mikasmom
Member Since 2010
Hi,
I am hoping to get some advice on dosage for Mika. She has been OTJ since last summer, but we had to start feeding her dry food because we tried everything else and that was the only option. What happened was in the fall she had some freaky neurologic problem-she was jumping up like never before, wouldn't sit still for more than a couple seconds, meowing frantically-wanting to run away. This is a completely docile cat. As a last hope they gave her some AB's and she actually went back to normal but would NOT touch wet food of any kind. It was as if she associated wet food with her problem. She would actually run away when she saw me with a plate of food. So we were really faced with giving her dry food or nothing else. She has been on EVO and sure enough her BG's are up in the 300's. It is a dilema because I know that having her on dry food is the worst thing for her diabetes. I have been giving her 1 container of FF Appetizers (tuna, chicken or salmon) in the morning and 1 in the evening before her shot so she is eating 6 oz. of wet per day, but free feeding EVO. She is also struggling with being very skinny and having her adrenal gland removed from Cushings over a year ago.
So here are my questions:
1. Can she ever be regulated on EVO dry?
2. How do I figure out her dosage with her free-feeding?
3. Is Lantus the best insulin for her?
As of this evening I decreased her dose from 2 units 2x a day to 1 unit because I started her on 0.5 but then increased her to 2 units and I think I went to fast :sad: I probably should've had her on a lower dose for longer, but I was over eager and increased her every week. I am thinking now if there is an adjustment period for even starting the insulin...
I am so confused and frustrated because her numbers are all over the place. We've had quite a load the last few months with me and my husband each having surgeries, our other cat having 2 surgeries and our one dog having spinal issues. I am really just hoping for some guidance from those who know more than me :smile:
Thanks so much!
Tammy
I am hoping to get some advice on dosage for Mika. She has been OTJ since last summer, but we had to start feeding her dry food because we tried everything else and that was the only option. What happened was in the fall she had some freaky neurologic problem-she was jumping up like never before, wouldn't sit still for more than a couple seconds, meowing frantically-wanting to run away. This is a completely docile cat. As a last hope they gave her some AB's and she actually went back to normal but would NOT touch wet food of any kind. It was as if she associated wet food with her problem. She would actually run away when she saw me with a plate of food. So we were really faced with giving her dry food or nothing else. She has been on EVO and sure enough her BG's are up in the 300's. It is a dilema because I know that having her on dry food is the worst thing for her diabetes. I have been giving her 1 container of FF Appetizers (tuna, chicken or salmon) in the morning and 1 in the evening before her shot so she is eating 6 oz. of wet per day, but free feeding EVO. She is also struggling with being very skinny and having her adrenal gland removed from Cushings over a year ago.
So here are my questions:
1. Can she ever be regulated on EVO dry?
2. How do I figure out her dosage with her free-feeding?
3. Is Lantus the best insulin for her?
As of this evening I decreased her dose from 2 units 2x a day to 1 unit because I started her on 0.5 but then increased her to 2 units and I think I went to fast :sad: I probably should've had her on a lower dose for longer, but I was over eager and increased her every week. I am thinking now if there is an adjustment period for even starting the insulin...
I am so confused and frustrated because her numbers are all over the place. We've had quite a load the last few months with me and my husband each having surgeries, our other cat having 2 surgeries and our one dog having spinal issues. I am really just hoping for some guidance from those who know more than me :smile:
Thanks so much!
Tammy