8catsplus2
Member
Please see last night's post I don't know who to link it to this one.. With the way her #s were and what they are now should I shot or not
Please help
Thanks
Please help
Thanks
I agree with Mogs' advice.
If following the SLGS protocol then there should be a reduction if the BG drops below 90. It's only a matter of 'how much' that reduction should be. But it should be at least 0.25 of a unit.
...Did the numbers just dip below 90 without any intervention needed to bring/keep the numbers back up? Or was it necessary to intervene with syrup or higher carb food?
Please see last night's post I don't know who to link it to this one..
Thanks for the info..I was tagged on last night's post, but already asleep by then. Good job keeping Lucy safe last night.
First, make sure you've read the New to the Group, Prozinc Basics Sticky Note on the top of the Prozinc Forum. You don't have to memorize it all at once, just know it's a good place to start when you have questions or wonder about terminology, acronyms. etc. Soon enough it'll become second nature to you.
A slight correction to some of the numbers you were given last night:
HC - High carb canned food (usually 16 - 24% carbs, depending on the cat)
LC - low carb aka reg canned or raw food (usually 10% carbs or less, depending on the carb sensitivity of the cat)
MC – Medium carb food (usually 11 - 15% carbs, depending on the carb sensitivity of the cat)
That will be a big factor. You have to look after yourself as well.had 2 hours sleep in the last 36 hours
About 30 mins ago she tested 198That will be a big factor. You have to look after yourself as well.
Let's see what the numbers are and let the experienced members weigh in.
I tested her about 30 minutes ago she was 198. Should I just give her one unitI was tagged on last night's post, but already asleep by then. Good job keeping Lucy safe last night.
First, make sure you've read the New to the Group, Prozinc Basics Sticky Note on the top of the Prozinc Forum. You don't have to memorize it all at once, just know it's a good place to start when you have questions or wonder about terminology, acronyms. etc. Soon enough it'll become second nature to you.
A slight correction to some of the numbers you were given last night:
HC - High carb canned food (usually 16 - 24% carbs, depending on the cat)
LC - low carb aka reg canned or raw food (usually 10% carbs or less, depending on the carb sensitivity of the cat)
MC – Medium carb food (usually 11 - 15% carbs, depending on the carb sensitivity of the cat)
She already ateTake another test. Let's see if she is still heading up.
I never used Prozinc.
Tagging @Panic who did.
Your health is important. You need sleep.
From the Prozinc dosing stickie (start low, go slow): emphasis mine
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.If it were me and I was running on fumes, I'd do with (a) or (b).
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
- a.) give nothing
- b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
- c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
- In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
- Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
All those # don't make sense to me. On part that talked about when to make changesTake another test. Let's see if she is still heading up.
I never used Prozinc.
Tagging @Panic who did.
Your health is important. You need sleep.
From the Prozinc dosing stickie (start low, go slow): emphasis mine
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.If it were me and I was running on fumes, I'd do with (a) or (b).
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
- a.) give nothing
- b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
- c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
- In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
- Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
198 is basically 200. I think she'd do fine on 1u if you were going to be up to monitor. If you're ready to crash, try a token dose tonight (.10 to 0.25u).
What's the reason for the dose jumping every day?
I gave her 1 U and just tested at the +2 she was 210A token dose means giving a small percentage of the regular dose, 10-25%. So for 1u, that would be .10 to 0.25 u. I personally think she'll be alright on 1u. She looks like she's been heading up for a while now. Your call! Just get a +2 if you can.
I gave her 1 U and just tested at the +2 she was 210
She gets a snack between 12 and 1 so I will do it thengreat! get one more test before bed.![]()
Ok I thought someone told me to make a new one for today.. not sure how to link the two to the new onealso, there are 2 separate threads on which members are replying to you. not sure if some of them are aware that there are 2 threads running simultaneously! potential for a lot of confusion with all the to and fro between threads.
tomorrow, just start another thread with links to these two so that going forward you have only one thread that is active. less work and less confusion!
Ok I thought someone told me to make a new one for today.. not sure how to link the two to the new one
Yes it makes sense on why .. just not how to link it but I will try in the am.. yes I am very sleepywe make a new one every day and link the previous day's thread to the current one so that members can easily scan previous threads for dosing history etc.
having a new thread every day ensures that the thread doesn't get too long to read and only the latest information is available!
when we talk about linking, it only means that you start the body of the current thread with a link/URL of the previous thread.
am i making sense? sorry, i know you must be really sleep deprived!
Yes it makes sense on why .. just not how to link it but I will try in the am.. yes I am very sleepy
Thanks I'm not tech savvyLet me make it easier for you this one time
Start your post tomorrow with the below text/link:
"Previous Thread - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/asking-before-shooting-amps.233930/"
Thanks..When you want to link the previous days post to your new one , find your previous days post that you did, now I'm working on a tablet
Go all the way up to the top of the page , right above the pic of the cat
Where it says https://www.feline diabetes.com/FDMB/threads that is where your previous thread is
Tap on that hit copy, then go to the new thread you want to start
and press your finger down, that's if you are working on a tablet and he word paste will appear
Put that where you would start to write , so it will be the previous thread first and then write whatever you plan to write
You are Welcome yeah I see you linked yesterday's to todayThanks..