AMPS 279 Enough data to determine next step?

Karrie and Henry

Member Since 2020
I haven't posted in a while, so I'm not linking the previous thread. I am wondering if there is enough data to determine whether his insulin dose should be changed?

Reminder that he is free fed on dry food - at his leisure. He is on Dr. Elsey's Chicken variety which I'm told is 5% carb.

Thank you for your help.
 
I cannot advise but I would certainly say to get him off the dry food - altogether. Then you can look at how his body adjusts to the low carb wet food and take steps to increase to a dose that will be safe and lower for him.
 
Thank you Susie, that is my goal. It took months to convert my angel Maverick to wet food. Henry wants to take the scenic route as well. I won't give up.
 
With SLGS you do a curve every 7 days and then can increase. Lantus is based upon how low it takes your cat. You don’t have any mid cycle tests at night to know the answer as you are missing half of the info. Cats often drop lower at night. Based upon the mostly yellow daytime nadirs I strongly suspect you need an increase. You have held the dose too long. I would not switch insulin until get a few tests between +4-7 and try increasing. I don’t see any bounces so I think you could increase to 1.25 though.
 
Back
Top