Attn: Jill Friday 10/26 AMPS 132 +1 125+ 10 89 PMPS 95

Kylee and Her Mom Renee'

Member Since 2018
1024: Today was the first day giving her .25 of the Lantus. Fed and shot .25 as recommended.
Lost internet last night, so posting the two days together.
10/25: AMPS 101. Will check + 1 to see if food influenced and to get back to the cycle or schedule. Her shot is due at this time. Shoot .25 was recommended to keep her more flat. Does this still sound good?
 
Last edited:
If it's 30 minutes since you tested, and she hasn't eaten, I would test again. If she's the same or rising, go ahead and shoot if you will be able to monitor her today.
 
Kylee looks a lot like my Guy kitty I lost on 8/8/18. I will be watching out to see how she is doing. The people you are talking to know a lot more than I do, but I have never given that small a dose.
 
No, it's fine. I thought you had a reason for not wanting to shoot. But if you are following TR, please add that to your signature and update the dose you are giving. :)
I am nervous, but I am shooting her .25. Her PMPS was 67 She has food downstairs and up. She played and seemed to feel pretty good. Especially tonight.
Any help would be great.
 
Renee, let's try a little experiment.
  • "IF" Rylee's BG number is less than 100 tomorrow morning at shot time, skip her shot and feed her meal.
  • Withhold food during the next 3 - 4 hours.
  • Test her BG 3 - 4 later.
Post her numbers. I'm curious to see if her BG numbers remain low or shoot up after eating.

Sound good? Any questions?
 
Renee, let's try a little experiment.
  • "IF" Rylee's BG number is less than 100 tomorrow morning at shot time, skip her shot and feed her meal.
  • Withhold food during the next 3 - 4 hours.
  • Test her BG 3 - 4 later.
Post her numbers. I'm curious to see if her BG numbers remain low or shoot up after eating.

Sound good? Any questions?
Sounds good. What if she is 100 or more?
 
01unit-1.jpg


025unit-1.jpg
 
Thank you so much for helping me.
AMPS 132 Fed and .1 shot It was like a drop. I had prepared for times like this with just water or a small amount of insulin to see that it was a drop. Then I knew how much was coming out.
+3 125 Fed her. Now she is grooming.
She is acting like her self. More social and getting back to a routine today.
I even got more sleep. I felt you gave me hope and I could relax. :cat:
 
Thank you so much for helping me.
You're welcome!
AMPS 132 Fed and .1 shot It was like a drop. I had prepared for times like this with just water or a small amount of insulin to see that it was a drop. Then I knew how much was coming out.
+3 125 Fed her. Now she is grooming.
I'm glad you were prepared to give the 0.1u dose.
She is acting like her self. More social and getting back to a routine today.
Good news!
I even got more sleep. I felt you gave me hope and I could relax. :cat:
I'm glad you were able to get some sleep. It's important for you to take care of yourself especially with your health issues.

Spreadsheet woes:
I'm having trouble viewing your spreadsheet via the link in your signature. The link appears to be broken. Please fix it as soon as you get a chance because the first thing we do before making suggestions or offering advice is to check kitty's spreadsheet. I was able to find the link in my laptop's "History". Here it is for anyone who wants to view before Renee is able to fix it:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...VX9EGL7EWWptQrd4pNu2rTj1ULzExtE-WFs6p/pubhtml

Another test this cycle:
Renee, I'm not exactly sure how many hours it's been since Rylee's shot. If we haven't passed +10 yet, please test her at +10. That way we can see where her PMPS number is coming from at shot time.

Question:
Are you the one whose husband feeds kitty a couple hours before you test, feed, and shoot in the morning or am I confusing you with someone else? I'm trying to figure out if there might be a reason for the little bit higher numbers at the morning shot time.

