Aug 17 - Monkey - AMPS 268, +5 121, PMPS 58??! Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel & Monkey

Member Since 2017
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/aug-16-monkey-amps-304-bounce-again.182348/

Not sure what happened but she just tested at 58 for her PMPS, she was doing good around +5 at 121 where I didn't expect it to keep going lower all the way until now... I'm skipping her shot because I've never shot even close to that low (only at or above 100) and I've never seen her have a PMPS like this except on her very first day of getting insulin (July 10).


Advice please?
 
Hi Mel!
Did you by chance to another test immediately after to make sure it wasn't a wonky strip? If not, I think TR protocol says to shoot full dose as long as you have plenty of test strips and higher carb foods, just in case. Since it was your first time getting such a low PS, I think it's ok that you skipped; however, I am not following TR:oops:. I would still try to get a test or two tonight to see how she's doing with just the depot :). jluiuih Oops, my boy says HI with his paw :cat:
 
There were several options you could have done, skipping the dose was one of them. Take a look at the Sticky Note on TR: Shooting and Handling Low Numbers. Another option would have been to wait 20-30 minutes, without feeding, to see if Monkey came up to a number you felt comfortable shooting. Experienced members will shooting anything above 50 but we don't expect you to do that when you are new. A partial dose is another option.

For now, you might still want to get a test an hour after dinner, to make sure she's on her way up. And go ahead and put Skip or NS (no shot) in the units column of the spreadsheet so we know it was a deliberate miss instead of just forgetting to put in the entry.
 
I got a +1 after dinner just now and she's at 103. Still getting used to shooting low because when she drops to 50-60 she bounces
 
We have a saying here: "Shoot low to stay low". It doesn't work with every cat, but the majority of the time, it does. The longer the cat spends in green numbers, the more their body gets used to them and the less likely they are to bounce. It can be very scary at first, but work your way up to shooting lower and lower. There will usually be someone here that can stick with you and help you through it the first time or two.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top