Ozzy Pawzbourne
Member Since 2016
We aim to please....Gotta have some laughter during this madness!!You r way too funny !!!!!

We aim to please....Gotta have some laughter during this madness!!You r way too funny !!!!!

So what do you think? Take him down to .75u tonight or go to .5?I've thought so since the AM cycle of 18 December - nadir 105 on that cycle and general trend in BGs was drifting down a bit.
As you see here today, Vetsulin can really tank BG really fast - hence FDMB Vetsulin Guide recommendation not to aim for nadirs below 100 on a human meter. Keeping the safety buffer there provides a protective cushion should something unusual happen (e.g. not eating as much, vomiting, exercising a little more than usual).
Now that Ozzy is receiving insulin it's taking strain off his pancreas and allowing it to rest - and hopefully recover more beta cell function. Remember how Elmo's BGs gradually eased down the range as his treatment continued.
Mogs
Ha .....We aim to please....Gotta have some laughter during this madness!!![]()


...have a friend who says " if it's not fun, make it funny!"Exactly!!!Ha ........have a friend who says " if it's not fun, make it funny!"
Attaboy, Ozzy!~+4.5 = 113

Will definitely monitor him tonight again at least to +4.We need to see what happens for the rest of the cycle and how the high carb treats affect him BUT if Ozzy were mine I would reduce the dose tonight. I would also plan to monitor him until at least +4 on the PM cycle.
Thanks! Thanks so much for walking me through this.(You're doing great, Jo!)![]()

Around this time two years ago another member was walking me through a low and I was beyond grateful. Back then I never thought for one minute that one day I might be doing the same.Thanks! Thanks so much for walking me through this

Love this!Around this time two years ago another member was walking me through a low and I was beyond grateful. Back then I never thought for one minute that one day I might be doing the same.
The members here have been extraordinarly kind and generous to Saoirse and myself; they have helped us through so much. I am very grateful for a chance to pay forward.
![]()
yes, just posted an update a moment ago. Thanks for checking on us.You both doing OK, Jo?

Thanks for checking on us.

+5.5 = 197. Probably going to go into the high 300's by preshot. Poor kitty... what a rollercoaster for him today. He is sleeping... looks a little wiped out from today's events.
I reckon Ozzy'll be more than willing to forgive you for that particular poke!Promised Pawzie I wasn't going to poke him too much today since I curved him both cycles yesterday. I almost didn't test him again after breakfast today.

It's crazy over here. I was totally not expecting this today. He has been cruising ok for awhile. Today was his lowest number since starting vestulin (well...that was recorded I should say...never know when you are not monitoring).Holy moly! I was out doing errands and missed another kitty crash! What the heck is going on the last few days?? So glad you had help.
When I get back to work after the 2nd, this will not be possible for the AM cycle and I can only do this up to +4 on the PM cycle. Not sure what we are going to do or how to figure this out. Wish I didn't have to give him insulin during the day. Hubby even suggested this... I'm a little confused about our next steps with this since we cannot monitor at work.As I learned more about how Vetsulin affects BG levels I made sure I always tested early in the cycle - AM and PM.
Unfortunately kitties need twice daily dosing with insulin because they metabolize it rapidly. Switching to a slower acting insulin would likely help - are you still considering Lantus? Are you going to lower the dose tonight?When I get back to work after the 2nd, this will not be possible for the AM cycle and I can only do this up to +4 on the PM cycle. Not sure what we are going to do or how to figure this out. Wish I didn't have to give him insulin during the day. Hubby even suggested this... I'm a little confused about our next steps with this since we cannot monitor at work.
I would definitely like to consider a slower acting insulin. Is it too soon to make a switch for Ozzy since he is still all new to this?Unfortunately kitties need twice daily dosing with insulin because they metabolize it rapidly. Switching to a slower acting insulin would likely help - are you still considering Lantus? Are you going to lower the dose tonight?

