AMPS:254; 59@+4.45

I'm glad she's going back up! I know those drops can be super-scary.

Here is the sticky with the protocol for handling lower numbers:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

It sounds to me like you did a good job with the HC since her numbers are elevated now. The effect of the HC and Karo will be in her system for two hours after ingestion, so you'll want to keep and eye on her and test after that period to ensure she hasn't dropped.
 
Does she get snacks in the first few hours after her shots? Did she still dive 200 points?

How much carbs you need depends on the quantum of the drop, where in the cycle the drop occurs and how carb sensitive the cat is. Later in the cycle, it takes less carbs to bring numbers up. Sometimes, just LC is enough. Today, you could have tried MC first (since it was later in the cycle) and if that wasn't enough, then HC. You need to reach for honey/karo/syrup when HC doesn't bring up numbers and you need to feed higher carbs.
 
This is a post on handling low numbers that may be of help.

It looks like Minky did the same thing on 4/5.

Just out of curiosity, it looks like you are adjusting your dose based on pre-shot numbers, especially in the AM. That's not the best way to dose Lantus. If you keep changing the dose, the depot never stabilizes and you can end up with wonky numbers. I can't tell from your spreadsheet what Mindy's dose is.
 
Does she get snacks in the first few hours after her shots? Did she still dive 200 points?

How much carbs you need depends on the quantum of the drop, where in the cycle the drop occurs and how carb sensitive the cat is. Later in the cycle, it takes less carbs to bring numbers up. Sometimes, just LC is enough. Today, you could have tried MC first (since it was later in the cycle) and if that wasn't enough, then HC. You need to reach for honey/karo/syrup when HC doesn't bring up numbers and you need to feed higher carbs.
She doesn't like/eat snacks. It was within the the first five hours of the cycle. That is considered later in the cycle?
 
This is a post on handling low numbers that may be of help.

It looks like Minky did the same thing on 4/5.

Just out of curiosity, it looks like you are adjusting your dose based on pre-shot numbers, especially in the AM. That's not the best way to dose Lantus. If you keep changing the dose, the depot never stabilizes and you can end up with wonky numbers. I can't tell from your spreadsheet what Mindy's dose is.
As you see from the spreadsheet, I was very consistent at giving 1.25 units for many weeks. However, she has been tanking like she did today quite often by several hundred points within a few hours. People don't understand I work a rigid schedule and cannot come home whenever to check; I only have a narrow band of 25 minutes to come home 4 hours into her cycle. I cannot have her doing that as her life is in danger. I am between a rock and hard place so I feel I have to go it alone.
 
Last edited:
I can understand the predicament. What I can't tell is whether you've been reducing her dose when she's dropping below 90. With all of the jumping around there's no way to know.

One option to consider is whether Lantus is the best choice for your cat. Prozinc may be a bit more flexible with dosing. I'm tagging @Suzanne & Darcy since she's more experienced with Prozinc to see what she thinks. Both Prozinc and Lantus are good insulins.
 
I can understand the predicament. What I can't tell is whether you've been reducing her dose when she's dropping below 90. With all of the jumping around there's no way to know.

One option to consider is whether Lantus is the best choice for your cat. Prozinc may be a bit more flexible with dosing. I'm tagging @Suzanne & Darcy since she's more experienced with Prozinc to see what she thinks. Both Prozinc and Lantus are good insulins.
Thank you.
 
The mini-meals (which consist of a teaspoon or a couple of teaspoons of the cat’s regular low carb food) given several times in the early portion of the cycle are extremely important for stabilizing BG during the early portion of the cycle. Their importance cannot be overstated.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy Her sister was getting into her food and we found out was highly allergic to it. We almost lost her. Trying to navigate two sick cats has been incredibly hard and exhausting. I couldn't leave out Minky's food anymore when I wasn't around. I am waiting for samples of Dr. Elsey's food and ordered three Sure Feed machines hoping this will solve the problem.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy Her sister was getting into her food and we found out was highly allergic to it. We almost lost her. Trying to navigate two sick cats has been incredibly hard and exhausting. I couldn't leave out Minky's food anymore when I wasn't around. I am waiting for samples of Dr. Elsey's food and ordered three Sure Feed machines hoping this will solve the problem.

We have and love two Surefeeders. Hope they work for you!!!
 
@Suzanne & Darcy Her sister was getting into her food and we found out was highly allergic to it. We almost lost her. Trying to navigate two sick cats has been incredibly hard and exhausting. I couldn't leave out Minky's food anymore when I wasn't around. I am waiting for samples of Dr. Elsey's food and ordered three Sure Feed machines hoping this will solve the problem.
What is the food Minky’s sister is allergic to? I am so sorry.
 
What is the food Minky’s sister is allergic to? I am so sorry.
Temptations. She is allergic to beef, yeast, wheat, milk, and corn. Plus I think she is allergic to her thyroid medicine. It has been rough. Blinky was ok with Weruva but Minky seemed to spike on it despite it being under 10% carb. So food has been a tough gauntlet to navigate.
 
Back
Top