All over the place. Not sure what I'm missing, vet is no help.

Michi&Charlie

Member Since 2026
Hello again Lovelies,

We've been struggling over here with Charlie's sugars and I'm not quite sure where we are going wrong. I just spent the last little bit entering all his data into his spreadsheet. We use a notebook to log since I'm not home everyday (four day long shifts out of town) and my hubby, Matthew, and I are basically taking shifts with Charlie. Charlie is slowly adjusting to testing, but it's been a bit of a rollercoaster. He also just finished treatment for an upper respiratory infection and was on both cortisone/antibiotic eye drops and an oral antibiotic which we recently finished. Now that the infection has cleared up, I'm hoping we will see some more stability but I'm not 100% sure how much of an effect that had. I know in humans, that sort of thing can cause drastic shifts in blood sugars, so maybe? 🤷‍♀️

One of our major hurdles that we've encountered is our vet is not the most helpful individual I've ever met and doesn't seem very knowledgeable. When I ask why to any instruction, I get repeated instructions with no explanations and I think that he has decided I'm "difficult". He's not wrong, lots of people find me "difficult" but it doesn't mean that in this case I'm wrong either. 🤣 I absolutely plan to go to another clinic next time, but we are severally short on the funds right now to do so. The vet we have been seeing has been emailing back and forth with me but his instructions don't seem correct to me. From day one, he has repeatedly instructed me to only feed Charlie twice daily. Every 12 hours when he gets his shot, and that's all. That's despite the fact that Charlie was severally underweight at his appt on Feb 21, (3.4 kg and he's a very large framed, lanky cat- he's a loooong boy). He even commented on him being too thin for his size and that it was indicative that he's probably been unwell for a while (honestly, I should have taken him in years ago. I was terrified that they would just tell me "he is old" and tell me to put him down. I've been kicking myself since he was diagnosed for not taking him in when he first started to lose his appetite.) It's also despite the fact that Charlie has been free fed his entire 19 years of life, has never been a cat that gorges and never over weight. I can't recall what he weighed at his healthiest, but he was very muscular, athletic and never chunky fella.

Since starting the insulin, Charlie is ravenous. Every four hours around the clock he is crying and yowling for food. He comes over to me and his stomach is audibly growling. He's not gorging, he's not eating because he's bored. He's legitimately hungry. He doesn't rush through the meal but usually cleans his plate, or takes a break and goes back to it later and finishes then. So, I've been pretty well feeding him a small amount of food whenever he really persistently asks for it. Sometimes at night I can ignore him and he'll settle without eating for a little bit, but then when he next asks he's VERY adamant that he needs to eat "RIGHT NOW, MAMA!". We've cut out almost all treats, with the exception of some freeze dried treats, and he gets one of those Delectable tube treats once a day. With the exception of the odd treat (to get him through to his next feeding if he's being super demanding but it seems to close to his previous feeding), we feed him a small serving of either Fancy Feast pate, Almo Nature (the low carb varieties), Tiki Cat or raw cat food.

I switched to a couple of different raw foods and have noticed something odd, that maybe means that I don't quite understand the nutritional side as well as I thought I did. One of the new raw foods is not a complete food but a supplement, that consists of 100% beef organ meat. We use it sparingly as a treat, he loves it, and it doesn't seem to cause any sudden or drastic changes to his BGL. However, the other new one I picked out, seems to cause him to end up high, but I don't understand why. It says on the package that it's 1% carbs, and the ingredients seem ok to me. The only possibility I see is that it lists barley and wheat grasses as the 7th and 8th on the list. I've attached pics of the package. His previous raw food that I used to feed him sometimes has a bunch of fruits and vegetables in there so I purposely didn't buy that one again. I thought this one would be a better choice, and he freaking LOVES the stuff, but it seems like every time I give it to him he has a high reading later. I's super confused because it seems like a significant high for what I thought was still a low carb food despite the grasses, so now I'm not sure I understand any of it.

