Alfie

Status
Not open for further replies.
fingers crossed.png
and paws crossed here too! I'm sure your visit did Alfie a world of good too! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So glad you got to see him! I'm sure you'll sleep better tonight (and goodness knows you can probably use some sleep with all that's been happening!).
 
Bless him! I bet that helps seeing you! :)
It could be that the dried food is holding his bg high, even the vet diets for diabetes are still high carb, so his own food should help I think as it's lower.
Still sending prayers and hope he's home with you really soon. :bighug:
 
All good news this morning! He's no longer acidotic, his pH and all his electrolytes are back to normal. He had two clear urine tests. They switched him back to Prozinc early this morning and he's had another ketone free urine test since. Sugar is still around 20 but it's pretty early in his cycle. Vet is much happier with him. :cat: Finally starting to believe we might get him home.

He'll be sedated today for his ultrasound and other tests which we've been warned might make him go backwards. Fingers crossed they get to the bottom of why he's been such a bouncy bear!
 
All good news this morning! He's no longer acidotic, his pH and all his electrolytes are back to normal. He had two clear urine tests. They switched him back to Prozinc early this morning and he's had another ketone free urine test since. Sugar is still around 20 but it's pretty early in his cycle. Vet is much happier with him. :cat: Finally starting to believe we might get him home.

He'll be sedated today for his ultrasound and other tests which we've been warned might make him go backwards. Fingers crossed they get to the bottom of why he's been such a bouncy bear!

Fab news. Hope all goes well with the ultrasound. Keep us posted. :)
Now Alfie! You keep getting better for your Mummy! :cat:
 
Ultrasound went fine and he's doing ok. Suspected chronic pancreatitis as his pancreas 'looked irregular' but we need the blood test results to confirm which could take ten days. No other abnormalities, tumors etc. which is obviosuly good news! They got a sterile urine sample to send to check for UTI's, also due back next week. He's going to be kept on fluids overnight but can hopefully come home tomorrow! :cat: :cat: :cat:

Not sure what pancreatitis will mean for us and him in the long term if it's confirmed but just happy there's nothing else too sinister going on and he's feeling better! Another condition to start reading up on :bookworm: Also pretty nervous about the chances of another DKA in the near future, especially as we work full time so aren't there to monitor, but very excited at the thought of having him back with us!! :D
 
Last edited:
We visited last night and he was really bright and wanted lots of fuss! He had a super high preshot last night (38!) but that was after a day of sedation, poking and testing. He'd had several ketone free urine tests yesterday.

This morning, his preshot was 21 (not bad for him on prozinc (1.5u), especially when in hospital and stressed) but he had traces of ketones again. The vet is doing a mini curve today but is still hopeful we can take him home tonight. I'm so nervous about having him home with no clear idea or treatment for whatever caused this in the first place and still with traces of ketones.

The vet is insisting we feed Hill's or Royal Canin diabetic wet food which at around 16% carbs on a dry matter basis is making me twitchy. She insists she's had a large number of cats go into remission while eating them and they're fine. They've been feeding him Royal Canin yesterday and today and his preshot wasn't too bad.

We may get urine test results back today and if that shows an infection at least we'd have a place to start. What a week, I'm exhausted! :blackeye:
 
I'm glad he is feeling much better. I know how you feel when a vet tells you one thing and swears by it and yet you know better :confused:
If you don't already have one, it may be a good time to invest in a blood ketone meter to have for just in case.
 
I'm glad he is feeling much better. I know how you feel when a vet tells you one thing and swears by it and yet you know better :confused:
If you don't already have one, it may be a good time to invest in a blood ketone meter to have for just in case.
I've got keto-diastix for urine testing. Is a blood ketone meter better?
 
I've got keto-diastix for urine testing. Is a blood ketone meter better?
The urine test strips tell you what the ketones were many hours ago and the blood ketone meter (like a glucometer) tells you what the ketones are now.
I had one for when my cat acted off suddenly and I didn't want to (because of needing to go to sleep at night) or have the time to wait around (because of having to leave for work) for him to go pee and hoping I could catch a sample. I found it gave peace of mind. Mostly, I used the urine strips, but when I needed an instant answer that blood ketone meter came in real handy.
 
The blood ketone meter is one we suggest getting for cats that have been DKA before. As Dyana says, peace of mind...priceless!

It'll come in handy for those times that you feel he's off (like right before this episode) but hasn't peed for you to grab a test yet...then you can just get a blood test and know for sure. :bighug:
 
I think a blood ketone meter is a good investment after all you've been through. Re higher carb food: some people on FDMB have mentioned using higher carb food in a post-DKA kitty to allow larger insulin doses to be given to keep ketones at bay.
 
