today she is going up at +6 again. (she ate dry food, so that will be the reason why she's going up) But when I'm not at home than she has also has access to the dry food and I can not see how much she will eat. So if with the 0.35 shots she goes up after eating just a tiny bit of dry food.... then I'm not sure if this dose is going to help her get to lower #.
I hope to hear what you all think about her dose.
 
Yes, if you give the am shot at 6:30 am, then the pm shot at 7:30 (or 6:30/7/6:30 if you are going to change by 30 minutes)

A dose increase might work but 0.5 gave you a green she bounced from on 4/28. She might react differently now, a couple cycles later, but maybe not.... If you increase, I'd try to find a dose between 0.35 and 0.5, which will be tricky. Sometimes people give a skinny dose (0.5 minus a drop or two) by pulling up a dose and letting out a drop or two before shooting. Or a fat dose - pulling up a little more than 0.35 and letting that a drop or two until it is just a little more than 0.35. Very imprecise method and a big reason people use U100 needles where they can dose 0.1, 0.2, o.4, with the conversion chart.

You can leave out wet food for her to snack on. Some people freeze it and put it out. The cat eats it slowly as it thaws. Have to say, this method did not work for my cat. He dragged the wet frozen food all over the rugs, dropping small pieces of it everywhere. But lots of people use it with success. An automatic pet feeder also works well.
 
Okay, will try to stall her dose a bit, not this evening considering that she will be high in # as from what I can see now.
Yes I will give her 0.5 minus a two drops, and later on next week as my vet is studying the U100 syringes converter I send her, I will use the U100 syringes. She told me to get back to me ASAP with the info about them.

Well the problem is my other cat, he doesn't eat the raw food, so I give him normal supermarket wet food and in the afternoon they both can have some dry food if they like, but it's in a timerbowl so if i'm not home they can eat the amount that is in the timerbowl. If I change the dry food to raw food, it is going to be a problem because Minnie doesn't eat that much, and Baco if her raw food is finished (or not even finished) and she gets the opportunity to eat the wet food from Minnie, SHE WILL ! haha. My guess is that the dry food is lower in carbs than the wet food (Felix) @Nederland please correct me on that if i'm wrong about Felix being higher in carbs than porta21?
 
A dose increase might work but 0.5 gave you a green she bounced from on 4/28
btw @Sue and Oliver (GA) she bounced big time because that was the day she hardly ate her raw food because she didn't liked the flavor. Isn't it better to try the dose of 0.5 for today, and tomorrow? because now I'm free untill monday, so I can test it out again? or stick with the pull up till 0.5 and let a few drops out? what do you think?
 
Right? So maybe 0.50 is her correct dosis but we didn't figure this out earlier because of the bouncing.. Hope to hear from you all so I know what I should do at her PM shot.
+7 now she is really going up again in her #.
 
In the end, you hold the syringe Ruby. The thing is, do you want to stay up all night to test? Because the 0.5 makes me a bit nervous, so if I gave it, I'd have to stay up and get tests and be ready to steer with food if needed.
 
Well that's true ofcourse.. so you suggest also a little les than 0.50 but a little more than 0.35?
 
btw @Sue and Oliver (GA) she bounced big time because that was the day she hardly ate her raw food because she didn't liked the flavor. Isn't it better to try the dose of 0.5 for today, and tomorrow? because now I'm free untill monday, so I can test it out again? or stick with the pull up till 0.5 and let a few drops out? what do you think?

I had forgotten the food factor that cycle. Yes, it would be best to try the higher dose when you will be around. You hold the syringe as Rachel says, and you know what to do if she drops low.
 
Well now i'm in doubt here, hahaha!!:woot:
Maybe it is best to give her less than 0.50 (just a few drops less) at the PM shot, and tomorrow I can try 0.50 during the day because then I can watch her closely... Is that something that you would suggest?
 
