Asher +10 is 40

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
So yeah, holy crap.
We have been having to postpone his pm shots recently, due to him being too low to shoot.
Last night we had to shoot 2 1/4 hours late due to low numbers.

This morning he was 140 for amps. Two nights ago we shot 3 units at 146 so I figured if I fed slowly and didn't rush to shoot he'd be good today with 3 units again. Plus someone was here with him all day. He had some sparring and play with his brother. Had his mid day snack twice and pestered for another snack about 4-4:15 pm so he had a few more chicken chunks. He had a nap or 5, everything normal so I didn't get mid day numbers since he was fine and I was in and out.

So I figure I'll test at 6 pm which is +10 since we are two hours behind now. And I get this 40 :shock:

I just fed a quarter can and more chicken. He is sitting with me purring as I type.

Where the heck do we go from here. This isn't something we're used to. Maybe that fiasco with the bag yesterday jump started his pancreas nailbite_smile

Edit at +10.5 : Bg now 61 ahhhh. I think we'll hang here and not feed anymore until I test again in a little bit. Drama.

Any word of wisdom?

I haven had a chance to update his SS today but here is yesterday and today FYI:

Thurs amps 198 shot 3.1
+9 141
+12 71
+13 74
+13 3/4 137, shot 3 units ( took my good old time getting to shoot after he ate, half hour maybe)

Fri amps 140 shot skinny 3 units, again took my time to shoot, maybe half to 3/4 hour after eating.
+10 40, fed a little more than quarter of small can and some chicken.
He is next to me purring up a storm.
 
nailbite_smile nailbite_smile You shot 3 units into a 198, 137 & 140?? You are scaring the crap outta me! ohmygod_smile
I would reduce the dose & not shoot till he's over 150. Hopefully someone else will chime in here cause you know I don't have much experience. I can't figure out what to give Thumper tonight! I'm not gonna ask you though cause I'm chickin S#### compared to you for sure! :lol:
 
If he climbs over 100 i might give him a token
dose of 1maybe. He's like bob was. Can handle doses on "no-shoot numbers". Hard to skip when he's used to 3
carl
wow...
 
We have been told we have BOS but it has worked fine for us until today. And really he is fine, but this is just a little scary low for me right now. Not used to greens like this.

I'm encouraged he went up 20 points but i'm sure it's just food so we'll keep testing. I promise we will shoot a reduced dose if he's under 200 tonight, just don't know what that will be!
 
Yeah Carl we were thinking 1 unit tonight if he comes up enough. Time will tell. Just when we thought we had it figured out...
 
Donna,
Yep. Rather large BOS!
But nobody knows him like momma bean does. It'scary from the audience but asher has no probs with it.
Carl
 
Scary for me too! Coverboy is definitely showing out!!! It sure seems that all of our PZI kitties that were under consideration for insulin changes have really settled in to Prozinc!

Maybe when the cookbook comes out, we can paste OTJ over Asher's pic~

The 40s scared me...but, he has certainly come a long ways!

Keep Testing and REDUCE!!!
 
Oh...wait...I do think I remember someone by that name...someone from the past. I wonder what ever happened to her sweet Miss Cool Kitty? :lol:
 
When Petunia showed up.....I told y'all I was moving.....I have just got my internet access hooked up. I will try to post more now that I have gotten settled. You know Alaska really is nice this time of year! :lol:
 
You crack me up Kim :lol:

The +11.5 check in is only two points down at 64. We have given no add'l fud since the snack when we realized he was at 40 an hour and a half ago.

Now I am getting the vibe maybe we ain't shootin nothin tonight. Haven't done that since, I dunno, too long ago, maybe january or feb?

But I don't want to loose momentum either, so a token something maybe? All thoughts are welcome. Even those that will tell us we are crazy katz.
 
Donna.....don't shoot a 64! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

I'm just checking in real quick. Father in law is in the hospital...they are operating as I type so I've gotta go. It's a very real possibility he won't make it through the surgery. I will check in when I get back.

Donna keep that cover boy safe!
 
Hmmmm
i think the lowest i ever shot was a 69 with half a unit. Bob went to 44 on that.
If you wanna do it, it's gotta be tiny. You have to trust your gut, donna.
carl
 
Hey guys don't be silly. I will not shoot into the 60s. I have BOS but they ain't that big.