Coming home while still showing traces of ketones in his urine is my main concern at the minute, that seems like asking for trouble! :nailbiting:

I will look into blood ketone meters. Presumably any human one will do that needs a small blood sample?
 
Coming home while still showing traces of ketones in his urine is my main concern at the minute, that seems like asking for trouble! :nailbiting:

I will look into blood ketone meters. Presumably any human one will do that needs a small blood sample?
Yes, they're human meters and the strips are very pricey but it would give you peace of mind right now. Will your vet be giving you a clear treatment plan for Alfie at home? Was there any discussion of trying him on Lantus or Levemir to help him level out?

When Teasel came home after his episode he'd just been started on ProZinc, I wasn't told to do urine ketone testing and I wasn't tracking BG the FDMB way either. It scares me when I think back to that! :eek: I was clueless, actually, but he weathered it all.

Teasel's bouncing has calmed significantly since he's been on Lantus.
 
Yes, they're human meters and the strips are very pricey but it would give you peace of mind right now. Will your vet be giving you a clear treatment plan for Alfie at home? Was there any discussion of trying him on Lantus or Levemir to help him level out?

When Teasel came home after his episode he'd just been started on ProZinc, I wasn't told to do urine ketone testing and I wasn't tracking BG the FDMB way either. It scares me when I think back to that! :eek: I was clueless, actually, but he weathered it all.

Teasel's bouncing has calmed significantly since he's been on Lantus.
We did talk about it when he had his first visit to this vet last week, before all of this happened! She thought he could be regulated on a lower dose of Prozinc than he was on, but was happy to try Lantus if not. And before this, his numbers were doing interesting things on 1u, he was less bouncy. I don't know if the missed shot by the cat sitter tipped him over the edge or it's something underlying or just a combination of reduced dose, missed shot and something else.

I'll know more what the plan is when I get an update later once he's had a curve done today. I'm sure she won't let him come home if she's not happy with his progress. I already know she's pro home testing and I'm sure she'll want us urine testing at least.
 
Hi Jen!
I only had experience with a mild flare of pancreatitis but it did linger for almost a month with conservative treatment. Teresa & Buddy was a big help to me :). Fluids could help Alfie with the pancreatitis and help keeping those ketones flushing out as long as he doesn't have any heart issues. I don't think you've mentioned any with him. Big things with pancreatitis (and post DKA from my understandings :bookworm:) is to 1) Make sure he eats, so don't stress too much about the medium carb food, you'll be able to dose around it ;), 2) Pain management, the popular one is Buprenorphine (buprenex liquid form), 3) Anti nausea meds, Cerenia seems to be a popular one, 4) Acid management, Famotadine (pepcid) if needed and 5) Appetite stimulant, if needed.

So the food is important for both, not necessarily the other 4 things I mentioned :smuggrin:. As always, you can ask us anything with Alfie's recovery :bighug:. Apologies from me if I don't reply as fast as I used to. Adjusting to new schedule with working :D. Planning on checking in at least once a day though :cat:
 
He can't come home today :(

He's got more than a trace of ketones again so understandably the vet wants to keep him in. She says he can come home over the weekend if he has 24ht without ketones.

She's determined DKA doesn't happen without some underlying cause, it just sometimes takes a while to find it. His urine tests will be back Monday so we'll know more then.

He's bright in himself, settled, eating fine and enjoying fuss. I'd rather have him stay an extra day or two for them to find out what's going on than bring him home too soon and have him go through the huge stress of being hospitalised again.

We're in our way to visit. Will give him extra chin scratches from you all! :bighug:
 
Please do! Chin scritches and healing vines from his FDMB family!

I wonder what is causing him to throw ketones and then get rid of them repeatedly. I don't think I've seen that before (but I'm no DKA expert). @Bobbie And Bubba I know you've been through this and from what I recall Bubba threw ketones at home too...any ideas/advice?
I think Bobbie was on Lantus by then and used R insulin very carefully when Bubba threw ketones. @Bobbie And Bubba ?
 
Hi everyone

Not much to update you with today. He's still bright and enjoying lots of fuss from everyone, the vet staff think someone must have switched him from the wild cat they were treating a week ago! :cat:

He's still got ketones but only + so better than yesterday. I dropped some Hill's m/d wet food to the hospital for him earlier, warned everyone who'd listen that it might spike his BG a bit, then tonight he's produced a 5.6! Hope that helps get rid of these ketones that are hanging about!
 
