Asher- Question Mon eve Oct 17

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi Kids:
Hope folks are up yet, I am sure the left coasters are. We have been gone all day working an now just got home, almost 10 pm eastern time. We ran home at supper to test Asher and feed and shoot (or so we thought) around 6:30 eastern, then had to leave the house and go back to work for a few hours. When we tested him at his normal pmps time +12 he was 114. So naturally we didn’t shoot.

We had to go back to work for a couple hours so we fed him some then, and now when we just got home at +15 he’s up to 176. I am thinking we shoot a reduced dose but dunno how much. Maybe 1 unit?

If you remember he was at 3.1 units for quite some time and then surprised us with a 40 at +10 one day (about 8 or 9 days ago). We reduced him to 2.8 since then and now today we got this 114 at test time. So I think we are in for a reduction again. Just wonderin if there are any thoughts out there on what to do.

I think we’ll shoot a token dose/reduced dose of sorts in the next hour or so (by 10:30 or 11 eastern time)

Any thoughts are most appreciated!
 
Well, you have always been braver than I! It's hard because you don't know how much of that rise is food. 1U should be okay, right? If you are feeling particularly brave and willing to test some, 1.2 or 1.3? Tricky. Don't want to lose your momentum but don't want a scary nadir.
 
Last time this happened we only shot .6, and late like we would tonight, but he was below 100, in the 90’s if memory serves.

Since’s he’s quite a bit higher this time, I feel ok with 1 unit overnight. Dunno if I wanna shoot more than that. I am sure i can get him to eat something tonight too :shock: He is a hoover!

It’s been a real long day for us but I will get up to check on him and feed his normal snacks overnight, I guess I’ll just set the alarm. We’re gonna be toast tomorrow anyway ;)

I wonder if this is his little pancreas doin’ somethin, or if it’s just Asher being Asher ;)

I am thinking we’ll try 2.6 (down from the 2.8 we have been doing) for a couple days to see if he likes that dose now. This is weird. I never thought we’d have to think about reductions for this kitty.
 
I think it's his pancreas, and I'd go along on the 1u. IF it is his pancreas, it make kick in a little bit overnight, and 1u would be "safe". Murphy's Law - you shoot more than that, his p kicks in, and he drops like a brick into the 50's!

Sure is nice to see numbers and doses coming down.
He's trying to get all healthy for his cookbook signing tour!

Carl
 
I just retested one last time (244 now at +16) and gave him some food (about a 1/4 small can and some chicken) since he was asking for more.

So.....I shot 1.2 units. Just a little more than 1 unit because he is hoovering all that is in his dish in true Asher fashion.

I’ll be up checking on him overnight but I feel good about this dose since he’s being a wootsie (“PA Dutch” for piggy) at his dish. Hope I did ok.

Edit: just updated his spreadsheet here, was a little behind :( but all good now...
 
Donna,
I think you did a-ok on the 1.2.

And your spreadsheet? It certainly looks more current than Kim's :lol:

Hope you and Asher have an uneventful night!
Carl
 
Mornin kids ~O)

Hope all is well out there in kitty land!!!

We had an uneventful (good) night, everyone slept good and had their timely snacks ;)

Tested Asher this morning later since we are off schedule now, he was 185. Waited 20 mins and tested again and he was 217, so we shot the 2.6 units we planned for today.
(dose reduction from 2.8 to 2.6) He is now in the bathroom window watching some extreme birdie action :lol:

So after a few days of settling in we will see where he is. Hope dose reductions are trending here at pzi !!!!!!!

Thank you all again for your kind advice and good vibes! :mrgreen:
 
Go Asher! Dose reduction is a good thing, but it does make me laugh cause just when you think you've got him figured out, he changes the dance (but in a good way). :-D
 
Thanks guys. We truly appreciate it.
He hit the blues this afternoon. Got a reading of 180 at +10 so not bad for his first day on a new dose. We’ll see how the 2.6 shakes out in a couple days.

He’s running around begging for food now. I just gave him another snack. Since his 12 hour schedule is off due to last night’s low, he thinks it’s feed time now and he has to wait. He’s not too happy about that :shock:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top