? AM fur shot, dosing mid day and spreadsheet

Eileen & Bitty-KC

Member Since 2026
Today was obviously a fur shot or mostly | (7:45 AM).
AMPS 365 3oz FF | 0.75U | +4.39 303 | +6.06 336 Dosed again 0.75, restarted the clock | +4.29 95 1.5oz FF | +5.32 130 | +7 182 snack | +8.10 206.

Could I give the normal (for now) 0.25U at +10? It would be eight hours until normal AMPS but I could stall for an hour maybe more.

Bitty’s blood sugar after AM insulin was much higher than normal and started rising early. I believe it was a fur shot. I decided to dose again at the six hour mark and started at zero hour for logging the time since insulin.
How do you enter this in the spreadsheet? I made an attempt using a second row but I’d appreciate insight from anyone who knows how to log it when this happens and the clock essentially starts over.

~Eileen🌻🐢
(Lantus pending-see reply below)
 
Last edited:
Hi Eileen! I’m not exactly sure how I’d note that in the spreadsheet, because your +* times would be all shifted… @Bandit's Mom how would you handle that?

Next time if you think you did a fur shot, I wouldn’t dose again even if it’s tempting. You never know how much insulin actually got in… better safe than sorry and one cycle in higher numbers isn’t the end of the world in the big picture.

One other flyby thought and I can chat in more detail with you in the morning, but have you thought about giving Lantus a try? I think one of the complaints about Vetsulin is it doesn’t last long enough, which kind of lines up with what I’m seeing in Bitty’s sheet.
 
Hi Eileen! I’m not exactly sure how I’d note that in the spreadsheet, because your +* times would be all shifted… @Bandit's Mom how would you handle that?

Next time if you think you did a fur shot, I wouldn’t dose again even if it’s tempting. You never know how much insulin actually got in… better safe than sorry and one cycle in higher numbers isn’t the end of the world in the big picture.

One other flyby thought and I can chat in more detail with you in the morning, but have you thought about giving Lantus a try? I think one of the complaints about Vetsulin is it doesn’t last long enough, which kind of lines up with what I’m seeing in Bitty’s sheet.
Thanks Tim, Lantus has been approved but I didn’t have all the supplies. @GreySnowman sent me almost all I need. Just need the ketone meter and strips and make sure I understand the game plan. My goal is tight reg but I'll start SLGS and get accustomed to it. I need to understand the schedule of feedings (frequency and amount) snacks (how much of a treat is a snack?), and frequency of ketone testing before I pull the trigger on Lantus. I wish there was a concise guide. I read Tilly's but I'm unsure if that's the TR people follow because the info on how to do TR with Lantus or ProZinc is spread across so many links that I'm having a difficult time getting a clear picture and making a plan. I'm grateful for all that people have contributed but it feels a bit needle in the haystack. I'll get there.
 
Great! Sounds like you have a good handle on things and a good path forward.

I’ve always gone by this link from the Lantus area for TR information. If I’m recalling the history correctly, this forum uses an adapted version of Tilly’s. But that’s how it got started a long time ago. @Wendy&Neko probably can explain it better, and might want to get some eyes on Bitty too. She has experience making the Vetsulin to Lantus switch with her Neko.

What’s your feeding schedule like now? I would say there isn’t a one size fits all solution. But I can share what worked with Pookey. Goal was 250-300 calories for the day for us. The two main meals at shot time, we do half a can of FF (90 calories per can). Then from there divide up the remaining calories over the first half of the insulin cycles. +2, +4, and +6 are a good starting point. Of course if he is going low you can be flexible. But I found eliminating a variable with food timing was really helpful for us. I’ll admit, since being off insulin we have gotten a bit more lax about his food schedule… I need to get back to that 🙃

How much does he weigh? And does he need to gain or lose? We can figure out a calorie target if you need help with that.

Ketone testing if he doesn’t have a history, maybe every couple days or so if he’s running high.
 
I’m not exactly sure how I’d note that in the spreadsheet, because your +* times would be all shifted… @Bandit's Mom how would you handle that?
I've not encountered a scenario where insulin has been given again after a furshot. I think that the way @E-KC has recorded it might be the best way, given it's Vetsulin and not a depot insulin.
 
As mentioned before, never give a second shot after a fur shot. I've seen too many people find out later they got most of the insulin in the first time.

As far as showing how you could show a shot not at normal times, take a look at Neko's 2015 SS on May 30th and 31st. Due to extenuating circumstances, I had to shoot two back to back 18 hours cycles. The spreadsheet shows the shot 18 hours after the next one. And the following AMPS 17 hours after that.

The modifications you'd make are to change the 0.75 in the AMPS cell to 0.75FS (for fur shot). You can use PFS for partial fur shot. At +6, you'd note 336@+6 0.75U. You can do that all in one line. Since you didn't dose at PMPS, just enter "skip" or NS for no shot.
 
Back
Top