Back again- now with Cheededoodle

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
Hi All,
I was previously on the FDMB with Mikey about 3 years ago. I was also here with Tidus for a short time. My user name was miso00. I don't remember what happened to the forum but there was a glitch or something and I never updated my account (I think I was supposed to or change something) and can not open any messages in my previous user name so I procrastinated long enough trying to figure out how to fix my old log and figured it's easier to just start a new one. I hope that is ok.

I was about to start an SS from the info I had been sent when I was first here with Mikey but was not sure it's the same format so I will get to that ASAP. I assume there is a link somewhere? If anyone has it handy and could post it here that would be great.

I had Cheededoodle (Doodle) on one of the other boards but their protocol is just too confusing for me to follow. I know at first Mikey was a challenge for me here on the FDMB, but I was also brand new to feline diabetes and had no clue what anything meant.

So now about "Doodle". He was at the FL Humane Society for 5 years (I volunteer there when I am in FL and when I lived there). Last year he was diagnosed with diabetes. They were only giving him Lantus once a day and he was up to almost 4 units. I flew him with me up to NY this past February. I changed his food to Tiki Cat puka puka and had him on just 1u. His BG's barely get to 300. He hovers in the higher 200's but was getting some 70, 50, 90 and then those stopped and he went back up into the high 200's. I currently have him on 3.5u of lantus, twice a day and am seeing some better BG's in the low 200's and 100's. Oh and Doodle is very special because he is also FIV+ :smile:
 
Familiar names are nice to see! Helping another sugar kitty. I think I will be doing this for the rest of my life. Mikey is still in remission and well, poor Tidus was not with me long enough :sad: Thanks for the link. I have to leave now to go to an adoption event but will get the SS done either tonight or tomorrow.
 
Welcome back Jenn AND welcome to you bootiful Doodle! Sienne's given you the ssheet link so I won't repeat. :-D

HUGS!!! Glad you're dancin' with even another 'extra sweet' baby....
 
I'm too new to know you from your previous time here. I just wanted to say how admirable it is for you to help another precious sugar kitty. :YMHUG:

Shelly
 
I created his SS. It will probably be difficult to understand since I was not following a protocol that used the SS so I only did the past 2 days. He has been on 3.5u since 8/28. I did not give him insulin tonight because his "PMPS" was 115. Should I have shot? I think in the past I would have with Mikey just want to make sure protocol is still the same with TR now.

I am a late shooter, 11am/11pm eastern time. I'm hoping to be able to use those times as they seemed to help me with Mikey. They are times I can manage to be home pretty much every day.
 
Yes, you shot much lower numbers than that with mikey, if I recall correctly. It's great to see you again.

I'm sorry to hear you lost Tidus. You have a big heart.

I haven't looked at his ssbut will tomorrow,
 
Jenn --

Wasn't Tidus adopted out? If I recall, you were fostering -- or am I making that up?

Doodle's numbers look great so far! Many of us will shoot pretty much anything above 50. A great deal depends on your comfort level when it comes to shooting lower numbers. The protocol hasn't changed, in that regard. You might have considered stalling for 20 - 30 min. to see if numbers were pretty much staying the same or rising. I don't know if we had the sticky on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers when you were here before. Either way, it may be a useful read.

If you are changing shot times, given that you skipped last night, you can move the AM shot time to 11:00 without a problem.
 
There was a possibility of Tidus getting adopted but I was hesitant to fly him anywhere. My intuition is not usually right but this time it was. A short time after I had thought a flight would not be wise, we took him for a car ride to Boston (A 3.5 hour trip) We only got 20 minutes away and he started going into some type of breathing attack. We promptly turned around to my vets office and they spent 2 hours trying to get his heavy breathing controlled. They could not, we took him to the Specialty Center and it was determined it was not something that could be cured so we had to let him go. Apparently the car ride stressed him out too much (even though we had taken him in the car so many times before). That was July 2013. Can't believe how long it's been without him.

I haven't shot below 150 so I need to get used to shooting a 50 or above. Doodle threw me for a loop this morning with a 51. Looking back, I should have retested. I waited until 11am when I was planning to give him insulin and he was 261. I wasn't going to be home for 10+ hours and I was a little nervous to shoot if that 51 was correct so I didn't give him insulin until 10pm tonight. He was 238, shot 3.5u. He has got in the 50's only a few times before and has got under 100 only a handful of times.

This week I should be able to maintain a good schedule with him.

Thanks for the sticky on Shooting & Handling low Numbers. I'm not sure if it's new but definitely worth reading more than once!
 
Welcome back, Jenn! Glad to see you here and glad Mikey is doing well. I'm so very sorry to hear about Tidus.

I'm glad you came back to LL. I've checked out the other two feline diabetes sites and their dosing and protocols seem a little dangerous to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top