I have a feeling we are not shooting tonight and if we do it'll be a drop or two.

+12 is 81.

It's now 8 pm here. Dunno what to do. Alby wants to eat and so do mum and dad ;)

I guess I'll hang a bit longer and test one more time to make a decision if to feed and maybe not shoot.
 
Ok, our +12.5 is 93 with no food since the snack at the 40 reading.
I had to feed the troops since we got pushed back last night and it's now 8:30 east coast time.

I guess we are skipping the shot tonight. I hope that's the right decision but I just don't feel right about shooting anything into a number under 100. He will prob be sky high tomorrow but we will all sleep tonight knowing he's safe.

Sorry for the drama tonight kids. I really thought i was done bugging you all. This one really surprised us.
 
Actually i was with her if she wanted to shoot a 60. Her data is great and backs it up.
He takes 3+ units into middle blues. I think he would have taken a half unit and said "please ma'am...may have another?"
carl
 
If he was even a couple points over 100 it wouldn't freak me so much. Not to say I am not second guessing myself on the token dose since he' s housing his food and had some of his brother's in addition.
 
My vote is no token dose at 60 but he probably could handle something at some point.

FWIW since we are going into a weekend I think I would stay up and keep testing and if he starts to zoom up or gets to a comfortable number to shoot I would. You will be off schedule but you would have the rest of the weekend to get back on track.

Go Asher!!!!
 
THanks for th elaugh Carl!
please sir may I have another!
Asher is doing so well and you have been shooting some low numbers!!
interessting, cant wait to see what happens next...
and no please dont shoot into 60
 
Who knows with this guy Sue. Things were going so smoothly, then this today..
Robin, do you think I should test him now at 10pm and try to shoot something?
I fed at 8:30 pm so what numbers I'd get now would be food?

If you think I should shoot something I'll test him again. He is sitting here in bed with me talking his bath ;)

Btw an hour and a half ago he was 93. It was under 100 which was my line in the sand, so that is why i didn't shoot.
 
I agree it would be nice to give some kind of token dose to keep the momentum going, but not under 100. And the food complicates things of course.....Hmmmm

I would test just to see if he has jumped back up into any kind of dose range.
 
He is 207 at 10 pm which is an hour and a half after I fed him. He ate about 3.5 oz of food plus a couple pieces of chicken.
 
Well, you know him best. Part of the rise is probably the food. What are you thinking? A token of .5 or something? Or just skip and see what he does tomorrow?

Did I miss a full moon or something with the PZI kitties?
 
Say we'd give him .5 tonight, would I just check him tomorrow morning at his normal shoot time and shoot if he's high enuf then? I have been flexible whEn we have reduced his dose in the past, in that I check him early in the am and sometimes shoot early so he doesn't go too high.

I am also guessing our "normal" 3.1 dose is now a bit too high since we are getting lows at shoot times like this.
Do we try 3, or 2.8?
 
A lot of that 207 is probably food, and probably some zoom too. I think that I would take the dose that I would shoot normally into the 207 and reduce by half maybe to compensate for the food, I don't know what dose to suggest.

You have made excellent decisions for Asher so far, trust your gut, just keep the RIP off of the Recipe Cover.
 
I'll defer to you, Donna. You have always done well with him and been much braver than I would be. I think I would be sure he is rising in the am so maybe two tests if you plan to shoot early? With a "normal" kitty, 2.8 would certainly be the better dose, but with Asher?
 
Yikes!!! I think your days of shooting 3u are coming to an end. If I were you I would start thinking about shooting a reduced dose as needed to keep him in the blues. It might take a little experimenting but you will find the balance, you have so far.
 
I think I am going to go draw a .6 and shoot that as a token dose now. Tom is thinking we should do one full unit but that makes me justa tad nervous for some reason. Loosing my BOS I guess.

I'll test him a few times in the morning so we know what's going on before we feed and shoot.
 
The am shot, in relation to this one would be "early" so you would have the reduce accordingly.
carl
 
carlinsc said:
Hmmmm
i think the lowest i ever shot was a 69 with half a unit. Bob went to 44 on that.
If you wanna do it, it's gotta be tiny. You have to trust your gut, donna.
carl

Oh Lord, I'm glad you didn't post that here! ohmygod_smile I would have had a heart attack!
 
