Asher Thurs Feb 17

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Mornin folks,

We increased Asher’s dose last night to 1.4 units. Overnight numbers weren’t great (real flat and didn’t go low at all) but I am not going to judge until I see day numbers when he’s eating. (I do put food out but he doesn’t eat at night)

Overnight numbers: pmps: 335, +4 275, +6 281, +7.5 234

Today our amps was 294 so we shot 1.4 units again.

I’ll keep ya posted on how the day goes.

Thanks!
 
Try not to get discouraged, Donna. Let's keep this dose a few cycles and see what happens. And definitely free feed during the day to see what difference that makes.

Just for fun, I think we should start having names of things. I know Lantus users have something called "new dose wonkiness" which is used to describe odd higher numbers that new doses can cause. If we had names for things, it might be less discouraging. Anybody want to play?
 
Thanks Sue. I appreciate your encouragement :) And you being up this early out there. You are good!
I fully expected the numbers were gonna be weird knowing my gray man, so we’ll just see what happens.
I like “new dose wonkiness”. I have not had enough coffee yet to come up with anything creative, but if my brain kicks in, I’ll let you know.
 
Playing sounds good. What else do we want to name?
Donna, you are doing such a good job with the testing. You have not got where you want to be yet, but getting data to help you make decisions should pay off in the long run.
Have a good day!
 
We could name the odd nadirs we see sometimes and that odd pmps that is too low to shoot. :mrgreen:

Donna, I can get this off your thread if you want. I hijacked it.
 
MTN = moving target nadir

LTD = Lower than desired ( for preshots)

It seems like if we name stuff, it will be more of an expected result than a disappointment :razz:
 
Sue,
I particularly like MTN! That was the bane of my existence with Squamee. That *******(expletive deleted) MTN! It made me crazy :dizcat

LTD could be for nadirs as well as preshots.

I like this game!
 
I am still at HTD, higher than desired...our +4 is 253...
we press on....

later edit: +6 is 241
 
Keep pressing on and keep us posted. I like to check-in and see how my kitty friends are doing each day. Max is holding steady.
 
Donna, these HTD's are a pain! But still far from outrageous numbers, and will hopefully come down with a little more time and some increase in insulin.

Holly!! Good to hear from you with such good news! It looks like OTJ time (anti-jinx)
 
Anyone think we should be increasing tonight again to something like 1.6? Or do we stay at 1.4 for another cycle yet?
Obviously we wanna see what the pmps is.....
 
I think you could make a case for either. Sometimes I felt Squamee did better if I kept the dose for a few shots, but not always---sooooo---another of those uncertain choices. No really big deal either way. What feels right to you? Do you like the idea of splitting it and shooting 1.5?
 
Final HTD of the day: the pmps is 317...
Seems his numbers are higher now that we raised the dose.
I guess we go up again?
 
Or you could keep the dose for one more day to see if today was a New Dose Wonkiness and see what he does tomorrow. They are not dangerous numbers so you can afford to try it?
 
I guess I am just thinking ahead too much, mostly about the schedule. Tomorrow Tom is here all day with Asher. Saturday we both have to work and can’t be here all day.

As long as you guys think he’s not in dangerous numbers I am willing to stay here for a bit if you think this is just wonk. Just wanna do the right thing so I always wring my hands over what is best nailbite_smile
 
Another dumb question, this has been on my mind for awhile...
If I keep messing around and don’t get him in good numbers quickly, do I loose my chance to possibly (and I know the chance is slight) to get him otj?
In other words, once you start treating does he have to be in good numbers right away for that to happen or if in three months you have him in good numbers for awhile can his pancreas still heal, even slightly?
 
It is that ECID thing. But I would say you have a much bigger window than you have used up so far. With Oliver, he went OTJ in six months and that was considered pretty fast.

It's up to you. You could do the 1.5 or 1.6 now so that is has a day to settle when Tom is home. Or you could stick with the 1.4 until Monday. As we have seen with Asher, he doesn't do the things we think he might. I do think it is nice not to change every day, but if you go to the 1.5 or 1.6 you can hold it for several days.

You have never put him into danger, so your gut is a good barometer.
 
So after much back and forth and hand wringing (on my part) Tom and decided to keep Asher at 1.4 for tonight, tomorrow and Saturday during the day. We will make a new decision on Sat evening if (when) we need to raise him.
Hope we did the right thing. Momma needs to go mix a drink now drinking09
Thanks for putting up with my panic attack. xoxoxoxo
 
I'm glad that you decided to hold the dose for now. Asher seems to need some time to adjust to each dose.

There have been cats here that have gone OTJ after years, but the ECID always applies. It depends how they became diabetic, steroid induced, dry food, their general health, it all plays into the picture. So we do what we can do for them, we try to stay one step ahead of them and we keep trying to out guess them.

You're doing great.
 
Thanks Robin. That means a lot for you to say so. I just worry when he’s in the high 200’s and above. I don’t want anything bad to happen.
 
I think Steve & Jock got a kitty OTJ after something like 4 years. Results not typical, LOL. And he's an expert. As far as I know though, the best chances of OTJ are early on and odds go down over time, but I don't think it's anything like a couple days, it's over months. Of course the quicker the better, but I wouldn't freak out over it.

I'd probably just go on back to 1.6 as soon as you feel comfortable with it (not trying to rush you - sounds like you have a good plan in mind). I don't think there's much risk right now of hitting hypo #s, I think you could probably go up as far as 2u before hitting the nailbite_smile zone. I'm thinking we had you reduce the dose too much too fast back around 2/8 - probably should have just stuck with 1.2 for a little longer and seen if the #s were drifting up on that or not.

Anyhow, live & learn! Hopefully he will follow Sam's lead and give you some blues soon!

p.s. love the new acronyms!!!!
 
Thanks Joanna. We will increase him to 1.6 asap. Maybe even tomorrow since Tom can be with him all day. I was just too tired and conflicted tonight to make a decision so we went the chicken route.
 
In psychological literature there is a theory that refers to the "good enough mother". No one can be a good mother 100% of the time---for the health of your children you only have to be "good enough" So with perfection impossible in any realm, the paradigm fits here, also. I used to remind myself that each dose decision was not so crucial, that it was a trial and error process that produced data and learning. And who knows if there is any one "right" choice, anyway. While I am waxing philosophical---my father used to say that hindsight was 20/20. It took awhile for me to understand that, but it is so true! Too easy to say, after the fact, that it would have been better done another way---once you have all the info that makes the situation clear!Anyhow, you are making very good decisions (not perfect, but very good) and luckily this is a disease that gives us a reasonable margin for error---so we don't kill our kitties and eventually going OTJ is a real possibility. And even if that doesn't happen, it's a very treatable illness. Asher is very lucky to have such dedicated beans!
 
Yeah, don't beat yourself up! Geez, I made every mistake you can imagine just about. It's a tricky disease, and the standard here is really high too (I mean, most people are shooting blind and feeding prescription foods, right?). You guys are doing great, and he has seen some excellent #s along the way, so you are positioned well, just needs some tweaking.
 
Thanks guys. I was chasing my tail last night ;) And sometimes I take it all too personally.
That aside, we decided to go to 1.6 this morning since Tom is home all day to watch him and test.
I’ll start a new thread for Friday’s escapades...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top