Another quick update on the Binkster :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

mybuddybinks

Member Since 2010
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=90023

Well, goodness...I finally got on here and am viewing some condos! :o :-D

I have come to believe that due to the skipping around/inconsistent dosing and my inability to monitor, that i have missed Binksy's optimal dose.
As you can see from his SS, we got up to 3.5u :shock: which seems terribly high to me for a guy who hasn't gone above 2.5,
and his numbers seemed to me like a kitty who is getting too much insulin.
So I decided to run it by y'all, drain his shed and start over with his dosing, but before I could do that, Young Feller decided he was tired of dealing with my fumbling,
and took matters into his own hands: dropping from a 391 pmps to a 48 at amps :o (skipped that shot as I couldn't monitor)...then his next preshot
was blue :-D I BCS'd his next shot at a fat 1.75, took his reduction the next shot to 3.0- after which he earned another reducie...and due to work, I went to 2.0u BCS.
His numbers have encouraged me to keep him at 2.0u- i'm convinced he was getting too much above that.

anyway...we think we've found a new vet- will know Mon how soon we can get in for well check and set up his dental asap.

The Tortie Girls are doing well...
more about us later as i want to catch up on news of our LL fambly :YMHUG:

celi and the irrepressible Beanie-Butt
 
Hi - it's been a while since I've popped in over here - but looks like Binks is doing well! Do you think he might have built up a resistance, and now you're seeing a breakthrough? That drop was something, which led me to wonder, although I've not seen breakthroughs much, just reductions from the REALLY HIGH DOSE kitties. Just a thought! Hope he continues to do so well!

Lu-Ann
 
Morning Celi ~O) ~O) ~O) It's great to hear from you, Life sounds crazy busy! Sometimes cleaning the slate and starting over really is the way to go. I've had to do that with Mannie on a few other med issues. You'll know soon enough if the dose you have chosen is the right one. Sounds like maybe it is. Nice on the new vet - I hope that works out well. You take care! it is great to aave a Binks condo!
 
Hey, Celi!!

Good luck with the new vet. To my eyes, it looks like Binks has been bouncing. Ultimately, you're there and know how he responds to insulin. FWIW, many cats who are back from the Falls need higher doses of insulin to get them back into remission.

The only observation I'd make is that I wouldn't worry about micro-adjustments to the dose just yet. Unless you're zeroing in on a good dose, I'd make dose changes in 0.25u increments vs. fattening/shaving the dose.
 
Hi Celi & Binksy,

I hope Binks gets his dose straightened out so he can tell you what to shoot!! :lol: I also hope that your schedule will permit more visits to LL. It is great to see you again, even though the reason is that Binks fell off the wagon.

Glad to hear that the Tortie gals are well. Find that good dose, Binks!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hey Celi and Binks!!!

Good luck tomorrow with the new vet, and I hope that Binks' visit is a good one. I also hope that you can find the magic dose for Binks to work with. Have a great day! :YMHUG:
 
Hi Celi and Binks! So great to hear from you. Just like that Binksy to take matters into his own paws! :lol: Good luck with the new vet, and with the new dose!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top