Asher week of May 31st

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi kids ~O)
Hope everyone had a good holiday weekend :)
We are still plugging along here. I raised Asher to 2.9 today since we will be around to test mid day. Not that I think he'll go low but just to know what's going on. He has had 300s today and yesterday for his amps ( just barely but they are 300s) so I think he's bored with 2.8. Anybody think I shoulda just gone right to 3 u?
Spreadsheet is finally current (I didn't turn on my computer this weekend for therapeutic reasons).
Any suggestions are warmly welcomed. whatever we do, it seems we have to hold the dose for a week or two to really see what's going on.
Thanks guys. Appreciate it more than I can tell you. cat_pet_icon
 
I was wondering where you were?!

Everytime you increase, it seems like I have to increase Kitty--we are somewhere between 3.75 and 4.0 now. I think Kitty is scared Asher is going to catch her!

Have a good one!
 
I had a little break too for the holiday. Asher's #'s have been looking pretty good lately. Paws crossed 2.9u is the boost he needs.
 
Good luck with Asher on 2.9
I looked at his ss his numbers don't look too bad but maybe a slight increase will give him some more ooomph.
Turning off the 'puter all weekend seems very calming to me!
 
So the last two days we have been getting high amps, then a lower number than amps mid day number, and even lower pmps (none of which are really low).
I know I have read here this means something but I have searched the site and can’t find anything. Hopefully it means he needs an increased dose since that’s what we did :shock:

Also Tom was wondering if the heat has anything to do with BG numbers. It has been hot as blazes the last few days here, in the 90s and humid. The cats both lie around draped over tables motionless. They like us to do ice belly (rub an ice cube on their bellies) mid day and we did put the air on (for them, hee hee) today.
 
Could be the heat. (pretty cushy life...ice cube massages). Or just Asher. It is odd how he throws good numbers at first and then blah.....Asher, Asher. :?:
 
I've been wondering where you were also! I missed seeing Asher's cute pics. The heat is crazy for end of May. Can't help you on dosing but just wanted to say Hi!
 
Yeah we do spoil our boys here whenever we can ;) I’ll try to find the pic I have of a swirly ice belly to post for you all :lol:

Right now we are at 3 units and I will try my best to stay here for a week or so and see what happens, numbers permitting of course. I SO would like to get a good dose for this boy. We’ve been at this search for a dose since January and some days I think we’ll just never arrive at something more permanent. Maybe that’s just how it is.
 
Don't talk about the ice cube massage to loudly, I wouldn't want anyone here to think that they need one of those too :lol: .

I see you went to 3u. Lets see what that does and go from there.
 
Yeah I went to 3 units tonight because I just had a vibe the 2.9 wouldn’t be enough. Tom felt the same so we went for it. Plus I know I can’t be consistent with those doses between the lines. And this boy seems to like consistency.
 
Here is a fine example of swirly belly. Yes, I know we’re weird :shock: twitch, twitch....
 

Attachments

  • bellySwirlsm.jpg
    bellySwirlsm.jpg
    207.5 KB · Views: 584
:lol: I love it, it looks like they do to. I've missed your pictures lately.

Did you see there is a DCIN fundraiser over in Community that you can enter? It's for a cook book with a recipe and a picture of your cat helping you cook or eat or whatever, I thought of you with your great pics. Check it out.
 
donnahc said:
So the last two days we have been getting high amps, then a lower number than amps mid day number, and even lower pmps (none of which are really low). I know I have read here this means something but I have searched the site and can’t find anything.

Anytime the following PS (+12) is lower than the midcycle #s, that can mean the dose is too high. That's more a drop down to lower #s though, or an inverse curve where your +6 goes up into the reds or something. When I see that pattern in your SS I'm thinking it may be more in the flattish category. The test would be to try 2.4 or 2.6 (not necessarily suggesting this, just mentioning it) for 1 cycle - if he drops down to a perfect nadir, then 2.8 may have been too high.

I'm on board with the dose increase though. I think the #s here are flattish, and when we've seen recent dose decrease trials on flattish #s or small inverse curve it hasn't worked, whereas dose increases have worked. So I'm thinking you're either getting good duration but not much drop, or Asher just isn't much of a zoomer - both good scenarios. And hopefully more insulin will get the #s lower overall.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top