Once a cat's pattern of response to a depot insulin is better known there are some people who work with a slightly different dosing schedule to the recommended 12/12; for example, some do an 11/13 schedule. While not 'strictly protocol' the possibility is there.I have a busy corporate job and there will be times where the 12/12 may be off by an hour or so, maybe on both ends (AM/PM).

The syringes only have 1U markings. I'm eyeballing the in-between 1U measurements.I suggest getting a cheap 'n' cheerful jeweller's loupe to magnify the syringe markings; makes dose measurement a fair bit easier.
Thanks, I appreciate all your support through the madness.You did really well today, Jo!![]()
We have actually done this a few times due to schedule issues and because I really wanted to be able to get a +4 before bed so I knew Ozzy was going to be ok for the night.11/13 schedule
Girl, your post made me laugh out loudJust got home from our last minute xmas shopping. Holy hell it's a mad house out there. I had to drive 2 miles out of the way and around the mall just to get back to my house (we live on the same road that leads to the mall). Glad to be back! Time for a tottie!!
Just took Ozzy's +10 = 367. He ate a small .5 oz dinner. Will try to feed him more and then will shoot here in a bit. OMG...I sound like a drug addict!
How much???? .75U or .5U? I honestly want an uneventful night tonight. For both Kitty and me..



. Elmo threw me a curve with high(for him) PMPS tonight too...told Mogs I was gonna crate him and send him to her !!! I'm too old for this !!!Glad u got ur shopping finished..our daughter and son in law live in San Francisco and love it . Pray your night is uneventful ...you have earned it for certain !!!!!Do L insulins offer any dosing flexibility? Also, when is the typical nadir for L insulins? I think I saw somewhere on this board that they are closer to 8 hours vs. Vestulin's 4-6 hour nadir. I guess if they don't cause such drastic drops, I might not have to worry so much about being gone from home or late at night when I'm asleep and not able to monitor. Right? Also, aren't the L insulins the ones you use to do the Tight Regulation Protocol? I am very interested in this process. Can you send me any info to read up on? I'm sure you guys/gals have stuff already ready for us newbies to just point and click. Or hoping...L insulin curves tend to be flatter and smoother overall.

Girl, your post made me laugh out loud. Elmo threw me a curve with high(for him) PMPS tonight too...told Mogs I was gonna crate him and send him to her !!! I'm too old for this !!!Glad u got ur shopping finished..our daughter and son in law live in San Francisco and love it . Pray your night is uneventful ...you have earned it for certain !!!!!
Sounds like we've had poor Mogs on Overtime today between us two and all the others she so graciously devotes her time too. I'm surprised these ladies are not charging for their time yet!Mogs I was gonna crate him and send him to her !!!

