? AMPS 179...Dosing help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caitlin M

Member Since 2017
Pita just had a 179 AMPS so I'm not quite sure how much of a reduction to give! 1.5, 1.75...? Help!!
 
Ok, I just did 1.4 to be safe (u 100 syringe) instead of the normal 2. Hopefully that wasn't too little. I hate that I won't be home to test so I'm keeping my fingers crossed! Can someone help me figure out possible future dosing if he has a lower AMPS again? It's extremely nerve wracking when no one else is up yet! Thanks :)
 
Also just gave him a small snack of his treats- still lower carb but more food than he usually eats. I guess I really do need to look into a timed feeder, especially if he somehow stays this low at pre-shots? Mid day feeding is totally new to me though, as they've only ever been fed twice a day. Oy my head :(
 
Ok, I just did 1.4 to be safe (u 100 syringe) instead of the normal 2. Hopefully that wasn't too little. I hate that I won't be home to test so I'm keeping my fingers crossed! Can someone help me figure out possible future dosing if he has a lower AMPS again? It's extremely nerve wracking when no one else is up yet! Thanks :)
That's probably an ok amount. Nice preshot number.
 
I think that was fine Caitlin! It's really hard to decide that since you have no data to go by for such low numbers. With luck, he throws you one on a weekend sometime so you can see how a dose affects him.

Considering 2 has been bringing him down to greens I think 1.4 will be a good safe dose. :)
 
It's great when you get a nice PS like this but also scary until you've handled it a few times. You know the options:
  1. no shot
  2. stall then retest
  3. shoot a lower dose.
Start thinking about what your new no shot number will be. We recommend 200 until people have a lot of data. After that you have to experiment to see what the boundaries are and what your comfort zone is. :)
 
It's great when you get a nice PS like this but also scary until you've handled it a few times. You know the options:
  1. no shot
  2. stall then retest
  3. shoot a lower dose.
Start thinking about what your new no shot number will be. We recommend 200 until people have a lot of data. After that you have to experiment to see what the boundaries are and what your comfort zone is. :)
I definitely forgot about the 200. It'd be nice to see it again tonight or tomorrow am since I can test a bit more both times but I have a feeling I may get a bounce.
i would reduce by .5 is all...
Since I used the u100 needles I couldn't quite get a 1.5 but I'm happy with the amount.
That's probably an ok amount. Nice preshot number.
Thank you!
I think that was fine Caitlin! It's really hard to decide that since you have no data to go by for such low numbers. With luck, he throws you one on a weekend sometime so you can see how a dose affects him.

Considering 2 has been bringing him down to greens I think 1.4 will be a good safe dose. :)
Thanks Rachel, I'd love to see this pre shot number again! Here's hoping.
 
It's scary / exciting when you get that first blue preshot number :)
Yes indeed! I was more bummed that I wouldn't be home to see where he went.

PMPS was 248, so back to the same range as before! I'm sending thoughts his way to give me another lower # tomorrow because I can do a +3 before work. Will do +#'s tonight as well.
 
Side note: they just fully switched over to Friskies on Sunday. Not sure if that's maybe a contributor also
 
+4 was just 79. So give him a bit of his Friskies pate? How much is enough without over doing it?
Maybe two teaspoons or so? The idea is to not fill them up in case they need more food intervention if they drop too low. Make a note of what/how much you gave on your SS in the comments section so you have something to refer to next time.
 
Did you go to Friskies pate from FF pate? If so, they are both similarly low carb I believe. Lots of people use them interchangeably. :)
 
His AMPS was 312 (probable bouncing) and his +2.5 just now was at 184. I need to leave for work before an hour. Should I do the 2 tsp of wet food before I go or leave him be?
 
The food switch could have caused this...even though they are similar in carbs, sometimes kitties just react better to one or the other. ECID!
 
The food switch could have caused this...even though they are similar in carbs, sometimes kitties just react better to one or the other. ECID!
That's kind of what was in the back of my mind. In which case I think it's good! I just need to see what keeps happening and figure out dosing again from there.
 
His AMPS was 312 (probable bouncing) and his +2.5 just now was at 184. I need to leave for work before an hour. Should I do the 2 tsp of wet food before I go or leave him be?
That's a big drop so leave a snack. A tablespoon or so is good. I use teaspoon+ amounts when I'm monitoring around a low but you have to leave.
 
That's a big drop so leave a snack. A tablespoon or so is good. I use teaspoon+ amounts when I'm monitoring around a low but you have to leave.
I'll try to do 2 Tbsp next time I have to leave and can't monitor. Thanks! New stuff to learn I suppose
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top