Asher high AMPS jan 17

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Morning folks. We had a high AMPS today. 490. Pretty bummed, but we wanted to keep Asher safe last night when he was under 200 PMPS.

We had him at 2 units, and last night just gave a hair over 1.75. I also grabbed some numbers last night at +3 and +6.

Gator mentioned it looked like he could use more insulin since his +3 was higher than +6.

I’m looking for any suggestions on Asher’s numbers today. We are going back up to shoot 2 units this morning.

His SS is current.

Thanks guys,

-donna
 
Hi Donna,
Going up to 2U sounds good.
In my experience with ProZinc (which was limited), we never found a consistent nadir, so it was very hard to be sure how low Squamee was going without a great deal of testing, and even then, it was hard to find patterns and be clear. Of course she had many medical difficulties and eating problems. But I came to feel that I just couldn't take each number so seriously, and would try to be alert to patterns and to keeping her safe. You are being a very dedicated mama bean and are doing a very good job. Don't lose too much sleep!
 
Thanks Judy. We are doing our best here. I am trying to relax into all of this. At least I am not as freaked as last week. But you know that could change at any moment ;) <twitch twitch>

I know we are early on in the process but yes, who knows when Asher’s nadir might be. It looks like the last 3 days he starts high and decreases each time we test him throughout the day.

Anybody know what that might mean with ProZync?

His eating varies a bit too each day. I can put out the exact same amount of food, and some days he licks the bowl clean and asks for more, and some days he walks away with some left in the bowl. The fluctuation seems to be about 1/4 can one way or another.

Mysteries.....

Donna
 
Still think you were smart to play it safe last night. This morning's number could be a bounce - wonder if he went low between +3 and your pmps? And it can be a reaction to the lower dose. Or it could just be that he is a cat and he can mess with your mind. :mrgreen:

New day, new numbers, new adventure. Two units sounds good.
 
Well, he went back up to 195 at +6, so I figured he was on his way back up. But again who knows.
He does like to mess with my mind :)

Thanks Sue :)

-donna
 
Yesterday he was at 195 at +6 and then was 178 at pmps? That is good info that needs to be on your spreadsheet. That means it stayed at basically the same number for 6 hours. That's an interesting pattern.
 
Yes, see the spreadsheet, the 3 blue areas last night.

But then he went high by this morning.

We are gonna try to do a +3 this morning now to see what’s up today.

-d.
 
Gotcha - after the pmps. Sorry, a little slow this am. So maybe being down in the blues overnight made him bounce up?

Those blues do make a nice addition to your ss!
 
Yes, don’t know. I am wondering if he needs to be consistently on 2 units for a few cycles before we can judge? Or if his numbers just will be all over the place?

That one dive into the 50’s territory will stick in my memory, even tho he never showed any signs of hypo.

My goal is to get him stable enough that he is in good health not bouncing around all the time, and that I don’t need anxiety meds for me every time I have to give him his insulin, then leave the house and go to work.

We are lucky this happened at our slow work time of year. I just hope we can get him a bit more regular before work ramps up. I think I can get someone to come in and give shots eventually, but don’t know if doing a blood test and then feeding, food babysitting for two cats, and giving a shot is way overload for the cat sitter.



-donna
 
That's a pretty nice drop in only 3 hours. I'm glad you stuck with 2u and didn't shoot extra since he was so high. If he is bouncing from spending so long in the blues last night you don't want to shoot extra for that. It'll clear up on it's own. Remember that it's normal to feel overwhelmed and nervous. I cried a lot in the beginning. I still do occasionally- more out of frustration (and pregnancy hormones) now over the fact that he's so hard to regulate. It'll get easier, even before Asher is all settled in on a good dose, possibly. You are getting some good numbers, so that's really a positive thing- the insulin is working for him- he is responding to it. That's great news!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top