April 01/2013 - Rags

Status
Not open for further replies.
7:15 a.m = BG HI

Why are you doing my posts don't youn think I'm capable ??? I Don't tink I'm that crazy yet. ha

I'm waiting til 7:30, then shoot right ? Then I'm only gonna give him a half of can.

I have to go get ready for work and take care of my other kids and get out of here by 8:00 a.m. it is now 7:20
 
Becki,

Know you have a tight schedule. I created a post for you last night before I went to bed because it has todays suggested plan for this Morning.

That's why I did it. Carl and I took time last night to put that plan together so thought you'd like to see it first thing.
 
Thank you, I had already read last nights post. No more vomiting.. Itg was a Hairball.

Giving 1.5 units now 7:30 a.m. then 1/2 can of food.
 
Ok, good to know no more vomiting overnight. Getting up every two hours to test like a did with Wink is a pain in the you know where.

Before you talk to Dr. Ritter, I'd like to have you print out some information, read over it, so then you can have more information to convince a vet to use a different insulin.

I'll add the links later and you can print them out this afternoon after the midday cycle is in progress.

Have a good day at work.

I'll also copy everything from the post I started to here.
 
Deb & Winks said:
Hi Becki,

Started a condo for you already. Please be sure to read yesterday's post to check for any last minute messages after I go to bed.

Here is this mornings plan, copied from yesterdays's post.

Deb & Winks said:
Becki,

You need to constantly reevaluate.

When my Wink vomited, I set the alarm for every two hours, checked for vomit, tested him. No food unless he was lower than 200. Then only a little, 1 Tablespoon MAX. Different insulin though.

No, no shot tonight.
Get a test before feeding in the am.
Feed him, make sure he keeps it down.

Don't let him eat three cans.
As soon as he finishes eating 1 can, test again.
If his bg is higher than 200, then give him his 1.5 unit shot.
and he can have more food, 1/2 to 1 can more.
Test him again as soon as you get home.


and from Carl last night

Carl & Bob said:
Becki,
Deb's plan for the morning is perfect.

If you happen to see this before you go to bed, you could give Rags a half can as a bedtime snack.

But even if he seems really hungry in the morning, don't feed more than what Deb suggested. You don't want Rags to "scarf and barf" from trying to fit three cans of food into a two can belly. :-)

Carl helped with the plan too.
Deb & Winks said:
yo hon said:
7:00 a.m. AMPS HI


Any vomiting last night?

What do you feel comfortable doing this morning as far as the shot goes?

1.5 or 2?
 
Debg, He is doing ok, I' gonna gived hom anothe r 1/2 can cause he is hun gry. That will make two cans for this a.m.
 
I copied all the info from the other post to here. You can scroll up to see the steps for today.

The plan did ask for another BG after the first feeding this morning. Did I miss your post on what it was?

A little more food sounds good.
I think you can go to work.


Get a test before feeding in the am.
Feed him, make sure he keeps it down.

Don't let him eat three cans.
As soon as he finishes eating 1 can, test again.
If his bg is higher than 200, then give him his 1.5 unit shot.
and he can have more food, 1/2 to 1 can more.
Test him again as soon as you get home.
 
Hello

There is currently a person over on the Lantus board that has Lantus pens for sale, if that would be of any help. Maybe Becki could purchase one pen from her.
It is also posted in Supply Closet.

Terri
 
Deb, his second reading this a.m. was also HI. I did post it.

What about these Lantus Pens for sale, what do you think ???

Also, it's 1:30, I'm gonna take Rags BG, but I really don't want to take it again at 2:00. His poor ears are hurtung him. YES, I am usung the neo. but he is shying away when he see's me come near him with the meter.

Is this acceptable ?? Also I only have two cans of food left so I have to go to Walmart, somehow.
 
Ok, the 555 is lower than this mornings HI.

Could have been a fur shot I suppose. Welcome to the club!

No on those Lantus pens for now. We are trying to get a vet to prescribe first. Hope thinks prozinc.

The normal scenario with N is test, feed, shoot. Of course there are variations. Managing diabetes is an ever changing schedule.

So my saying that, tell me what you will do here?
 
Okay prozinc it is hopefully if the vet will be cooperative, I would insist if it were my cat. That Humulin is just to harsh and requires to much testing.

Terri
 
Deb, actually, he doesn't like to be brushed too much. He has me bleeding where he swatted at me. can only brush a tiny bit. his hair is coming out in CLUMPS !!!! It is all over the window seat. he is outside right now.

I will test him at 4:30 p.m. and let you know.

Somehow i have to get to Walmart or he will not have any food tomorrow.
 
Terri, Deb was saying something about the insulin you mentioned. What am I suppossed to do ?
 
We have to be working with a vet before you can get prozinc or change insulins.