I can't stick to one food or brand because Charlie absolutely refuses. He used to be that cat that ate the same kibble and cans for a decade then one day he just stopped. Now if I give him the same thing two days in a row he looks at me like "Are you kidding me, Mama?". He's an elderly fella and I try to give him variety for enrichment as well, he doesn't have a lot of excitement in his days anymore (though he did have some very strong opinions over the new to the neighbourhood, adolescent ginger kitty who showed up outside the bedroom window the other night at 3 am). I don't think restricting him to two meals per day, 12 hours apart is reasonable at all and I refuse to follow the vet's instruction. I think the vet genuinely thinks this disease is just too difficult to manage any other way and I refuse to buy into it. I've been rewarded with a very happy kitty who's putting on weight, has more energy, is back to being playful and looks like he feels better, but his sugars are all over the place. I can spot when his sugars are high even before I double check with a poke because he starts to get a tiny bit unsteady/wobbly or just slightly ... off. I can tell when the insulin starts to drop his sugar because he perks up and can hold his tail nice and high and trots around like a much younger cat. I'm willing to do whatever I have to do to give him the best golden years of his life I can. I don't care if it's going to be more difficult if it means that he's happy and comfortable. No doctor would tell a human diabetic to only eat two meals a day just because otherwise it makes it harder to manage, they would teach the person how to manage it better in order to have a better life.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. I tried to include as many details as I could in the remarks on the spreadsheet.

~Michi&Charlie
 

Attachments

  • IMG_8114.jpeg
    IMG_8114.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 21
  • IMG_8115.jpeg
    IMG_8115.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 17
  • IMG_8116.jpeg
    IMG_8116.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 17
  • IMG_8117.jpeg
    IMG_8117.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 15
Welcome to FDMB
It is overwhelming to hear your fur baby is diagnosed with Feline diabetes, but the good thing is that it is manageable, with the right insulin, dose, diet and home testing, and lots of cuddles,
1-INSULIN - Lantus/Basaglar and ProZinc are the best insulins for cats they are a 12-hour insulin gentle on the cat-the protocols is TEST-FEED-SHOOT
2-HOME TESTING -
Testing before each shot is important, to avoid hypoglycemia, which you already do, as well as 3-4 times during the day, if you cannot test during the day you might want to consider the CGM LIBRE by ABBOTT, is a continuous glucose reading sensor., also you really do not need to use the AlphTrak, the strips are very expensive, any human meter is just as accurate, most members use the ReliOn human meter and strips (Walmar) $9.00 for the meter, $9.00 for 50 strips or $17.00m for 100, is always good to have extra strips handy
3- DIET - a diabetic cat needs to have a diet of wet can or raw food between 0-10% carbs, most members use Fancy Feast Pates or Friskies pates, most feed up to 5%, below is a link on food lists, the third column contains the carbs for each food, also a food calculator, you will always look for the dry matter carbs, the food you are feeding is 14% carbs, a medium high Carb food, also it is important to feed 3-4 small meals or snack during the day, to keep the insulin in check, if you are not home during the day, you might want to look into a wet food feeder, some have cameras and chips., most dry foods contain between 20-30% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, therefore damaging the pancreas, NO grazing, Charlie needs to be on a feeding schedule, and no food 2 hours before shot,
0-10% LOW CARBS / 11-15% MEDIUM CARBS / 16-24% HIGH CARBS
4- KETONES - When Charlie was diagnosed, did they test for Ketones? this also can be a reason for such high glucose, you can get at any pet store or Walmart if you are in US a Ketone kit, is a strip you place the strip under Charlie as he pees, or you can collect it from a container, as long as it is not contaminated, and compare on the chart. If Ketones are present, food is the best medicine, we are here for you, thank you for creating your signature and Charlie's SS, if there's anything else I missed on your concerns, please post us, we are here for you, and yes, you can do this, it gets easier. 🫶 ;)

Info - Dr. Pierson - new Food Chart
Carb Calculator - Felinediabetes.com
 
OP's first thread for reference: Charlie just diagnosed on Saturday, I just found you guys!

Food is something you can safely agree to disagree with the vet about. Feed your cat more! Diabetic cats do better if they have small snacks to eat throughout the day, just like Human diabetics who often eat healthy snacks to keep their blood glucose levels stable. A programmable timed feeder works great for this purpose if you aren't home during the day. Put low carb canned food in the feeder, not raw since that would't be safe.

