Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:Sev, I would go to .25 tomorrow and see what you get. Tonight, up to you if you feel good about giving .25 for an evening shot.
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:Not much difference EXCEPT no food spike so have to wonder if pancreas is helping out.
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:I just saw a 175 so he's going down after eating dancing_cat No shot tonight either.
cellosmom said:just a thought, might be worth trying 0.25 so you can shoot AM and PM hopefully. He may not get as low at nadir but hopefully the PS will be lower and keep him more stable.
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:At what time r u planning the .25 tonight? He's still going down.
Mystery said:Great progress the last few days, Sev! Are you planning to give him a shot tonight, or try another evening without? It looks to me like he doesn't like going without insulin for an entire 24 hours.
Sev said:+14 @ 192.
Hmmm.
Mystery said:Sev said:+14 @ 192.
Hmmm.
He seems to be on his way up again. What are your instincts saying about shot / no shot? I'm not an advice giver by any means, but it does *seem* like he'd be up for at least a drop or two?
I've been looking at his ss every day, btw. He's truly a conundrum, along with being a pretty boy!
bookw0rm said:When did you feed him last? I'd say go ahead; I prefer to have food on board with insulin, even if just a "snack."
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:I thought you were giving him a SNACK of FreshPet?
HA! We're talking Kitty here ;-)no worries about him plummeting at least
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:HA! We're talking Kitty here ;-)no worries about him plummeting at least
Mystery said:I wasn't suggesting to give a shot without food - it's important that they're eating before (or while getting if one shoots while eating) a shot of insulin. I was thinking more along the lines of it being a logical time to give him some insulin once his BG was going up at +13 because Kitty obviously doesn't like going without it for a full 24 hours.
What is the carb content of the snack you gave him last night (I'm not familiar with Freshpet)? Maybe he'd do better with something zero carb for his food or snacks before the evening shots. And it seems that he had done well with the .5u the past few mornings, so I'm wondering out loud why you chose .25 for the evening. I most likely would have done .25 too because of the long surfs he's had a couple of times over the past few days. But, seeing this mornings #s, I'm wondering if .5 at both morning and evening, for a few of cycles, might have better results. Is that something you'd considered at all?
Please keep in mind that I'm not giving advice for doses, Sev - just throwing out some observations with questions. I'm a question asker, not an advice giver, 'cuz I'm just too new with this Dance of the Sugarplum Kitties.
And good luck to Mr Kitty tomorrow at the vet's office!
;-)He should level out at +6.
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:;-)He should level out at +6.
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:Forgot to mention that this sugardance requires not only a lot of PATIENCE but the ability to have a good LAUGH once in a while....relieves the tension while our cats sleep the day away :lol:
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:What great picture. Your horse or neighbors?