Thread info:
Let's continue with this thread since we've already started today, but in this group we try to stick to one thread per day per cat. Tomorrow morning and every morning you'll want to start a new thread with Rylee's AM test number and information. It just makes it easier for everyone offering advice. :)

Dosing:
How about continuing this experiment for a couple of days? I'd like to see how it works out for Rylee for two major reasons:
  • she seems to be sensitive to small doses of insulin
  • I worry about her not being monitored closely at night if need be
I'd like to see you continue with this same dosing method as you used this morning for a bit longer:
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 150 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 100 - 149
  • skip shot if BG is less than 100
It's a rather unorthodox dosing method using Lantus, but since safety comes first around here, I'm trying to find a method that works while keeping Rylee safe.

Disclaimer:
Those following Rylee and Renee's journey: Please do not copy this method. It's a customized plan... an experiment because of the reasons mentioned previously. We don't even know if it'll work for her yet, but given these unique circumstances, our goal is to find a way to keep her safe while treating her diabetes.


So, Renee, what do you think? Sound like a plan?
Any questions? :)
 
Last edited:
You're welcome!

I'm glad you were prepared to give the 0.1u dose.

Good news!

I'm glad you were able to get some sleep. It's important for you to take care of yourself especially with your health issues.

Spreadsheet woes:
I'm having trouble viewing your spreadsheet via the link in your signature. The link appears to be broken. Please fix it as soon as you get a chance because the first thing we do before making suggestions or offering advice is to check kitty's spreadsheet. I was able to find the link in my laptop's "History". Here it is for anyone who wants to view before Renee is able to fix it:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...VX9EGL7EWWptQrd4pNu2rTj1ULzExtE-WFs6p/pubhtml

Another test this cycle:
Renee, I'm not exactly sure how many hours it's been since Rylee's shot. If we haven't passed +10 yet, please test her at +10. That way we can see where her PMPS number is coming from at shot time.

Question:
Are you the one whose husband feeds kitty a couple hours before you test, feed, and shoot in the morning or am I confusing you with someone else? I'm trying to figure out if there might be a reason for the little bit higher numbers at the morning shot time.

Thread info:
Let's continue with this thread since we've already started today, but in this group we try to stick to one thread per day per cat. Tomorrow morning and every morning you'll want to start a new thread with Rylee's AM test number and information. It just makes it easier for everyone offering advice. :)

Dosing:
How about continuing this experiment for a couple of days? I'd like to see how it works out for Rylee for two major reasons:
  • she seems to be sensitive to small doses of insulin
  • I worry about her not being monitored closely at night if need be
I'd like to see you continue with this same dosing method as you used this morning for a bit longer:
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 150 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 100 - 149
  • skip shot if BG is less than 100
It's a rather unorthodox dosing method using Lantus, but since safety comes first around here, I'm trying to find a method that works while keeping Rylee safe.

Disclaimer:
Those following Rylee and Renee's journey: Please do not copy this method. It's a customized plan... an experiment because of the reasons mentioned previously. We don't even know if it'll work for her yet, but given these unique circumstances, our goal is to find a way to keep her safe while treating her diabetes.


So, Renee, what do you think? Sound like a plan?
Any questions? :)
Love Kylee's new nickname Rylee. Ha ha.
Yes, thank you for keeping an eye on us. You are right. Hubby was giving her dry food in the morning because she would cry. I asked him not to do this as it influences her BG. I talk with him every night about her numbers and why it is is important for me to do what I am doing to keep he alive. He doesn't really get why I have to poke her so much in spite of me telling him over and over. You all are teaching me and I am teaching him. And probably my vet too.

Yes, this is a great plan.
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 150 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 100 - 149
  • skip shot if BG is less than 100
Just to be clear I will continue to feed her the FF Classic. She is completely off the dry. She loves the Pure Bites treats.
I worry about her at night too. Yes, I do have a lot of health issues. But Kylee is my priority.
Yes, let's continue with this plan until you tell me differently. She seems to be doing better on this.
I do have one question. I feel confident in giving the .1 unit. Is there an easy way to get it in the syringe? When I tested with an old syringe and used water, it looked like a drop came out. It that right?
Thanks again.
 