Hello again,
Baco is bouncing for a couple of days I guess and I decided to (starting from wednesday evening so I can monitor her until sunday) to give her an all raw diet instead of the dry food she is still getting a little amount 2 times a day. She is going up in # when she eats them. I talke to my vet today and she just emailed me and suggest to me that I give her 0.35 again because of the slow working process of prozinc.. she wants me to get baco steady at 0.35 with also only raw food.
What do you think? 0.35 now? or 0.50? i haven't given her shot just yet but I have to do that in 30 minutes.. Please let me know what you think.. I think 0.35 is good because of her starting an all raw diet this wednesday and then 0.50 will be too high I think?
 
Last edited:
What do you think? 0.35 now? or 0.50? i haven't given her shot just yet but I have to do that in 30 minutes.. Please let me know what you think.. I think 0.35 is good because of her starting an all raw diet dthis wednesday and then 0.50 will be too high I think?
Well, I think she's still bouncing from the night of the 28th. So you can certainly try the 0.35 - and especially if you're switching to all raw I think that's prudent. (As you can always increase a little later if she doesn't drop enough for you after a few cycles ...)
I also noticed that she dropped pretty early at +3 (more than 100 pts.) yesterday from AMPS of 347 - so this little reduction might also help her to not drop quite as quickly ... So yes, this little redux is worth a shot. (Sorry, that's a terrible pun, isn't it?:rolleyes::woot:)
 
Hi Ruby, I am inclined to say that I would try the .35 since you have switched to the all raw diet. Oh good, Robin just weighed in and says the same thing.
 
Thanks Robin, I think 0.50 is also a little to high, what we also discovered earlier last week. So i'm going to switch to 0.35 then. Maybe she will be a little high in # for 2 days, because I'm switching to raw food on wednesday evening but that's just that...

@Bobbie And Bubba thank you for the comment! I'm confident that an all raw diet and 0.35 will help Baco lose the weight and will 'lose' the high #
 
She might be a little high for a day or 2, but it won't hurt. As Robin said, the redux is a good idea anyway since she dropped so quickly...slowing the drop will help to reduce incidents of bouncing hopefully!
 
Just saw you post Rachel, didn't get an alert (weird)!
Well I've reduced her dose, I'm curious to see how this all raw dieet and her dose is going to work for her :)
 
hello, I think Baco went hypo on me today. I wasn't home but her amps was lower than usual (302) and now she is at 443 at +11. what do you think?
 
It is really hard to know for sure since there were no test in between but, she did drop to 59 on 4/28. With the reading of 443 at +11, it is certainly possible that she did drop significantly lower. . Keep in mind that they can bounce from a lower number than they are used to. It does not have to be a hypo number. Will you be able to get some test during the PM cycle tonight which might help give some more information?
 
I will test her tonight at +2 and +4 (maybe +6) so i can test her. But's she's even higher now in # at PMPS.. 448! She wasn't this high in 2 weeks so it's frustrating to not know why she's getting those #.
 
Bounces are frustrating for sure. And it could also be that the .35 reduction because of switching to a raw diet isn't doing the job. Let's see what the others think.
 
She's going down in #.
448 pmps to +2 299 so i think that's a good sign don't you think? Or is she going to quick?
 
Last edited:
That's correct, she ate the raw food tonight (just like every other night)
Shouldn't i wait to test her at +3? And if she goes even lower (quick) then give her a lc snack?
 
Is the +1 229 or 299? The SS says 299 and your post said 229. If 299 is correct then it's still a nice drop and I would be inclined to give a LC snack now to slow her down and bit and test at +3 and see if she is still dropping.
 
That's not as bad then but still a 148 point drop. Just want to make sure she doesn't go down really fast so hopefully she won't bounce some more. When they go down too low and /or too fast bouncing can occur.
 
Okay, well after her second shot today it was like this:
pmps 448
+2 299
+4 277

So i'm going to bed now but will test her at +6 (what should be around her nadir?) i can't pin point her nadir quit yet because she bounced a lot. But she may only drop till 224 max? In this cycle?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top