That's probably an ok amount. Nice preshot number.Ok, I just did 1.4 to be safe (u 100 syringe) instead of the normal 2. Hopefully that wasn't too little. I hate that I won't be home to test so I'm keeping my fingers crossed! Can someone help me figure out possible future dosing if he has a lower AMPS again? It's extremely nerve wracking when no one else is up yet! Thanks![]()
Pita just had a 179 AMPS so I'm not quite sure how much of a reduction to give! 1.5, 1.75...? Help!!
i would reduce by .5 is all...Pita just had a 179 AMPS so I'm not quite sure how much of a reduction to give! 1.5, 1.75...? Help!!
I definitely forgot about the 200. It'd be nice to see it again tonight or tomorrow am since I can test a bit more both times but I have a feeling I may get a bounce.It's great when you get a nice PS like this but also scary until you've handled it a few times. You know the options:
Start thinking about what your new no shot number will be. We recommend 200 until people have a lot of data. After that you have to experiment to see what the boundaries are and what your comfort zone is.
- no shot
- stall then retest
- shoot a lower dose.
![]()
Since I used the u100 needles I couldn't quite get a 1.5 but I'm happy with the amount.i would reduce by .5 is all...
Thank you!That's probably an ok amount. Nice preshot number.
Thanks Rachel, I'd love to see this pre shot number again! Here's hoping.I think that was fine Caitlin! It's really hard to decide that since you have no data to go by for such low numbers. With luck, he throws you one on a weekend sometime so you can see how a dose affects him.
Considering 2 has been bringing him down to greens I think 1.4 will be a good safe dose.![]()
Yes indeed! I was more bummed that I wouldn't be home to see where he went.It's scary / exciting when you get that first blue preshot number![]()
That's a big drop. Maybe give a snack of regular food to see if you can get him levelled off a bit?+3 was at 88. Haven't seen a low number this early after his shot. Will test again in an hour.
Maybe two teaspoons or so? The idea is to not fill them up in case they need more food intervention if they drop too low. Make a note of what/how much you gave on your SS in the comments section so you have something to refer to next time.+4 was just 79. So give him a bit of his Friskies pate? How much is enough without over doing it?
As in no dry at all now? That might well be what's doing it.Side note: they just fully switched over to Friskies on Sunday. Not sure if that's maybe a contributor also
He's only ever had dry as treats for his readings. I mean from FF.As in no dry at all now? That might well be what's doing it.
Yes I did. Just a switch that was new, figured I'd mention it!Did you go to Friskies pate from FF pate? If so, they are both similarly low carb I believe. Lots of people use them interchangeably.![]()
That's kind of what was in the back of my mind. In which case I think it's good! I just need to see what keeps happening and figure out dosing again from there.The food switch could have caused this...even though they are similar in carbs, sometimes kitties just react better to one or the other. ECID!
That's a big drop so leave a snack. A tablespoon or so is good. I use teaspoon+ amounts when I'm monitoring around a low but you have to leave.His AMPS was 312 (probable bouncing) and his +2.5 just now was at 184. I need to leave for work before an hour. Should I do the 2 tsp of wet food before I go or leave him be?
I gave 2 tsp again which he ate before I left.That's a big drop so leave a snack. A tablespoon or so is good. I use teaspoon+ amounts when I'm monitoring around a low but you have to leave.
Not to worry - you're only a teaspoon short (3t = 1T). He'll be OK.I gave 2 tsp again which he ate before I left.
I'll try to do 2 Tbsp next time I have to leave and can't monitor. Thanks! New stuff to learn I supposeThat's a big drop so leave a snack. A tablespoon or so is good. I use teaspoon+ amounts when I'm monitoring around a low but you have to leave.