Oh my! You're gonna laugh. Before I started typing I was talking to my niece and her name is Rylee!!! Please apologize to Kylee for me! :oops:
Hubby was giving her dry food in the morning because she would cry. I asked him not to do this as it influences her BG.
Ah, ok. I vaguely remembered something about feeding earlier than her usual test, feed, and shoot at shot time. If he stops it altogether, I do think it will help.
Yes, this is a great plan.
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 150 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 100 - 149
  • skip shot if BG is less than 100
Ok. Let's see how this goes for a few days. It may work out well for you or we may have to meet back at the drawing board.
Just to be clear I will continue to feed her the FF Classic. She is completely off the dry. She loves the Pure Bites treats.
Fantastic!!!
I do have one question. I feel confident in giving the .1 unit. Is there an easy way to get it in the syringe? When I tested with an old syringe and used water, it looked like a drop came out. It that right?
I wish there was an easy way to measure 0.1u, but all you can do is your best. My 0.1u and your 0.1u probably aren't exactly the same. That's ok. All you want to do is be as consistent as humanly possible when measuring the dose. Basically, all we're doing is giving that little bit of insulin a name we can recognize what's happening on the spreadsheet... giving an amount less than 0.25u of insulin. Make sense?


Now how about a +10? Have we passed +10 yet?
 
Just poked at +10 89 I was looking all over for her. Upstairs and down, window sills etc. I finally found her pooping. Oh my!!!! Glad she was ok, ha ha in more ways than one!!
Going to fix the post numbers. SS is all set.
 
I was going to ask you while you are still online what is the plan for tonights dosing? same as AM?
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 150 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 100 - 149
  • skip shot if BG is less than 100
 
You're getting some of the best guidance so I am not going to interfere with that .... but I wanted to say I've been reading your condos every day since the hypo scare and Renee... you're doing fantastic!!!! This whole dance is so scary and new and I think you are doing a great job with Kylee. Keep on truckin' :bighug:
 
You're getting some of the best guidance so I am not going to interfere with that .... but I wanted to say I've been reading your condos every day since the hypo scare and Renee... you're doing fantastic!!!! This whole dance is so scary and new and I think you are doing a great job with Kylee. Keep on truckin' :bighug:
Thank you so much. It has been quite a ride and I will keep on tuckin'. I have such fastic help. I need you all.
 
Just poked at +10 89 I was looking all over for her. Upstairs and down, window sills etc. I finally found her pooping.
Oh my goodness! Isn't it a relief when you find them?
I was going to ask you while you are still online what is the plan for tonights dosing? same as AM?
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 150 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 100 - 149
  • skip shot if BG is less than 100
No. I'd prefer to adjust this a little bit. Sorry Chris.

Tonight and tomorrow morning shoot
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 175 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 125 - 174
  • skip shot if BG is less than 125
Please post the PMPS number tonight BEFORE you shoot in case she surprises us with something new.


Edited to add:
@Chris & China
I want to change/lower the scale because even though we may be seeing a little residual action from the depot, this morning's shot was at +36. IMHO, the depot had to be affected negatively.
 
Oh my goodness! Isn't it a relief when you find them?

No. I'd prefer to adjust this a little bit. Sorry Chris.

Tonight and tomorrow morning shoot
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 175 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 125 - 174
  • skip shot if BG is less than 125
Please post the PMPS number tonight BEFORE you shoot in case she surprises us with something new.
Yes, I will. We will know in an hour.
 
PMPS 95. Nice! If you're up in another few hours or if you get up during the night, grab a test if only to see if her numbers are going up, down, or staying about the same.

Tomorrow morning, I'd stick with the same scale:
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 175 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 125 - 174
  • skip shot if BG is less than 125
Hope you get some good sleep tonight!
 
No shot.PMSP 95 She is having her dinner. She was a hungry girl. I am going to rest. I think I am coming down with a cold. No wander with all this going on. Testing in the morning. Have a good night everyone.
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 175 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 125 - 174
  • skip shot if BG is less than 125
 
Back
Top