Asher 1st weekend April

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone!

Sorry to not be around, life stepped in this week, rush work stuff. Anyhow I just got the spreadsheet caught up and thought I’d check in.

Numbers are bumming me out. Just can’t get rid of these high 300’s preshoots, and we are up to 2.4 units.
Then last night he woke me at 2am (+8), he wanted to eat. I figured he’d be sky high and he was 72. So I fed him just a little and he wanted to go back to sleep. I kept an eye on him the rest of the night (I didn’t sleep) and he was fine.
Amps today were back up to almost 400. And today’s +8 is 258. This makes no sense :(

I hope this is his dental issues talking and that will be taken care of this Thursday nailbite_smile
I am so frustrated and don’t know what to do. I can raise the dose more but then I worry about something like that 72 coming in. What if I had shot more the night before?

So there’s where we are. Momma is frustrated, kitty acting happy just like nothing ever happened...
Hope you guys are all doing better! I’ll look now :mrgreen:
 
No, it doesn't make sense, Donna. I too hope it is his teeth messing stuff up.

The only idea I have is to shoot early in the am to even out the curve. If you are up and he is in the 300s at +10, go ahead and shoot. It could mean less of a bounce back and forth?
 
I have been getting up earlier to shoot. I shot early today and yesterday because I was trying to avoid him hitting 400. So I dunno what the right thing to do is, just try to hold on until the dental I guess. I am so scared he will get organ damage or something awful with being high.

Do you also think it would be a bit risky to keep increasing him?

Oh, and if I shoot early in the morning, then that moves up the pm shoot too?
 
Hang in there. Just a few more days to the dental, and things might really change. If not, then you will have lots of time to be frustrated. Paws crossed for now.
 
If you shoot early in the am, yes, you can shoot earlier in the pm if he is higher numbers and headed up. If he isn't, you can wait a little longer until he is in a good place to shoot.
 
And about increasing. No, I think you have to shoot the numbers you are getting. You have already done the small doses, so it isn't that you skipped an ideal dose. I just hope it is his teeth.
 
I hear you Donna. Henry has been getting blech nadir numbers too. The last time he was down in the lower 100's at nadir was last Saturday.
He seems to feel well though no increases in peeing or drinking and appetite is good.
I hope the dental will help Asher.
 
If he's acting happy, that is awesome, YAY!!! The dental will definitely change things at least short term, so I'd try not to stress over it too much til after that. When Bix had his dental he had lower than usual #s if I remember for the 1st day or two, then ran high for several days after that, then settled back to where he had been pre-dental. So go figure. Anything can happen. Be sure to shoot lite the day of the dental, and get advice on Health if you haven't already. I think maybe the anesthesia can lower the #s, something like that? I can never remember exactly.

Sorry not to have any big insights for you - I think you have a handle on what his response is, and my guess is as good as yours what to do! Early shooting is my best idea and I see you are already doing that. Depending on the #s, you can opt to shoot early again in the PM, or change your 12/12 schedule to match, or shoot late in the PM and stay on a normal schedule if the #s are good. It's a pain in the a** basically. :mrgreen:
 
We shot early again today.

amps was 272 and +5 is 286, so not much movement.

It is what it is, and like you said, I am just happy he’s acting normal and happy...giant bonus.
 
+10 today is 294. Sounds like a good time to shoot.

But...if we put him on a 10 hour shot schedule, it really screws up things. I don’t care if I have to get up at 3am to shoot if we can get good numbers, but if Tom and I both have to work (outside the house) we’re screwed. So far we won’t have to this week, but that could change.

Also, if we stay with a 10 hour schedule, by my calculations we’d shoot at 1pm on Wed, just after lunch. My instructions from the vet were to feed him Wed night, then shoot a full dose, no food after midnight. Thurs morning no food and no shot.

I don’t think he can/should go without insulin from 1pm Wed to Thurs night after 6 or 7 sometime.

So, dunno what to do, I guess I have to take these higher numbers and stick to more of a schedule right now. Or just shoot a little early in the mornings. Or raise his dose again?

I know. I am hanging on....Just want to do the right thing to protect him nailbite_smile
 
You make good decisions, Donna, and you have to make them work with your life. The early shot was to (hopefuly) lower that high amps with the hope that he would surf awhile and have a lower pmps that you could shoot later and still stick with your schedule. The hope was to alternate between 12 hours and 10 hours. If that is not working, I wouldn't try to make it work. I would just shoot your numbers. I wouldn't want you to try any kind of a TID deal when you are in a holding pattern.

If you figure you are just going to shoot the numbers until the dental, then raising the dose will work also.
 
Thanks Sue :)
You have a way of stopping my head from spinning and I thank you for that.

I think we’ll try to shoot a little early in the mornings if we can, and if it looks like it might be helpful. I won’t make myself nutz over it @-) yeah right, :shock:

I am going to test him again at his normal time tonight for pmps. I have to loosely stick to some sort of schedule for sanity reasons and to get thru Thurs as the vet requests.

Breathe, yes, remember to breathe ;)
 
I would check on Health for how to shoot with the dental. I think we did a 1/2 dose maybe the morning of the dental. That is what my vet had told me if they aren't eating - don't skip the shot, do a 1/2 dose. If you do end up on a funky schedule on Wed, I'd probably shoot a dose close to midnight with a snack, as long as it's later than say +9, and maybe adjust the dose down a little bit accordingly.
 
:)
 

Attachments

  • nose.jpg
    nose.jpg
    187.6 KB · Views: 718
Paws crossed the dental helps improve things. We'll be thinking of you and Asher (and Alby too) on Thursday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top