They never could find a reason for my kitty's ketones either. But, he never got them again, so that was a good thing. I checked him often.
Come on Alfie, flush out those ketones, and no more ketones for you too.
 
Hey there! I just signed in and saw I was tagged . To be honest, I did not read the whole thread as I need to get to bed because I am up early tomorrow morning to travel for my mom's 90 th BD hosted 2 hours from us.

Bubba threw ketones in the 200-250 level. He had 2 bad teeth extracted and then 6 weeks later he had his right eye removed due to cancer. Surgery can throw them into ketones. I made the mistake of letting him sit in the 200's too long while he was convalescing . Big mistakes.

Did you kitty recently have surgery? Any other systemic stress like pancreatitis or infection? How is his mouth?

Again, I am sorry I am weighting in without reading the whole post but wanted to acknowledge the tag. Keeping good thoughts for you and Alfie.
 
PS. If you are not giving Sub Q fluids, please add as much water to each of his meals that you can ( it will look soupy) the extra water is so important to help to diminish the ketones.
 
PS. If you are not giving Sub Q fluids, please add as much water to each of his meals that you can ( it will look soupy) the extra water is so important to help to diminish the ketones.
Thank you Bobbie. He's still at the hospital at the minute. He's not had any surgery and his teeth are ok. We're waiting for urine and pancreatitis tests which will be back next week but pancreatitis is suspected after an ultra sound last week.
 
Really hoping he feels better soon, and can go home! I'm sure you are missing him :bighug::bighug:
 
Really hoping he feels better soon, and can go home! I'm sure you are missing him :bighug::bighug:
We are missing his so much. We're visiting every day. He's turned into a little superstar at the hospital, everyone loves him.

Really hoping his tests come back today and give us some answers. He was down to just a trace of ketones again yesterday so he's going the right way.
 
WE CAN TAKE HIM HOME TODAY!!! :cat: :cat: :cat: :cat:

He showed no ketones overnight and the vet is happy enough for now with his glucose readings. He's curving between 20 and 12 but she suspects this will improve once he's less stressed at home. His pancreatic enzyme levels are normal which is good so we're just waiting on his urine culture to come back at some point today. Vet wants us to do a curve in a few days and will look at moving him on to Lantus if he's not responding as well as she'd like. She wants him curving between 5 and 8, can't even imagine numbers that good!

I'm obvious anxious about taking him home without any underlying cause for this round of DKA being diagnosed, but at this point I'm just desperate to have him back with us where he can recover! I'll be testing for ketones like a mad woman and will be getting a blood ketone meter to be on the safe side (any recommendations for a good one to get in the UK would be welcome!).

Thank you for all of your support and healing vines. It's been a crazy and extremely stressful 7 days, I don't know how I'd have coped without you all! :bighug:
 
I'm very happy for you and Alfie! :bighug::) When I was using the AT meter at the beginning, my vet told me the good range was 5 to 9 so your vet's is similar. As for cause of a DKA bout, there was nothing to be found when Teasel had his. It was likely just too much time in high BGs and then removing insulin for 24 hours tipped him into DKA. You might never know if there was anything other than maybe a pancreatitis flare.
 
Ok, I am getting really, really tired of this game now. Just had a call from the hospital, he's back at ++ ketones so won't be coming home today :( :banghead: :blackeye:

The vet will call me later. I've got no idea what is going on with him. I just want to curl up in a ball and cry at this point! :arghh:
 
Aw man I got so excited for you Jen when I read he was coming home, then saw latest update :(. Have they figured out what's causing it? Maybe he's enjoying his new fame :rolleyes: but come on, Alfie! You'll be happier at home! For Jen :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I sure hope he can come home soon :( this is literally my worst fear with angel. I don't know how I'd keep her at the vet for 7 days and pay for it. :( so many good thoughts coming your way!!!
 
Ok, I am getting really, really tired of this game now. Just had a call from the hospital, he's back at ++ ketones so won't be coming home today :( :banghead: :blackeye:

The vet will call me later. I've got no idea what is going on with him. I just want to curl up in a ball and cry at this point! :arghh:
Maybe he needs a higher carb diet for now to allow bigger insulin doses to be given. Is he getting R insulin along with ProZinc?
 
Maybe he needs a higher carb diet for now to allow bigger insulin doses to be given. Is he getting R insulin along with ProZinc?
Just the Prozinc as far as I know. He doesn't want to eat the higher carb prescription diet. The vet is going to run more tests. She's determined there's more we can do to get him right and that we're a long way from giving up hope.

We're just exhausted, this is such a rollercoaster.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top