If the raw food spikes bgs, then don't feed it as the main diet. Keep it on hand as a sort of medium carb food to use for a hypo. Some diabetics are sensitive to carb-y things in food.
 
Thank you Squeem3 for attaching the first thread, well, Charlie is twice informed ;)
 
Welcome to FDMB
It is overwhelming to hear your fur baby is diagnosed with Feline diabetes, but the good thing is that it is manageable, with the right insulin, dose, diet and home testing, and lots of cuddles,
1-INSULIN - Lantus/Basaglar and ProZinc are the best insulins for cats they are a 12-hour insulin gentle on the cat-the protocols is TEST-FEED-SHOOT
2-HOME TESTING -
Testing before each shot is important, to avoid hypoglycemia, which you already do, as well as 3-4 times during the day, if you cannot test during the day you might want to consider the CGM LIBRE by ABBOTT, is a continuous glucose reading sensor., also you really do not need to use the AlphTrak, the strips are very expensive, any human meter is just as accurate, most members use the ReliOn human meter and strips (Walmar) $9.00 for the meter, $9.00 for 50 strips or $17.00m for 100, is always good to have extra strips handy
3- DIET - a diabetic cat needs to have a diet of wet can or raw food between 0-10% carbs, most members use Fancy Feast Pates or Friskies pates, most feed up to 5%, below is a link on food lists, the third column contains the carbs for each food, also a food calculator, you will always look for the dry matter carbs, the food you are feeding is 14% carbs, a medium high Carb food, also it is important to feed 3-4 small meals or snack during the day, to keep the insulin in check, if you are not home during the day, you might want to look into a wet food feeder, some have cameras and chips., most dry foods contain between 20-30% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, therefore damaging the pancreas, NO grazing, Charlie needs to be on a feeding schedule, and no food 2 hours before shot,
0-10% LOW CARBS / 11-15% MEDIUM CARBS / 16-24% HIGH CARBS
4- KETONES - When Charlie was diagnosed, did they test for Ketones? this also can be a reason for such high glucose, you can get at any pet store or Walmart if you are in US a Ketone kit, is a strip you place the strip under Charlie as he pees, or you can collect it from a container, as long as it is not contaminated, and compare on the chart. If Ketones are present, food is the best medicine, we are here for you, thank you for creating your signature and Charlie's SS, if there's anything else I missed on your concerns, please post us, we are here for you, and yes, you can do this, it gets easier. 🫶 ;)

Info - Dr. Pierson - new Food Chart
Carb Calculator - Felinediabetes.com
We haven't been testing Charlie much throughout the day just because he's still pretty stressed when we do it and we haven't wanted to push it too much too soon. We can not afford the continuous tracker. We do have a human monitor as well, but it requires 3 times as much blood and we can't get that much reliably from him. We did several tests between the two monitors and figured out the differences, so when we get enough blood we test on the human, when we don't, we use the alpha to save us money. The numbers on the spreadsheet are adjusted (hubby is good at math -adjusted them for me so I could put them in the spreadsheet). I have been looking at the food lists, and immediately swapped out some of his previous canned food to lower carb options. That said, I don't understand how you got 14% carbs for the food I'm giving him. I assume you're talking about the raw food, the one in the photos? How did you come to that percentage? He receives no dry food and hasn't for many years now, even pre-diagnosis. He eats at regular intervals (approx every 4 hours as stated in my post) and that schedule doesn't really vary from day to day as Matthew is home nearly every day. There's no grazing, unless he didn't quite lick the plate clean in one sitting, but normally he eats it all. The vet also told us that we should be giving him the shot 15-20 minutes after his food to avoid driving him into hypoglycemia. We test him in the morning before feeding him breakfast (much to his dismay), feed him, then give him his shot about 20 minutes later. (Same process 12 hours later for his evening dose, but obviously with less fasting as he eats throughout the day). He did not have ketones present when they tested him, there was one day when he had a very high BGL where I could smell ketones coming off of him, but that was gone after he received his shot.
 