Wow, I was off by a little. I'm looking at "Bob's Log" as I type. The lowest I shot a .5 into was a 73, and that was 9 days before he went OTJ.

God I was insane! Keep in mind, this was happening just after I joined the board, about 3 weeks after I first posted here.
Couple other caveats:
After I read a lot on the board, and saw what people were shooting, I decided never to ask for advice on dose because I was so "outside of protocol", plus I never did a spreadsheet. I just kept a log book and for the most part only tested at AMPS and PMPS.
I was also operating on the assumption, which my vet told me time and again "your meter is really reading about 25-30 points lower than reality, so a 50 is really an 80". I was told that on day one, and believed it, and always had that in the back of my mind. I'd tested my meter at the vet, and it was 30 points lower. (of course, nobody mentioned the whole 20% thing to me). And, that was when Bob was in the 300 or 400 range too.
I had also seen what 3 and 4 units did, but only in terms of the next pre-shot. So when you shoot 4 units into a 425, get a PMPS of 308, shoot 3 into that, and get an AMPS of 487, shoot 4 again, get a 356, shoot 3 and halleluiah! get a 353 the next morning, you think "wow it's working! I got an AMPS less than 400!!!!". That was the line in the sand at that time (this was in the beginning of June). Over 400, shoot 4, between 300 and 400, shoot 3, under 300, shoot 2, under 200 shoot 1, under 100 "call me ASAP". That was Bob's first sliding scale, directed to me by my vet. Nice increments, huh?

OK, so fast forward to July 9th and 10th. By this time, Bob's doses had been lowered (by me without telling my vet I was doing it) The more I read here, the more I determined that his doses needed to come down, and dammit, I was going to do it! I guess I had these 2 days off, because I got several tests in.

July 9th
AMPS 153 1.25u
+9 72
PMPS 79 .75u
+3 42
+6 58 (Bob looks okay, going to bed)

July 10th
AMPS 73 .5u
+3 59
+6 64
+9 80
PMPS 99 1u
done testing, bob looked fine, acted fine, I went to bed not worried about anything.

July 11th
AMPS 79 .75u
PMPS 117 1u

July 12th
AMPS 75 .5u
PMPS 63 No Shot (this was Bob's first "no-shot" ever)

July 13th
AMPS 87 .5u
PMPS 70 NS

July 14th
AMPS 88 .5
PMPS 72 NS

July 15th
AMPS 105 .75u
PMPS 74 NS

July 16th
AMPS 136 1.0u (I remember thinking "****! He's waaayyy up, I knew I should have given him a shot last night!)
PMPS 63 NS

July 17th
AMPS 84 .75u
PMPS 57 NS

July 18th
AMPS 89 .75
PMPS 56 NS

July 19th
AMPS 80 .5u
PMPS 78 .5u This was Bob's last shot of insulin


Scary, huh? I look at this now, and wonder how he survived me. Look at the PMPS numbers. How freaking low did he go at nadir? I would stop by the house two or three times a day during work to check on him. Not once did I ever see a physical sign of "hypo". He never looked sick, dizzy, nauseous, nothing. What I can't explain is when I did run by the house and look in on him, why the hell didn't I test his BG? Well, he looked and acted fine, so I just didn't. Really though, today I am sort of glad I didn't. I was actually self-confident that what I was doing was working great, and maybe if I'd known he was in "hypo" numbers, I would have lost that confidence and it all would have went to crap.

Anyway, now can you understand how when I saw Asher's numbers tonight, I didn't flinch when Donna said she was wondering if she should shoot a green? I know ECID, but he and Bob had a lot in common. I know my doses listed above were lots lower than what Asher is getting these days, but back when Bob was in the 2-3 unit dose range, I was shooting that into the blues and high greens also.

I'm really glad I didn't post here back then. Y'all would have run from the room screaming, or you would have sent a swat team to South Carolina to save Bob from me!

Carl
 
Hubby and I were out with friends last night -- want to enjoy this weather while it lasts-- so missed Asher's drama and Carl's "lively" stories.

Hope everyone is having a good day!
 
Ginny,
Glad you enjoyed it (after all the time it took to type it)!
This weather lately is awesome, so ready for the 80s to go away here!
Have a great rest of the day!
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top