There's a lot of info on the L insulins in the stickies on that forum.Do L insulins offer any dosing flexibility? Also, when is the typical nadir for L insulins? I think I saw somewhere on this board that they are closer to 8 hours vs. Vestulin's 4-6 hour nadir. I guess if they don't cause such drastic drops, I might not have to worry so much about being gone from home or late at night when I'm asleep and not able to monitor. Right? Also, aren't the L insulins the ones you use to do the Tight Regulation Protocol? I am very interested in this process. Can you send me any info to read up on? I'm sure you guys/gals have stuff already ready for us newbies to just point and click. Or hoping...![]()
See...you guys never disappoint! I haven't checked out the stickies yet but will. Thanks!There's a lot of info on the L insulins in the stickies on that forum.
I think 0.5 u because the greens will leave him more insulin sensitive.Shooting soon.... .5U or .75U????? Whatdayathink?
Ok...I think 0.5
But what does this mean? Insulin sensitive? I don't understand.the greens will leave him more insulin sensitive
When they drop much lower than they've been a process can be triggered whereby the glycogen reserves in the liver are mobilized and turned into glucose which is dumped into the blood stream. This is an attempt to shore up the BG in what appears (to their system) to be an emergency. This can cause BG to shoot high in what we call a bounce, an overreaction. That can deplete those glycogen reserves such that the next time the BG drops lower than what they've been used to those reserves aren't sufficient to counter the drop. BG numbers can then plummet. I call the stored glycogen "bounce fuel". Too many drops into lower than usual numbers can deplete the bounce fuel so the next drop is unopposed by the compensatory mechanism.Ok...
But what does this mean? Insulin sensitive? I don't understand.
Got it. Thanks for taking the time to explain Kris. So basically if his bounce fuel gets depleted, the next time he goes low, his system might not be able to bounce back and he could be facing a real hypo event. Yikes!When they drop much lower than they've been a process can be triggered whereby the glycogen reserves in the liver are mobilized and turned into glucose which is dumped into the blood stream. This is an attempt to shore up the BG in what appears (to their system) to be an emergency. This can cause BG to shoot high in what we call a bounce, an overreaction. That can deplete those glycogen reserves such that the next time the BG drops lower than what they've been used to those reserves aren't sufficient to counter the drop. BG numbers can then plummet. I call the stored glycogen "bounce fuel". Too many drops into lower than usual numbers can deplete the bounce fuel so the next drop is unopposed by the compensatory mechanism.
If it was me, I'd give 0.5 u tonight and both AM and PM tomorrow.Got it. Thanks for taking the time to explain Kris. So basically if his bounce fuel gets depleted, the next time he goes low, his system might not be able to bounce back and he could be facing a real hypo event. Yikes!
Will definitely be giving him .5 units tonight. Should I stick with this dose for awhile and see how he does on it?
Kris, curious your thoughts also on the question I asked Mogs earlier this afternoon.Mogs...do you think the 1U is too much now or always has been? He was doing ok on the 1U so far but still staying mostly yellow and pink. Or do you think that he's starting to get used to insulin and he now needs a lower dose?
The bounce fuel (I've coined a new term!) builds up again over time as they either stay in higher numbers or BG is steady at a good level.Got it. Thanks for taking the time to explain Kris. So basically if his bounce fuel gets depleted, the next time he goes low, his system might not be able to bounce back and he could be facing a real hypo event. Yikes!
Will definitely be giving him .5 units tonight. Should I stick with this dose for awhile and see how he does on it?
Sounds like a good plan. Thank you.If it was me, I'd give 0.5 u tonight and both AM and PM tomorrow.
I like it!!!The bounce fuel (I've coined a new term!)

There could be many factors. If he had high BG for a while, glucose toxicity could have developed which renders the cells less sensitive to insulin (insulin resistance) and a given dose, say 1 u, would have given you pinks and yellows. As insulin therapy proceeds some of the toxicity will diminish making the cells gradually more sensitive to insulin so that the dose will drop them more. That can trigger bouncing. As more time is spent in "healing numbers" as it's referred to here often, the toxicity reverses and the cells become responsive to (generally) lower doses.Kris, curious your thoughts also on the question I asked Mogs earlier this afternoon.
Do you think Ozzy has always been on too high a dose (even at 1U) or do you think he is getting used to insulin, his body is healing, and maybe his diet change to wet only is making him need less insulin?


I gave him the .5 dose tonight. Going to test at +2 and +4. Haven't been able to get a ketone test on him today. He is secretly peeing without me knowing! Think he wants his privacy back. I will try to get another test tonight and if not tomorrow for sure. He has been testing negative all along since he came home from the hospital so that is good.For rest and safety I'd have also suggested the 0.5IU dose. You're still checking for ketones, right?
Yikes. That sounds scary and cold. Hope you have lots of food and firewood and are staying warm.Yes indeedy we are snowed in.
Only if you send me some of that cheap Canadian Lantus I keep hearing about. Yep...it's confirmed...I sound like a drug addict. "But it's for my friend, not me". Yes...I do!I'd be happy to ship some to you so you can melt it down to water your plants!