Last edited:
OP's first thread for reference: Charlie just diagnosed on Saturday, I just found you guys!

Food is something you can safely agree to disagree with the vet about. Feed your cat more! Diabetic cats do better if they have small snacks to eat throughout the day, just like Human diabetics who often eat healthy snacks to keep their blood glucose levels stable. A programmable timed feeder works great for this purpose if you aren't home during the day. Put low carb canned food in the feeder, not raw since that would't be safe.

If the raw food spikes bgs, then don't feed it as the main diet. Keep it on hand as a sort of medium carb food to use for a hypo. Some diabetics are sensitive to carb-y things in food.
Sorry, I didn't realize I should have kept the same thread going. Whoopsy.

Raw is safer than you'd think even when it's out for some time, so I'm not concerned about that. At least one of us is home most of the time anyway, as Matthew isn't working right now, and when I'm not on shift I'm practically a hermit so it's very rarely an issue anyway.

The thing I don't understand is why that raw food is spiking him when the packaging says it's 1% carb. I'm missing something there.

Also, I'm wondering if I should be giving him perhaps three doses per day of his insulin. I know basalglar is long acting, but I'm wondering if he should be getting a dose, perhaps using a sliding scale to determine size, 3 times per day instead of two? I feel like right now we are wildly swinging up and down and I don't quite understand why.
 
The carb %, I got from the nutrients on the label from the picture, you may use this calculator below, we are looking for the dry matter carb
Lantus is a 12 hour insulin, it LASTS 12-hours, if you give 3 dose, it is administered by the dose prescribed, not by size scale Charlie will be in a constant hypoglycemic mode, which is very dangerous and it can affect his heart and other organs as well as it can kill him, and the increases should be of 0.25units at a time, especially that you can’t test during the day and the insulin kicks in 2 hours after shot
 
Last edited:
Herer is the carb calculator link, also check the insulin vial the insulin should not be cloudy or with particles in the bottom, you should lightly roll or turn the vial a few times in your hand, not shake, it corrupts the insulin otherwise, as well as kept refrigerated at the same temperate, you have been doing everything right as per your answers And we do recommend wet or raw food for diabetic cats as well You have noted all the right things you are doing just giving other ideas as why such a high BG

Carb Calculator - Felinediabetes.com
 
Last edited:
I've never heard of dosing insulin three times a day. @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Wendy&Neko may know more or can better advise on what else you can do for your cat.

What Human meter are you using? Some meters only need a tiny 0.3 ul drop of blood. Other meters need 1 ul, too big for many people to get from a cat. Have you seen the test tips? Hometesting Links and Tips Toasty warm ear and good firm prick of the ear will get blood. Adjust the device depth setting too. If the lancet device doesn't work well, try a different brand. Some have a clear cap that makes it easy to see where you are poking.

With cats, who knows? A zero carb food of one brand might spike bgs while a different brand with zero carbs might not. If you think the raw food is spikng bgs, best to not feed it if you have other foods that you feed and doesn't spike bgs.
 
I've never heard of dosing insulin three times a day. @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Wendy&Neko may know more or can better advise on what else you can do for your cat.

What Human meter are you using? Some meters only need a tiny 0.3 ul drop of blood. Other meters need 1 ul, too big for many people to get from a cat. Have you seen the test tips? Hometesting Links and Tips Toasty warm ear and good firm prick of the ear will get blood. Adjust the device depth setting too. If the lancet device doesn't work well, try a different brand. Some have a clear cap that makes it easy to see where you are poking.

With cats, who knows? A zero carb food of one brand might spike bgs while a different brand with zero carbs might not. If you think the raw food is spikng bgs, best to not feed it if you have other foods that you feed and doesn't spike bgs.
It's a spare I got from my work place, called Nova Express with StatStrips. We got new ones on the ambulance last year that use different strips so I was allowed to take the old monitor and several packs of strips. I'm not sure what size of drop they require but if I had to estimate, I think it's likely 3x the amount of the alpha. I am occasionally able to get a full human strip's worth of blood, and I always use the warm sock method and vaseline so it beads nicely but sometimes those ears just don't like to bleed. I've tried to tell him to work on that, but he told me he thinks I'm a jerk for taking it in the first place. I bought 28g lancets and that helps too. I didn't realize that there were any human ones that only required 0.3ul so I'll look into those after I use up my Alpha strips. I did find some cheap on eBay that are expiring soon for half the usual price, so I've got enough strips for a little while.

