Back-to-back reductions??? 40 on AT2 at +4.5, with reduction last night

Megan and Bernie

Member Since 2020
Past thread

Hey y’all! The last few cycles, Bernie has been nadiring at lower and lower numbers. A few days ago, I considered reducing her because she in the 70s at +4 AFTER I had given her a boatload of HC food (she dropped much faster than normal at her +3 and I was going to be unable to test from +4 to +6, so I wanted to ward off a hypo (based on how fast she was dropping), so I loaded by baby up. It worked and she surfed perfected, but normally ~5 pieces of her sister’s HC kibble does the trick and it took 40 pieces of kibble to stop her drop. ANYWHO, I kicked myself for not checking her on the AT because for some reason, around the 60-70 on my ReliOn, my AT runs lower, and I wished I had gotten the “cat” value. I wondered if I hadn’t intervened if she would’ve earned a reduction, but I held off, assuming if she truly needed a reduction she’d let me know.

And she did. Last night, her PMPS was 60 on the ReliOn and 64 on the AT2. I went with the history of dropping nadirs despite eating more food and the AT2 reading <68 and reduced her. She was in the blues this morning :bighug: and now she’s at 56 (ReliOn) at +4.5 and 40 on the AT2. :eek: FORTY! With 1-2 hours to go until her nadir. I fed her a ton of her normal food (zero carb TikiCat), but she normally wouldn’t have eaten for another hour. I’ll continued monitoring her until her nadir (she’s acting fine), but my question is: can I do back-to-back reductions???

ETA: Her SS has two different sheets. Sheet 1 is the ReliOn, Sheet 2 is the AT2.
 
Went ahead with the full dose. Looks like she bounced (surprise, surprise ;)) so we went into this cycle a little high, but we shall see where the night takes us :cat:
 
Steady as she goes. Sometimes, flat yellows indicate the bounce is breaking.
Oo that’s good news! I was surprised she bounced this morning. I mean she loves to bounce haha! But she didn’t drop too far (that I caught). Must’ve gone lower in the wee hours of the morning. Today is going good though! Thanks for checking in :):)
 
Go Bernie! Go to a lower dose and keep earning reductions.
Bernie's numbers this past month have been not-so-great, but I'm fairly certain her ProZinc had gone bad. Her civvie brother threw a temper tantrum when I didn't feed him his seventeenth meal of the day and UNPLUGGED the mini fridge I had been keeping her ProZinc in! He's lucky he's cute ;) I'd been contemplating switching to Lantus for a while and finally made the jump today, so I'll be moving to the other forum, but I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate all your help! Thank you, thank you, thank you :bighug:
 
You're welcome.
Prozinc can be ok for several hours, unrefrigerated. So it may still be good.

Lantus is a very good insulin too. I used it for Wink and got him OTJ.

Hopefully, you read all the "Sticky" or pinned posts at the top of the Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir ISG. Tons, I mean tons of information there.
Depot insulins usually give more gentle curves, like a smile.
Good luck to Bernie on lantus!
 
You're welcome.
Prozinc can be ok for several hours, unrefrigerated. So it may still be good.

Lantus is a very good insulin too. I used it for Wink and got him OTJ.

Hopefully, you read all the "Sticky" or pinned posts at the top of the Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir ISG. Tons, I mean tons of information there.
Depot insulins usually give more gentle curves, like a smile.
Good luck to Bernie on lantus!
Thank you! And yes, there’s so much info! I printed it all out and am working my way through it all! :)
 
Back
Top