ASHFUR
Member Since 2021
So I upped his dose (6/12 PMdose) and Monday 6/14 night he finally broke his "bounce" and the climb down he had was faster than I have ever experienced with him. Nothing would slow it except HC (27%)food and a lot of it (2 cans total all night). I had to feed it to him throughout the night because I panicked and was trying to avoid a low. I'm not used to a drop that sudden and that fast. Usually his normal LC food slows it down to some degree.
So was that what I was supposed to do? I then lowered his dose thinking if I didn't intervene with the HC food he would have certainly went way way low. And I can't always be home to help a fall like that because of my work schedule. BUT then I re-read the sticky about reductions and he didn't fall too low and I got to thinking that maybe that is what other people do? feed low carb on the bounce days and then on the days they actually fall they feed MC & HC to help the fall down be less brutal? OR does needing to feed HC food indicate the dose is too strong?
Or is sugar use the only indication of a dose being too strong? and at what point do you NOT intervein and allow a dose to take it's natural course (so you know if they are earning a reduction or not). VERY difficult for me to do because he has that freestyle libre on so I always know where His BG is at and I'm constantly checking on him to avoid any SCARY numbers.
I'm literally so new to seeing any numbers under 100 so I really could use all this information now. Because whether or not this scares the CRAP out of me ( IT SO DOES) - it's happening - and I WILL GET THIS DOWN.
last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2802803/
So was that what I was supposed to do? I then lowered his dose thinking if I didn't intervene with the HC food he would have certainly went way way low. And I can't always be home to help a fall like that because of my work schedule. BUT then I re-read the sticky about reductions and he didn't fall too low and I got to thinking that maybe that is what other people do? feed low carb on the bounce days and then on the days they actually fall they feed MC & HC to help the fall down be less brutal? OR does needing to feed HC food indicate the dose is too strong?
Or is sugar use the only indication of a dose being too strong? and at what point do you NOT intervein and allow a dose to take it's natural course (so you know if they are earning a reduction or not). VERY difficult for me to do because he has that freestyle libre on so I always know where His BG is at and I'm constantly checking on him to avoid any SCARY numbers.
I'm literally so new to seeing any numbers under 100 so I really could use all this information now. Because whether or not this scares the CRAP out of me ( IT SO DOES) - it's happening - and I WILL GET THIS DOWN.
last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2802803/
Last edited:
With SLGS a reduction was earned because he fell under 90. Any time there a drop under 90 you reduce. He will continue on this dose for 7 days unless another reduction is earned. Try and remember that normal bg numbers are 50-100 whenever you see numbers in that range so you don’t panic. Cats that are not diabetic and those who have gone into remission often test in the 50’s. Those who follow TR shoot 50 and over once they have data.