AMPS 153

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think thats right Olivia.
I was reading the sticky and found this ...if it helps any:
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin once you have data and understand your cat’s cycles. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Prozinc users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
 
You could skip, give a token dose, or feed him and see about dosing in a couple hours. I might go for a token dose if it were me.
 
I’ve noticed some fur loss on his legs. I’m not sure if he’s doing it to himself, or if it is coming out on its own. The fur on his body is actually thicker and in much better condition compared to before I started checking his BG. Should I be concerned about the fur loss on his legs?
 
Not that I know of ... at least not concerning diabetes. If he's doing it himself it's often from stress (new family member/loss of family member/big change/etc). Maybe post a pic on Main Health for opinions. One of my girls was overgrooming from stress and she lost a lot of fur on her tummy.
 
He had fur loss before his diagnosis, then it cleared up after some time with insulin. I can’t help but be a little worried. There is nothing new at home at all, and I’m here with him most days. I’ll post on the other forum—thank you!
 
Fur loss can be indicative of a lot of things, like stress or fleas or parasites. Fleas are usually an issue on the base of the tail though. Would be curious to see what the others think!
 
I’ll try to get a good photo of it—it’s hard since his fur is different shades of gray & white lol. He isn’t acting like anything is wrong, so that is comforting. I meant to ask earlier—was his low AMPS indicative of anything? Or just part of the process? Sorry for all the questions!
 
If you're bumping the dose tonight and getting in a "before you leave" test tomorrow you should be good I would think. Most people leave out MC if they suspect numbers will be running lower if they have to step out.
Sounds good! I’ll have to see if I have medium carb food, if not I’ll go buy some. Problem is, his three other siblings will eat it too lol. Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top