Another nice run for Kitty. Keep the .5U or no?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sev

Very Active Member
Now the question is do I keep the .5u or move to .25u?
By the looks of things he should be below 300 if Kitty keeps on course.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Sev, I would go to .25 tomorrow and see what you get. Tonight, up to you if you feel good about giving .25 for an evening shot.

Have to see where his number is.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
I just saw a 175 so he's going down after eating dancing_cat No shot tonight either.

Dont know what to make of it.

+16 test coming up.
 
Well that run without a shot ended high.
We will see how fast .5u brings him down this morning.
 
just a thought, might be worth trying 0.25 so you can shoot AM and PM hopefully. He may not get as low at nadir but hopefully the PS will be lower and keep him more stable.
 
cellosmom said:
just a thought, might be worth trying 0.25 so you can shoot AM and PM hopefully. He may not get as low at nadir but hopefully the PS will be lower and keep him more stable.

I am thinking about going .25 this evening and .5 in the morning.

+10 came in @ 139 with an afternoon snack.

57 points lower than yesterday at the same time with no snack.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
At what time r u planning the .25 tonight? He's still going down.

Dont know.
He could be coming up as I dont know how low he went.
We will know better at +11
 
Great progress the last few days, Sev! Are you planning to give him a shot tonight, or try another evening without? It looks to me like he doesn't like going without insulin for an entire 24 hours.
 
Mystery said:
Great progress the last few days, Sev! Are you planning to give him a shot tonight, or try another evening without? It looks to me like he doesn't like going without insulin for an entire 24 hours.

with his numbers so low I am hesitent to even give him .25. I could be up all night sitting on him.
Have to see where he is at in the next few hours.
 
Sev said:
+14 @ 192.

Hmmm.

He seems to be on his way up again. What are your instincts saying about shot / no shot? I'm not an advice giver by any means, but it does *seem* like he'd be up for at least a drop or two?

I've been looking at his ss every day, btw. He's truly a conundrum, along with being a pretty boy!
 
Mystery said:
Sev said:
+14 @ 192.

Hmmm.

He seems to be on his way up again. What are your instincts saying about shot / no shot? I'm not an advice giver by any means, but it does *seem* like he'd be up for at least a drop or two?

I've been looking at his ss every day, btw. He's truly a conundrum, along with being a pretty boy!

He's a good kitty.

I was thinking at +3 to give him the smallest dosage I can eyeball just so he is not to high in the morning and then I can do the usual shoot in the morning.
 
When did you feed him last? I'd say go ahead; I prefer to have food on board with insulin, even if just a "snack."
 
bookw0rm said:
When did you feed him last? I'd say go ahead; I prefer to have food on board with insulin, even if just a "snack."

3 passed since feeding.

I gave about an oz of Freshpet and shot about .25.
 
Well feeding him appears to have been a mistake.
He just spiked to 440

Better safe than sorry though.

See what it looks like in an hour.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
I thought you were giving him a SNACK of FreshPet?

I did.
Must have been enough kill the last of the insulin. Well no worries about him plummeting at least. :smile:
Hopefully the insulin will kick in and carry him though till the AMPS.
 
Looks like he may have gotten down to the 200's for a while.

Perhaps tonight if he goes long I'll try it without food like Mystery suggested. We now know which way he goes with a snack when going that long.
Tomorrow morning he goes to the vets for the teeth. I would like him to be lower when he gets there if possible.
 
I wasn't suggesting to give a shot without food - it's important that they're eating before (or while getting if one shoots while eating) a shot of insulin. I was thinking more along the lines of it being a logical time to give him some insulin once his BG was going up at +13 because Kitty obviously doesn't like going without it for a full 24 hours.

What is the carb content of the snack you gave him last night (I'm not familiar with Freshpet)? Maybe he'd do better with something zero carb for his food or snacks before the evening shots. And it seems that he had done well with the .5u the past few mornings, so I'm wondering out loud why you chose .25 for the evening. I most likely would have done .25 too because of the long surfs he's had a couple of times over the past few days. But, seeing this mornings #s, I'm wondering if .5 at both morning and evening, for a few of cycles, might have better results. Is that something you'd considered at all?

Please keep in mind that I'm not giving advice for doses, Sev - just throwing out some observations with questions. I'm a question asker, not an advice giver, 'cuz I'm just too new with this Dance of the Sugarplum Kitties.

And good luck to Mr Kitty tomorrow at the vet's office!
 
Mystery said:
I wasn't suggesting to give a shot without food - it's important that they're eating before (or while getting if one shoots while eating) a shot of insulin. I was thinking more along the lines of it being a logical time to give him some insulin once his BG was going up at +13 because Kitty obviously doesn't like going without it for a full 24 hours.

What is the carb content of the snack you gave him last night (I'm not familiar with Freshpet)? Maybe he'd do better with something zero carb for his food or snacks before the evening shots. And it seems that he had done well with the .5u the past few mornings, so I'm wondering out loud why you chose .25 for the evening. I most likely would have done .25 too because of the long surfs he's had a couple of times over the past few days. But, seeing this mornings #s, I'm wondering if .5 at both morning and evening, for a few of cycles, might have better results. Is that something you'd considered at all?

Please keep in mind that I'm not giving advice for doses, Sev - just throwing out some observations with questions. I'm a question asker, not an advice giver, 'cuz I'm just too new with this Dance of the Sugarplum Kitties.

And good luck to Mr Kitty tomorrow at the vet's office!

FreshPet is in a pouch and grilled chicken meat with some vegies(unfortunately). From what I can find it is low carb. I use less than 1 oz as a snack.
His dinner meal was 2.5 oz of Wellness Turkey formula that bangs in at 4 carbs.

Have to see how today plays out.
 
He is dropping about 60 an hour.
+3 @ 263

Could be going blue @ 4. Or darn close.
 
Forgot to mention that this sugardance requires not only a lot of PATIENCE but the ability to have a good LAUGH once in a while....relieves the tension while our cats sleep the day away :lol:
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Forgot to mention that this sugardance requires not only a lot of PATIENCE but the ability to have a good LAUGH once in a while....relieves the tension while our cats sleep the day away :lol:

Un huh. ;-)

Here.

Caption this.

101_0926-1.jpg
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
What great picture. Your horse or neighbors?

Not mine.
This one seems to be living here for the moment. Likes my barn for some reason.
Some times I have a herd of 6 in the yard.
Other days I have a herd of Angus. To which one may make it to my freezer one day. If the owner didnt want me to have it he wouldnt let him in my yard. Right?
Then there is the occasional flock of chickens and Ginny hens.
 
Let's hope he "levels" out now. Did you get my message on the SS? Make sure you speak to the vet on the "no Convenia" shot....not the receptionists, not the vet tech, THE VET.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top