Amethyst 01/13/2018 PMPS 49 NO SHOT THANK YOU EVERYONE!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Pam,
Looks like she may be intending to clear the bounce. If this were me, I would get a +4, but certainly no later than +5, just in case you need to steer her numbers with food.

BTW here's the link to your last post.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amethyst-01-12-2018-pmps-285.189504/#post-2109123

Do you think you could always link your previous post on each new thread. Most of us will link the previous thread, so that anyone that is stopping by to help, can quickly and easily look back through the history. When you are trying to help several people at once it saves a lot of time, and looking through the history is important when you are trying to help someone.

Thanks.
 
Hi Pam,
Looks like she may be intending to clear the bounce. If this were me, I would get a +4, but certainly no later than +5, just in case you need to steer her numbers with food.

BTW here's the link to your last post.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amethyst-01-12-2018-pmps-285.189504/#post-2109123

Do you think you could always link your previous post on each new thread. Most of us will link the previous thread, so that anyone that is stopping by to help, can quickly and easily look back through the history. When you are trying to help several people at once it saves a lot of time, and looking through the history is important when you are trying to help someone.

Thanks.
 
HI Thank you for your help and support:bighug: She looks for food when she is dropping just like you had said I am sorry I have not a clue as to how to link my threads???I know it is important I do not know how to do it
 
Stopping in and whoa Amethyst!!! Looks similar to the cycle two days ago...
You're doing a great job. Is she still only eating salmon treats or will she eat something with a MC/HC content?
:bighug:for you Pamela
 
Stopping in and whoa Amethyst!!! Looks similar to the cycle two days ago...
You're doing a great job. Is she still only eating salmon treats or will she eat something with a MC/HC content?
:bighug:for you Pamela
She has been eating all day the more she eats the lower she goes
 
Will she lick up gravy from a MC/HC wet cat food?

The deli meat and cheese has little to no carbs. Would like to see her get some carbs in to boost her BG up
 
I agree you need to get some HC food into her now.
If don't have HC food, add a drop of syrup/honey to her regular food.

Then test in 20min.
 
If she's a fan of deli meat I would even try to "smear" some syrup or honey on the meat and see if she'll go for it. Not a ton that its dripping off...

Or just put some in her mouth
 
HI Thank you for your help and support:bighug: She looks for food when she is dropping just like you had said I am sorry I have not a clue as to how to link my threads???I know it is important I do not know how to do it

Linking your threads (condos): When you start a new thread (condo) for the day, copy and paste the url from the day before into it. You can find your thread (condo) from the day before, by going to the top right of the page, where you will see a menu. click on the part of the menu that has your name on it, and select "your content". You'll find your previous thread (condo) in there.
 
Linking your threads (condos): When you start a new thread (condo) for the day, copy and paste the url from the day before into it. You can find your thread (condo) from the day before, by going to the top right of the page, where you will see a menu. click on the part of the menu that has your name on it, and select "your content". You'll find your previous thread (condo) in there.
Thanks!
 
If she's a fan of deli meat I would even try to "smear" some syrup or honey on the meat and see if she'll go for it. Not a ton that its dripping off...

Or just put some in her mouth
I had to put it in her mouth She has been eating all day and now she does not want any more food
 
She's surfing like she did on 1/1/18 than went up so this is looking very similar.

Did you give karo on that day and she didn't rise then either?
 
(((Pamela)))...breathe
Do you have a feeding syringe that you can give her just a little more karo?
If she's full need to be careful not to give too much Karo with a syringe, we don't want to make her sick.

I'd probably hold off that option as long as she is not coming down any further.
 
As she is below 50, and you have been giving carbs, I would recommend you skip tonight. I know you might rather not, but look how quickly she got over the skipped shot last time. I think the depot is a little overfull, and is making it so you have to fight the numbers to keep her up.

I do think you need to reduce, the dose. Let's see how this plays out before making a decision.
 
Well if I were you I would run to a roulette table and put a $100 bill on the number 49!:p

If she likes cheese I wonder if a little dollop of cream cheese mixed with a little honey next time?? Something she can eat herself and you don't have to rub anything on her gums or syringe it in....
Cream cheese is a good idea as far as going out to play a number I do not think it would be safe
 
As she is below 50, and you have been giving carbs, I would recommend you skip tonight. I know you might rather not, but look how quickly she got over the skipped shot last time. I think the depot is a little overfull, and is making it so you have to fight the numbers to keep her up.

I do think you need to reduce, the dose. Let's see how this plays out before making a decision.
Okay Thanks!
 
Okay because she is an acro Wendy had told me that her reductions are .5 not .25
Yes, but it's to do with the size of dose.

Over 5u but below 10 you do dose changes in 0.5 unit steps.

It's midnight for me, so I'm heading to bed.

I'm glad she's up at 60, so no more food but you still need to make sure she's going to stay up when the carbs wear off.

If you last fed HC at pmbg, then that would be at +14(+2).

Even though you have not shot, the depot can still influence the early part of the cycle so it's best not to get complacent.

Well done tonight.
 
Yes, but it's to do with the size of dose.

Over 5u but below 10 you do dose changes in 0.5 unit steps.

It's midnight for me, so I'm heading to bed.

I'm glad she's up at 60, so no more food but you still need to make sure she's going to stay up when the carbs wear off.

If you last fed HC at pmbg, then that would be at +14(+2).

Even though you have not shot, the depot can still influence the early part of the cycle so it's best not to get complacent.

Well done tonight.
 
Hi Pamela,
I rarely post anymore, but know Wendy is out today. I saw your situation and wanted to see if I could help for next time you have a similar situation.

With a higher dose cat, it often helps to think of dose changes in the 10% range, both increasing and decreasing, with the caveat that they can have a changing circumstances so sometimes you have to be more flexible and take larger increments of dose reductions. Especially if a cat is going down the dosing scale!!

If punkin (acro) had low numbers and was earning a dose reduction, I typically gave him a 50% dose shot, followed by a return to a new 10% lower dose with the following shot. Nothing wrong with skipping a shot like you did tonight, either, especially if either you or Amethyst is worn out.

Wendy found Neko did well with a one time 66% dose, followed by a new lower dose.

You are at the data-gathering stage. Make comments in her ss on what you gave her to bring her #s up, both what it was and how much quantity. It will help you tremendously as you navigate ahead.

With higher dose kitties you will want to find something that she will eat that can successfully raise her bgs and stock up on it. Try some different gravy choices, add honey or Karo to it to increase the carb value.

As someone said, deli meat may not have much carbs and I don't think cheese would have any. I just looked at some cheddar and it had 0 carb's and 0 sugar. I think that's why you weren't seeing her numbers raise - she needed high carbs, over 16% to change the trajectory of her cycle. It wasn't so much that eating was driving her numbers down, but that the Lev cycle was reducing her bgs and what she was eating wasn't bringing her up.

It can really help to dole out the high carb and keep her hungry. When you're dealing with low numbers, you don't want to feed her anything that isn't helping. Many people alternate gravy with the meat- the gravy raises the bgs and the meat can help sustain it.

Next time following low numbers, you might want to try a 2/3 dose, or a 1/2 dose for the following shot to see what each of those do. Your notes will help you figure out what works best for Amethyst. Remember the onset of the following shot isn't going to be for several hours.

Hope some of that is helpful as you think about next time. I'll look later to see of you have any follow up questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top