Kigeliakitten
Member Since 2021
Inky has hit the lagoon!
yesterday https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/inky-amps-126.245543/
yesterday https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/inky-amps-126.245543/
Good Morning Cindy!
He's not quite in the lagoon yet - the beaches are blue and the lagoons are green - but that's ok...doesn't make a bit of sense, but someone here a long time ago decided that was the way to go with those slang terms
That IS however quite a significant drop! Over 200 points in just two hours. I usually set a timer at this point - whenever there's a big drop like that it usually indicates an active cycle. Please get another test in one hour! Don't wait too long to test because if Inky is still on this downward trajectory you may need to intervene with a little medium carb food
Do you have medium and high carb wet food on hand? A teaspoon or so and frequent testing to slow that drop down is a good idea...
I may not be around later this morning as Saturday is my day to run errands...so please post often and let us know how he's doing.
Adorable picture btw!!
You can. For now, some of his regular food should slow the drop. Can you feed him and get another test at +5?I can add honey or Kari to his regular food can’t I?
I can add honey or Kari to his regular food can’t I?
Just did he is 121. That is 30 minutes later.ok, well get another test - let's see what's going on with those numbers - then decide what to feed based on that last reading...
How soon will you be able to test?
No I can’t math today. He had insulin at 2:30 so the last two readings were at +4 and +4.5I will check him at 7:30 which will be + 4
Math? Did you mean 'miss' ?No I can’t math today.
No I can’t add. I keep thinking Am shot was 3:30 not 2:30Is he eating low carb food - that might be slowing things down a little, but he's still dropping.
Math? Did you mean 'miss' ?
An hour@Bandit's Mom @Butters & Lyla - any of you early birds around?
I have to leave in just a few minutes...
Cindy, how much longer will you be around to test/feed Inky?
ThanksI’m here if you need someone, will be keeping an eye out
I am going to hang for a bit and test every 15 minutesI'm here. Was that 109 @+5. He's staying flat now probably because of food. Are you going to stay home?
You've just been feeding LC?
I am going to hang for a bit and test every 15 minutes[/
I don’t think you need to test every 15 min, I would do 30 since it looks as though he’s leveling out
I also would leave higher carb food out, better to be safe than sorry or I would stay home, had to do that lots of times, but I’m not sure if that’s an option for you
I really should go. He just ate and he went to 109. Just gave some high carb treats
+6 he is 110[/QUOTE
Then if your staying home, lay off the HC and see what he does on his ownI am going to stay home and monitor him
Poor boy. I hope he feels better soon.He has only been getting wet food for the last month, and I have been adding in water. He just has been feeling punky from surgery and meds and hasn’t been going to one of the many water dishes.
Totally agreeAre you giving him more wet food and less dry food lately? That could be why he isn't drinking as much. Wet food has a lot of water in it, whereas with dry, kitties need to drink a lot to get a proper amount of water. And they generally don't drink enough water to compensate for being on a dry food diet.
I mix some extra water in with Butters's wet food just to make sure she is getting enough water. You could try that.
I think I'd feed just a little LC with the 92, and I'd check again in 30 minutes. I just realized you're doing SLGS, so he is close to earning a reduction but still in safe numbers. The dose is so low, we don't really want him earning a reduction.
Just FYI, I would not put lots of water so he just doesn’t get full on water, you know what I mean, make sure he’s eating the food, I k ow Bella would lap up all the fluids and sometimes leave the foodHe has only been getting wet food for the last month, and I have been adding in water. He just has been feeling punky from surgery and meds and hasn’t been going to one of the many water dishes.
The food makes a gravy when you add water.Just FYI, I would not put lots of water so he just doesn’t get full on water, you know what I mean, make sure he’s eating the food, I k ow Bella would lap up all the fluids and sometimes leave the food