Asher Friday + Sat dose Q

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Happy Friday kids!
I feel like I haven’t checked in with everyone in forever. Life gets wild sometimes. I finally had time to update the spreadsheet today too.

Anyhow, things are pretty good here, but I feel like our numbers are creeping up and wanted to ask if you guys think I need to raise our dose more.
I know we have at least one bad tooth and some plaque that will be dealt with at the dental appointment on April 7, so that could be a factor, but I just want to make sure he’s getting enuf insulin if he needs it.

Today, his amps wasn’t too bad (we have had some preshoots in the 300s in the last week :sad: ). His amps today was 229, but then this afternoon at +7.5 during his nap, I get a 283, which means our pmps will prob suck.
I raised him to 2.2 on Wednesday morning, so he’s had 5 cycles on that dose.

Any thoughts out there? I know he’s Asher, so it’s hard to say, but I’ll listen to any opinions you are willing to share :)

:mrgreen:
 
Re: Asher Friday March 25 dose Q

ps, we are getting down to the bottom of our bottle of insulin too...could that be something to consider? I do have a new bottle here ready to go....
 
Re: Asher Friday March 25 dose Q

He is such a puzzle. Your numbers looked better at 2.1 until the last cycle at that dose... I am wondering if you should go up or down?
 
Re: Asher Friday March 25 dose Q

Yes Sue, our numbers did look better at the lower dose, but would too much insulin cause his preshoots to go up? Seems counter-intuitive, but it is Asher, and there is the dental stuff.
Just thought I better ask and try to head higher numbers off at the pass if I could....
 
Re: Asher Friday March 25 dose Q

We’ll get some the next couple days and see what that tells us. I’ll stay at 2.2 while we do this I guess. Thanks Sue :)
 
Re: Asher Friday March 25 dose Q

I think, Donna, and I certainly could be wrong, that your dose is less important than your data. Up or down .1 may be good or not. I'm thinking you really need to know what is going in general with his cycles. Low, high curve, flat, dive?

Having said that, the dental is the unknown factor here.

Sorry, lots of musing, very little help....
 
Re: Asher Friday March 25 dose Q

Musing is good. I am all about looking at all the options and thinking out loud :)
 
Re: Asher Friday March 25 dose Q

I agree with Sue, you could go up or down and study what happens. Keeping in perspective, your numbers are not bad at all, and it is quite possible that once the dental is done things will get more stable (and lower!).
 
He’s a later nadir boy, or has been...+6-8 ish. But that was then and this is now.

I’ll get in another test or two before pmps. He’s rough housing with his bro now, so I’ll wait until he calms down a bit later ;)
 
amps 292, shot 2.2
+ 5.5 was 264
+8 was 280

So a bit high and flat. Can I assume he is overdosed slightly at 2.2?
 
Yes, we did get better numbers then. I was just trying to get him even lower in numbers, so we inched our way up.

I guess we should go back to 2 or a fat 2.

Seems against logic but it’s worth a try. Makes me think we need more insulin to bring down higher numbers but there is no curve here at all really.

Experiments.....
 
We gave him 2 units tonight. I'll keep you all posted. Still up for any thoughts and suggestions, just figured we'd start here.

Thanks guys :)
cat_pet_icon
 
I guess Mr.Asher likes 2 units a lot :)
Our amps was 127 this morning....so we'll be waiting' a bit until he goes up to shoot. Gonna try 2 again and we'll get some tests in throughout the day :)
Messes up the schedule but so SO worth it to see the 100s again !!! Yay!
 
Yeah!!!!!!

With all your data, and if you are going to be around, you can shoot lower than 200 - as long as you are sure he is headed up. I definitely would monitor if you are going to do the 2 units.
 
Yes I forgot to add my disclaimer we have data here and new folks should never shoot under 200, etc. We just know now that once his insulin quits, it quits and he goes up quick. I still always check to make sure he is on the rise before we shoot any insulin at all.

I just tested his +2 to see what the food spike was and he's up to 295. We'll run a partial curve today to see what happens.
 
So far, a good day. Mr.Squirrel outside our window is keeping Asher entertained, in between naps that is ;)
We'll keep ya posted.....

+4 is 241 so we're on our way down now...

+6 is 250 so I jinxed it :(
 
Gosh, Asher sure is his own cat isn't he? Nice to see that 127, guess he's trying to increase his "ha ha confuzed da bean again" score :lol:

Just to be picky :-D I wouldn't actually call those #s high and flat. High and flat to me is reds & blacks, and from what I understand it is typically seen in 2 cases: the cycle or two after an acute rebound cycle (dangerous lows and/or mega-steep drop), or in chronic rebound, which comes after some time in a pattern of repeated acute rebounds (and I am not sure if I have ever seen an actual case of chronic rebound).

Normally really with PZI, a flattish curve is an indicator of too little insulin. Way too little and the curve will be flat, somewhat too little and you will see a shallow U-curve. What I am seeing in Asher's #s if you look at 3/25 and 3/26 is either:

- a flattish curve in moderate #s, indicating too little insulin, or
- a little bit of an inverse curve - +12 is lower than mid-cycle #s (though not by much), indicating too much insulin

Ok, that's not much help :mrgreen: but wanted to clarify it for any newbies following along.

The fact that you lowered the dose and got better #s supports it being Door #2 :lol: It will be interesting to see what today brings!!! He is a puzzle - hard to know what to do with his dose really.
 
Well Joanna is totally correct in that Asher is tryin to confuse the beans.

Amps 127/144, shot 2 units after he housed a can of fud
+2 295
+4. 241
+6. 250
+8. 266

So basically nothin has changed except the lower amps...

So confused.....
 
And now it gets really crazy Sue. Pmps is 420.

I am thinking a reduction in dose was not good now but what about the low amps today?

I really don't know what to do and the 420 scares me.

Any suggestions?
 
I am sure no fur shot and there is nothing forbidden here he can get into, both cats eat the same thing.
 
There is a few shots left in the old bottle. I haven't opened the new one yet. Shall I try that?
If so would u stay at 2 or go back to the 2.2 we were at?
 
I think I would try the new bottle. I am thinking you were more comfortable with 2.2- am I right? If so, I think 2.2 is fine. Just, of course, monitor.
 
Tom and I talked it over and came up with the same plan, we were just gonna see what you said :)
That's what we'll do....

Thanks Sue! Here I thought it was gonna be an easy day....
 
Yah I agree. If you are at the end of a bottle, go ahead and switch. If that doesn't help, you can always use up the old one later. When we got to the end of a vial, the effectiveness dropped off dramatically.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top