I didn't know that even a low carb food can cause spikes! I only have one of the frozen packs left so I'll give that to my mother in law for her kitty. He'll enjoy it.
The carb %, I got from the nutrients on the label from the picture, you may use this calculator below, we are looking for the dry matter carb
Lantus is a 12 hour insulin, it LASTS 12-hours, if you give 3 dose, it is administered by the dose prescribed, not by size scale Charlie will be in a constant hypoglycemic mode, which is very dangerous and it can affect his heart and other organs as well as it can kill him, and the increases should be of 0.25units at a time, especially that you can’t test during the day and the insulin kicks in 2 hours after shot
I'll check out that calculator, thank you so much. I know Lantus is a long acting insulin, and I meant sliding scale, as in adjusting his dosages based on his test results. I can test during the day. Vet told us that the insulin starts working in as little as 40 minutes, that's why he told us to dose 15-20 minutes after he eats to avoid him from dipping into hypo. The insulin is kept in the fridge, not cloudy, nor are there any particulates. Vet also said adjustments of 0.5 units are fine, it's so frustrating that I can't seem to trust this vet's advice AT ALL. Crap.
 
It's a spare I got from my work place, called Nova Express with StatStrips. We got new ones on the ambulance last year that use different strips so I was allowed to take the old monitor and several packs of strips. I'm not sure what size of drop they require but if I had to estimate, I think it's likely 3x the amount of the alpha. I am occasionally able to get a full human strip's worth of blood, and I always use the warm sock method and vaseline so it beads nicely but sometimes those ears just don't like to bleed. I've tried to tell him to work on that, but he told me he thinks I'm a jerk for taking it in the first place. I bought 28g lancets and that helps too. I didn't realize that there were any human ones that only required 0.3ul so I'll look into those after I use up my Alpha strips. I did find some cheap on eBay that are expiring soon for half the usual price, so I've got enough strips for a little while.

I didn't know that even a low carb food can cause spikes! I only have one of the frozen packs left so I'll give that to my mother in law for her kitty. He'll enjoy it.

I'll check out that calculator, thank you so much. I know Lantus is a long acting insulin, and I meant sliding scale, as in adjusting his dosages based on his test results. I can test during the day. Vet told us that the insulin starts working in as little as 40 minutes, that's why he told us to dose 15-20 minutes after he eats to avoid him from dipping into hypo. The insulin is kept in the fridge, not cloudy, nor are there any particulates. Vet also said adjustments of 0.5 units are fine, it's so frustrating that I can't seem to trust this vet's advice AT ALL. Crap.
The ReliOn Premier human meter and strips, most members use it, use very little blood ( Walmart) the meter is $9.00 the strips $9.00 for 50 $17.88 for 100 good to have extra strips handy
 
The carb %, I got from the nutrients on the label from the picture, you may use this calculator below, we are looking for the dry matter carb
Lantus is a 12 hour insulin, it LASTS 12-hours, if you give 3 dose, it is administered by the dose prescribed, not by size scale Charlie will be in a constant hypoglycemic mode, which is very dangerous and it can affect his heart and other organs as well as it can kill him, and the increases should be of 0.25units at a time, especially that you can’t test during the day and the insulin kicks in 2 hours after shot
I'm having a hard time understanding the as-fed vs dry matter thing. I understand that if the water were removed, you'd get the dry matter nutrient level but if I'm feeding it moist, like this raw food (technically with even more moisture than the package states because I always add a bit of warm water to his meals to warm it up), why isn't the as-fed more accurate than the dry matter? The article for this topic that's linked on the carb calculation discussion page is no longer on that website and despite reading a few other articles on other sites, I'm still just as puzzled. He isn't eating it dry, so why are we taking that as the more accurate number?
 
