Amethyst day 2 on 1.5U increase 7/26/17

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela & Amethyst

Member Since 2016
Amethyst +6 at 1AM was440 AMPS was446 +6 at 1PM was 420 PMPS was 429 I am concerned her numbers are not going down Tomorrow will be her third day on th 1.5U increase and her seventh day on LANTUS. Why is there no change?? Should I increase her to 2U starting Thursday if her numbers tomorrow do not change?? HELP please THank you
 
Here is your link to yesterday's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amethyst-first-day-on-1-5u-increase.181240/
I see you have opened multiple posts today. Due to the volume, we suggest opening just one, so all the day's content is in one place.

We suggest at least three days or six cycles on a dose. The depot is not established yet. If at the end of six cycles on this dose you don't see anything below 300, then increase to 2.0 units. You did start on too low a dose of Lantus, but you are now going up as fast as safely possible. Hang on, you will get there. How is Amethyst feeling on Lantus?
 
Hi sorry about all the threads I could not find my first one to edit? Tomorrow will be her third day on 1.5U. I do not want to go too fast I want her to get regulated safely. Amethyst thank GOD is feeling fine.She is playing with her toys and her brother JoJo. I am just worried about ketones. I do not have any money to buy strips to test her.So to follow protocol if her numbers do not go below 300 tomorrow. I increase to 2U starting Thursday?? Thank you for your help and patience
 
Hi sorry about all the threads I could not find my first one to edit?

If you click on your sign on name (top right) you'll see "Your Content"....that will help you find your post

If she doesn't get into much better numbers tomorrow, I'd increase Friday morning....depends on the numbers you get tomorrow whether you go up to 1.75 or 2U (at this point, I'd say 2U but these kitties have been known to surprise us before!)

Ketone strips aren't too expensive....you can get them at WalMart for less than $10
 
Hi CHris Thank you I only have $4 until Aug 2. I just tested her at midnight and she is up to 495!!!!! That is so not OKAY She has gone down all the other nights
 
Hi How are you? I am wide awake right now No she did not get into anything because there is nothing for her to get into I am patient I just do not want her to have any internal damage because of these numbers Will she be alright????
 
I just do not want her to have any internal damage because of these numbers Will she be alright????

It really takes quite a long time to do damage due to high numbers....we're talking weeks/months, not days...the most important thing to watch for is the development of ketones

If she starts to act really sick, refuses to eat, become lethargic, it will be vital that you find a way to check for ketones or get her to the vet.
 
I'd mail you a check to get strips but I think it would get there right on Aug 2. Do you have a paypal account? I can send you $10 for that peace of mind.

She can handle the high like Chris said.....
as long as no infection is brewing, she is likely okay but these things have a way of happening so we want you
to be able to watch for ketones.
 
HI thank you for your help and kindness!!! I have a youcaring account for Amethyst the money goes right into my account it is youcaring.com/amethystgiarrizzo-683848 She was at 495 at midnight todays AMPS is 442 so she dropped alittel and right now she is looking for food So that is a good sign!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top