READ my private message (PM) to you. Hit those keys quick to get a post up.

If you can get to Wally World and back in 75 minutes go for it.

Else wait until 15 minutes after next test at 4:30 so I can at least see what the number is then and reply to you.
 
yes, but it's really slow today, and I DON'T LIKE IT !!!!!!!!! (sorry NOT screaming at you )

I have to go to Walmart in a few minutes.

His BG is gonna be HI tomorrow a.m. , HI,HI !!
 
Hello, where are you Deb ?

I'm leaving to go to Walmart, what can I get for Rags as a treat ? Is there any "people" things he could have ???
 
Treats

Any thing that is pure protein would work. Luncheon meat, turkey, or chicken, or beef. No fillers.

Not sure about cheese. will need to look it up.
Can you wait a minute or 5?

.Check the pet dog section for any freeze dried treats. Might have them at Walmart
 
I can wait five minutes/

Can he have a piece of turkey now with his BG elavated ?? a little piece ?
 
One piece, about the size of a kernal of corn. No more than that. He needs to stay off food after his nadir which is around +3 -+4

Any fresh people food that is pure meat or organ meat would be fine.

Can be cooked or fed raw.

Chicken livers, chicken, turkey, turkey, fish, pork, chicken gizzards, things like that.

Maybe see if the grocery meat department has any chicken gizzards you could buy real cheap. You wouldn't need more than a couple to start. Then cut up into tiny corn kernal size pieces, freeze on a cookie sheet or plate in your freezer, put in a ziploc bag or other plastic container. Take out and give at treat time. No need to even cook.

Some cats can't tolerate beef without hurling but if Rags can eat that in his food he should be ok with a tiny piece of meat.

The treats are for being so good about being tested. It's his reward.
 
If you use lunch meat, nothing with onions, garlic, or chives in it. Those may damage the blood.

You're hanging in and that's great. There are people who would not work this hard for their kitties.
 
Becki, Is this the chart the vet gave you to follow in dosing the N insulin?

Adjusted Scale

151-170-----------------1.00u
171-185-----------------1.25u
186-200-----------------1.50u
201-220-----------------1.75u
221-250-----------------2.00u
251-290-----------------2.25u
291-350-----------------2.50u
351-410-----------------2.75u
411-450-----------------3.00u
451-500-----------------3.25u
 
Not even close ! He didn't give me a chart to dose him, just told me 8 & * inj. with 5 units. He gave me a paper that sais how many units to go up ifnhen went qabove a certain number.
 
Becki,

Would you find that paper the vet gave you and type in what it says. I'd be interested to see it.
 
Deb it's getting close to nine, whay am I doing ? I will take his PMBS at 9;00.p.m. and let you know, just please let me know what to do after that ? I think just a half can is tortureing him. We'll see what his #'s are.
 
yes, that is what he is eating, but he is so hungry Deb.

Then what are we staying with 1.5 units ?
 
Becki,
I don't have your schedule handy. What does it say as far as when the next BG test should be? Oh nevermind, you just posted it...

I'll be around to watch for it.
 
Recap

PMPS ~ 321 (Ate 1/2 can)
+ 1 Gave 2u (ate 1/2 can)
+2 ~ 542
+ 4 ~
 
Much nicer than the 542!

PMPS ~ 321 (Ate 1/2 can)
+ 1 Gave 2u (ate 1/2 can)
+2 ~ 542
+ 4 ~ 316

It's been three hours since his shot, right? And he's had one full can since 9 pm?
 
Yes, he has had one half can with water at 9:10 Sorry at 9:00 np.m. BG321

At 9:54 p.m. I gave him 2 units.
at 9:54 1/2 can with water.
10:54 BG 542
12:54 316
 
OK, well I don't think he will go too low tonight, although I am happy he came down as far as he has.

Do you have a plan in mind for the morning?
 
Carl, test, depending on his numbers i'm not sure about insulin. Feed him (1 1/2 cans of ff with water ), if he reads HI, then I'll give him another 2 Units. If he is lower i'll give him 1.5 unit.

Thank you for being there for me !
 
Becki,
You're very welcome!

And that sounds like a terrific plan for the AM. I'll check in after I get out of bed, but it won't be before that test. I feel certain someone will be here in case you need any help or questions come up.

I think you and Rags are good for the night. :smile:
 
Ok Becki,

Looks like you can call it a night.

Thanks for your plan for the morning. See you in about 6.5 hours.
 
Again Carl, I do nappreciate you being there for Rags. Sounds like almost everyone else gave up on us.

I was just wanting to do everything perfect cause I didn,t want to hurt or kill MY Boy !! Didn't mean to be such a pain in the A.


Thanks, hope to speak to you again !!

Goodnight !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top