I'm having a hard time understanding the as-fed vs dry matter thing. I understand that if the water were removed, you'd get the dry matter nutrient level but if I'm feeding it moist, like this raw food (technically with even more moisture than the package states because I always add a bit of warm water to his meals to warm it up), why isn't the as-fed more accurate than the dry matter? The article for this topic that's linked on the carb calculation discussion page is no longer on that website and despite reading a few other articles on other sites, I'm still just as puzzled. He isn't eating it dry, so why are we taking that as the more accurate number?
I have taught in this forum that we should take as value is the dry matter carbs, for instance Fancy Feast pates hace between 80-88 % moisture, I too add 1 tsp of water to each meal as well, so far I see the results in Corky’s SS , I make it “simple stupid” I personally have never bothered with anything but 0-10% dry matter carbs and Fancy Feast Pates, including fish & shrimp flake 0% , Chunky Chicken 4% , medleys chicken fare 4.5 % trout 4% these are chunkier for crunch cat addicts, it’s what makes it simpler for you or mathematically, correct, I have for 4 years followed everything that was taught to me blindly, again, every cat and owner are different, I was so overwhelmed and Alone for 3 months when Corky was diagnosed, That I took in everything taught here to the letter, and no regrets, and being”old school” simple, makes more sense to me if is not broken, why fix it😉
 
Hello and welcome from the west coast.
We haven't been testing Charlie much throughout the day just because he's still pretty stressed when we do it and we haven't wanted to push it too much too soon.
Looking at your spreadsheet, I can see some possibilities as to why you are seeing numbers all over the place. But that can only be confirmed by getting some tests in the middle of the day, or doing the odd curve. We determine how to change the Lantus dose based on how low the dose takes him, which as previously has been stated, is somewhere in the middle of the 12 hour cycle. One of the possibilities I've been wondering is if he's overdosed. Those lime numbers tell you that he's going too low. On April 5th PM shot time was one clue. That may not have been the lowest number he was during the day. The begging for food may be because he is going lower. Food is the tool that cats use to raise their blood sugars. I wouldn't give 3 units again. And I definitely wouldn't go to 3 times a day dosing. That requires a ton more testing. It's very hard on the caregivers, I've only see a couple people try it.

If you look at the dosing methods described in the Lantus Sticky Notes, you'll see that we don't give insulin based on what the preshot number is, but rather how low the dose is taking the cat. Lantus is a depot style insulin, and we find it's best to stick with the same dose, until tests tell you the dose is too high, or he needs an increase.

You mid cycle test for 3/26 also seems to indicate that even 2.0 units might be too much insulin. I suspect the variability in numbers is partly due to bouncing. Here is the description:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Regarding the raw food taking him low, one other possibility is that it with less carbs to keep his numbers up, he's going even lower then bouncing to the high numbers you see a preshot time.
 
My thoughts were pretty much the same as Wendy's. The only thing I want to underscore is that it's important to get a minimum of one test during both the AM and PM cycles in addition to your pre-shot tests. Given that you've already seen some low numbers, getting a test before you go to sleep, is crucial. Otherwise, you have no idea if your cat's numbers are dropping overnight.

Just an FYI, there is no way to convert numbers between an Alpha Track vs a human meter. They are calibrated differently. You can note which meter you're using. The point at which you reduce the dose differs on these meters.

Most diabetic cats are ravenous. Insulin is what helps to transport the end product of food metabolism (i.e., glucose) into the cells. If a cat is diabetic, their pancreas isn't producing enough insulin to move the glucose into the cells and as a result, it's floating around in the blood. Since the glucose is in the blood stream, it's not "feeding" your cat and your cat is literally starving. So, feed your cat! We've also found that several meals a day helps to keep the blood glucose levels more stable. Feeding a cat twice a day is a bit of an old school approach to diabetes management and is especially tiresome if your cat was used to grazing before the diabetes diagnosis.

As an FYI - "as fed" and dry matter should not be compared. They are apples and oranges. The comparison to "as fed" is the guaranteed analysis.
 
Back
Top