[Answered] [Dosing Advice ASAP] Phoebe trending low again (68 mg/dL 2 hours before PMPS)

Hannah and Phoebe

Member Since 2025
Looking for advice on dosage in the next couple hours.

More info:
Phoebe's PMPS will be 2 hours from now (6:30pm MST) and she has been running low all day even with snack at AM+2 and +4, sitting at 68 now on the ReliOn.

We will be going out tonight and my mom will be here watching her. My mom has taken her BG before but is not very experienced with it.

I installed a fresh Libre this afternoon.

She has already earned a reduction to 0.5u today.
 
She has indeed earned a reduction to .5 units tonight. However, how about giving a dose of .25 units tonight since you are going to be out for the evening. At about what + hour do you estimate you will be back? Can your mom reach you via phone if she is concerned— so you can give her instructions?
 
She has indeed earned a reduction to .5 units tonight. However, how about giving a dose of .25 units tonight since you are going to be out for the evening. At about what + hour do you estimate you will be back? Can your mom reach you via phone if she is concerned— so you can give her instructions?
We should be back by +3 or +3.5. My mom can reach us yes! I'll probably be obsessively checking my phone as well!
 
If she’s in the range of a typical AMPS, I would give .5 but only if I was going to be home to monitor/intervene. If not, I might shoot .25 units even if she’s in a typical AMPS range.
 
It looks like a small dose would have been appropriate last night, but I was not comfortable with that since y’all were going out. She did start to go up — all data is good data, though, and we can take that into account for the future. If you had time to stall, we could also have tried that. I am really optimistic for Phoebe right now!
 
Hey Hannah. I just read your other post on the health forum. I’m sorry to hear she’s been having diarrhea on the new food. I hope that the Visbiome will help. It was a real game changer for my IBD cats. It sounds like you are really trying hard to get things under control. Oh, and be sure to switch to the new food SLOWLY or it could further exacerbate the diarrhea.
 
Hey Hannah. I just read your other post on the health forum. I’m sorry to hear she’s been having diarrhea on the new food. I hope that the Visbiome will help. It was a real game changer for my IBD cats. It sounds like you are really trying hard to get things under control. Oh, and be sure to switch to the new food SLOWLY or it could further exacerbate the diarrhea
She has started to turn up her nose at the food that has probiotic mixed in. At first we thought it was just the S. boulardi and it's relatively strong yeasty smell, but she doesn't want to eat the food with VisBiome in it now either. She eats the food without anything mixed in fairly well. Are there other ways to give the probiotic?
 
She has started to turn up her nose at the food that has probiotic mixed in. At first we thought it was just the S. boulardi and it's relatively strong yeasty smell, but she doesn't want to eat the food with VisBiome in it now either. She eats the food without anything mixed in fairly well. Are there other ways to give the probiotic?
I have the same problem with the one picky cat — he does not like the flavor of it. I am currently using the kind that comes in the little packets, but they sell some that comes in capsules, which I have used before. He doesn’t like the flavor of that either, but I am considering loading it into smaller size capsules that he can swallow because the capsules are much too large for a cat to swallow. I suppose you could try splitting up the Visbiome into smaller amounts spread throughout the day. But that might just ruin all of her food for her and she would want none of it. I generally have to put it in something very appetizing, even sometimes baby food or food that he really likes in order to get him to eat it — or I have to sprinkle for Flora on top of it or some Bonita flakes on the top of it to get him to eat the food with Visbiome in it. I do give it to him first thing in the morning in a very small amount of food which probably just makes it taste worse because it’s more concentrated and maybe that’s why he doesn’t want to eat it ….but I have to ensure that he eats it so that’s why I do it that way. After he eats the Visbiome food, he gets plain food with no additives. I feel for you. Getting these supplements into them can be a challenge.
 
I have the same problem with the one picky cat — he does not like the flavor of it. I am currently using the kind that comes in the little packets, but they sell some that comes in capsules, which I have used before. He doesn’t like the flavor of that either, but I am considering loading it into smaller size capsules that he can swallow because the capsules are much too large for a cat to swallow. I suppose you could try splitting up the Visbiome into smaller amounts spread throughout the day. But that might just ruin all of her food for her and she would want none of it. I generally have to put it in something very appetizing, even sometimes baby food or food that he really likes in order to get him to eat it — or I have to sprinkle for Flora on top of it or some Bonita flakes on the top of it to get him to eat the food with Visbiome in it. I do give it to him first thing in the morning in a very small amount of food which probably just makes it taste worse because it’s more concentrated and maybe that’s why he doesn’t want to eat it ….but I have to ensure that he eats it so that’s why I do it that way. After he eats the Visbiome food, he gets plain food with no additives. I feel for you. Getting these supplements into them can be a challenge.
These are good suggestions thank you!
 
Back
Top